We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Powell River Sea Kayak

Features Animals
106767 Crowther Road, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 0G4, Canada
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Powell River Kayaking 4 day trip

What a fabulous trip. Our guides Kyle and Arron were so knowledgeable of the area, sea life and... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
PeteJanG
,
Cobble Hill, Canada
via mobile
Spectacular 4 Day Desolation Sound Expedition

From the booking, check-in, out-fitting,and camp set-up, through the daily trips to the final... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Alex E
,
Mill Bay, Canada
Read all 56 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Specializing in Desolation Sound, British Columbia, where warm pacific waters teem with marine wildlife and the majestic coast mountains tower over idyllic islands. Join us at our uniquely wonderful eco-resort on an uninhabited island in the heart of Desolation and enjoy locally sourced foods, cozy comforts and a perfectly idyllic setting. Guided and non-guided packages available. Multi-day camping tours are another option for experiencing Desolation Sound or join one of our daily guided tours and whet your appetite for longer adventures. Kayak rentals are available for those seeking self-guided exploration. Snorkel with the STARS! in the unusually warm waters and experience colourful sea stars, sea cucumbers, spiny urchins and much more. Experience the adventure in Desolation!
  • Excellent89%
  • Very good10%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“day trip” (12 reviews)
“double kayak” (3 reviews)
LOCATION
106767 Crowther Road, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 0G4, Canada
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"day trip"
in 12 reviews
"desolation sound"
in 32 reviews
"double kayak"
in 3 reviews
"perfect weather"
in 3 reviews
"boat traffic"
in 3 reviews
"high quality"
in 3 reviews
"late august"
in 3 reviews
"home made"
in 2 reviews
"wilderness experience"
in 2 reviews
"flush toilets"
in 2 reviews
"base camp"
in 2 reviews
"wildlife sightings"
in 2 reviews
"awesome trip"
in 2 reviews
"calm waters"
in 2 reviews
"hour tour"
in 2 reviews
"sunshine coast"
in 4 reviews
"adam"
in 11 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

What a fabulous trip. Our guides Kyle and Arron were so knowledgeable of the area, sea life and environment. They were thoughtful, funny and worked efficiently at making us all comfortable. Great food and no dish washing! From booking to completion the trip worked seamlessly....More

Thank PeteJanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

From the booking, check-in, out-fitting,and camp set-up, through the daily trips to the final return on day 4, the experience, humour and knowledge of the staff and guides, as well as their care for the environment shone bright. It helped that we had great weather...More

1  Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We rented 2 single boats and were very impressed with the quality of the boats, the facilities, ease of getting on to the water quickly and efficiently and most of all the friendly and helpful staff. (Aaron and Josh on the way out, Katelyn and...More

Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I had an excellent 3 hour tour this morning. Even though we only called the afternoon before, Josh and Aaron were able to make our tour happen even though we were the only guests. Aaron was our guide for the day and...More

Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the Oakover location a little after one o'clock to day where we were treated like intruders having accidentally woken up the attendant we asked if we could rent some kayaks for a couple hours, nope your to late and you have to book...More

Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam V, Owner at Powell River Sea Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ken R It was saddening to receive such a poor review. However, upon further investigation into this, your disappointment and frustration are justified. I am baffled why my employee turned you away at 1pm. We rent kayaks and you arrived at a reasonable time...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2017

We did the 5 day, 4 night camping trip in Desolation Sound. We had no sea kayaking experience but our guides made us feel at ease and ensured that the group stayed together and didn't leave anyone behind. We had read how good the food...More

Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017

I did their 5 day, 4 night camping trip in Desolation Sound in late August. The guides were professional, great at keeping us safe and together as well as adjusting activities to the wants and abilities of the group. Food was delicious and nutritious. Equipment...More

Thank KateH1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2017

We did the 5 day, 4 night camping trip. The kayaks, tents and Thermarest mattresses were all good quality. The food was excellent and the guides went out of their way to make sure we had an enjoyable experience. The guides were very good at...More

Thank SueGregC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2017

We did a full day tour of Desolation Sound and it was a perfect way to spend the day. Our guide Kyle went above and beyond to provide us a great experience. The area is of course beautiful and we were lucky to have a...More

Thank shannon7747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017

We chose to stay at the cabana resort on Kinghorn Island. The island is situated strategically in the middle of Desolation sound and provides easy access to great paddling. The resort features rustic but clean cabins with a chef and kayak guide who were both...More

Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Powell River
Historic Lund Hotel
163 reviews
3.97 km away
The Old Courthouse Inn
398 reviews
19.84 km away
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
57 reviews
19.97 km away
Westview Centre Motel
71 reviews
24.07 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Nancy's Bakery | Lund BC
293 reviews
4.00 km away
Laughing Oyster Restaurant
519 reviews
2.64 km away
The Boardwalk Restaurant
217 reviews
4.08 km away
SassyMack's Ice Cream
15 reviews
3.99 km away
Nearby Attractions
Beyond The Road Adventures
125 reviews
4.00 km away
Terracentric Coastal Adventures - Day Tours
81 reviews
4.00 km away
Lund Water Taxi
17 reviews
4.01 km away
Okeover Arm Provincial Park
20 reviews
4.39 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Powell River Sea Kayak staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;