We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Snowplanet

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 91 Small Road, Silverdale 0992, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 9-427 0044
Website
Today
10:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 22:00
Mon - Thu 10:00 - 22:00
Fri 10:00 - 00:00
Sat 09:00 - 00:00
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

Real Snow, Real Fun! Snowplanet is Auckland's ultimate leisure attraction,...

Real Snow, Real Fun! Snowplanet is Auckland's ultimate leisure attraction, located only thirty minutes north of Auckland and open 365 days of the year. Enjoy a full day experience at Snowplanet with the entire family and have a go at skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing, tobogganing or even just have a play in the snow with the kids. You haven't even touched snow before? Book a lesson with one of our qualified 'Ski & Board School' instructors who will get you up and going in no time! Complement your on-snow activities with a delicious meal in our '7 Summits Restaurant' followed by a couple of drinks at 'Bar 7' while enjoying panoramic views of the action on the slope.Life's more fun on Snowplanet!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 169 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 60
    Excellent
  • 69
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Guarantee some skiing!

I've driven past snowplanet for years, Not really paying it too much attention. I now think it is a great asset to Auckland. Absolutely great for kids (and adults quite... read more

Reviewed 17 October 2016
NZ4ofus
,
Auckland Region, New Zealand
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 158: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We went for a Santa trip yesterday, the photographer took a few photos with Santa and as part of our entry ticket we supposed to get a family photo. During checkout the girl only gave us the worst photo and when I asked about the other photos, she asked for $15 additional to get the other photos. I think if... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Justintanks
Snowplanet N, Sales and Marketing Executive at Snowplanet, responded to this review

Hi Justintanks, Thanks for your feedback. This is definitely not the experience we wanted you to have for your first trip to Snowplanet. In previous years we had allowed customers to choose their photo, however this caused very long wait times for photo collection due to the amount of time it would take for a family to choose a photo... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2016

I took my Gregarious Grannies to the Restaurant at Snow-planet yesterday for our Christmas lunch. We had a Buffet with all the Christmas fare . The roast lamb was so tender and the ham was Delicious . The presentation , food , service was excellent . So good in fact that I will book a midwinter Christmas there . and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ggsboss
Snowplanet N, Sales and Marketing Executive at Snowplanet, responded to this review

Hi ggsboss, Thanks for the great feedback. I will pass this onto the team to show them your appreciation. See you next year! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2016

I'm very sorry to say that when I took my kids to night-rider last night, the girl operating the lift was so rude to my daughter that my daughter was crying when we left! I couldn't understand after being ecstatic all evening, why my 13 year old girl came back in to the changing room at the end of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Frances O
Snowplanet N, Sales and marketing Executive at Snowplanet, responded to this review

Hi Frances O, Thanks for your review and feedback. Firstly I do apologise for the experience your daughter had with one of our staff members. This is not how we wish for our staff to interact with customers and hope it was a one off occasion. I will pass your feedback onto the duty manager so they can investigate and... More 

Gold Coast; Queensland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We are frequent snowboarders, our visit to Auckland was going to be the first trip we haven't snowboarded since 2012. I saw Snow Planet as a Facebook ad as we were preparing to leave and decided we were going. I didn't really know what to expect... indoor snowboarding? First off, it was cold - they said it was -5 but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
Snowplanet N, Sales and Marketing Executive at Snowplanet, responded to this review

Hi Amanda W, Thanks for your review. We are very pleased to hear it went well and you had an enjoyable day with much of the slope to yourselves. Look forward to seeing you again. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Not too impressed really, it was my first time going (20/11/16). Got to the counter and the girl was really nice. Walked over to get my equipment and as this was my first time, I asked the gentlemen "what's easier? skiiing or snowboarding?" he replies "they're both hard". Not too happy about this, as it didn't make me feel comfortable,... More 

Helpful?
Thank mnishi96
Snowplanet N, Sales and Marketing Executive at Snowplanet, responded to this review

Hi mnishi96, Thanks for visiting us at Snowplanet on 20/11/16. I do apologise for the customer service you received from some of our staff. I will follow this up with the Duty Manager to ensure adequate training is provided for great customer service. Hopefully the challenge of skiing wasn't to bad and you become a life long fan of winter... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

I've driven past snowplanet for years, Not really paying it too much attention. I now think it is a great asset to Auckland. Absolutely great for kids (and adults quite frankly) to learn to ski: it's a short 30 min drive from downtown and very importantly, you can guarantee that you will get to ski. The same can't be said... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NZ4ofus
Snowplanet N, Sales and Marketing Executive at Snowplanet, responded to this review

Hi NZ4ofus, Thanks for the great review! Glad you enjoyed your time here. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Bought an annual pass only because the instructor told me the snowboard course is going ahead but they cancelled it only couple of hours before it was due to start. Unreliable. Also the staff manning the platter when I visit was inattentive and busy chatting, because of that quite a few kids fell and the lift had to be stopped.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank divermel
Snowplanet N, Sales and Marketing Executive at Snowplanet, responded to this review

Hi divermel, Thanks for your feedback regarding your experience at Snowplanet. The snowboard course you are referring to must have been your private lesson as we currently do not have any courses scheduled. If your lesson was cancelled due to unforeseen circumstances I do apologise this is not normal protocol and will endeavour to ensure it does not happen again.... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We spent 6 hrs here today and enjoyed every minute.. Between the fantastic customer service, to the great food and atmosphere in the restaurant to having an absolute ball on the tubes and taboggans..!! You have full view of the field from restaurant... so its great if you need a break but the rest of your group wants to keep... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shendelle
Snowplanet N, Sales and Marketing Executive at Snowplanet, responded to this review

Hi Shendelle, Wow what a great review. We are so glad your whole family had a fabulous time during your visit to Snowplanet. Cherish your memories and hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to NZ to make some more. Thanks Snowplanet More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

this place is very cool, so much fun here , the prices are reasonable but the fun pays off, enjoy the days of promotion and fall in the snow

Helpful?
Thank Nuno M
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We took 3 of our Grandkids on Sunday , they had such a good time on the tubing. I was a bit disappointed when first viewing the area they were in as on the promotional material it looked bigger and more fun etc, but they really enjoyed it. I also felt sorry for the staff as it was so busy... More 

Helpful?
Thank June L

Travellers who viewed Snowplanet also viewed

Orewa, Auckland Region
Silverdale, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Whangaparaoa, Auckland Region
 

Been to Snowplanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Snowplanet and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Snowplanet staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?