We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Down Country Park

Features Animals
Old Down House Foxholes Lane | Old Down Estate, Tockington, Bristol BS32 4PG, England
+44 1454 414081
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Mr Bateman

We brought our 16 month granddaughter and she loved it. We did think that some of the directions... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
David B
via mobile
£8.50 is just too steep

First time here and I wasn't impressed. The farm shop, well, that's just the cafe. There's no farm... read more

Reviewed 8 April 2018
James W
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 147 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good30%
  • Average14%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pets corner”(14 reviews)
About
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
13°
May
16°
Jun
17°
11°
Jul
Contact
Old Down House Foxholes Lane | Old Down Estate, Tockington, Bristol BS32 4PG, England
Website
+44 1454 414081
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Bristol
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pets corner"
in 14 reviews
"bouncy pillow"
in 7 reviews
"walled garden"
in 6 reviews
"farm animals"
in 7 reviews
"animal park"
in 4 reviews
"play bus"
in 3 reviews
"play space"
in 3 reviews
"main park"
in 2 reviews
"zip wire"
in 5 reviews
"wedding venue"
in 5 reviews
"obstacle course"
in 2 reviews
"excellent play"
in 2 reviews
"various animals"
in 2 reviews
"older kids"
in 4 reviews
"father christmas"
in 2 reviews
"big kids"
in 3 reviews
"double decker bus"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We brought our 16 month granddaughter and she loved it. We did think that some of the directions were a bit unclear, but can understand that you were working on areas. She loved the animals and driving the bus. Will definitely be back. Keep up...More

Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Public Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Morning Mr. Bateman, Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you all had a good time. You are right we are working on areas to improve the park and we thank you for your patience. Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

First time here and I wasn't impressed. The farm shop, well, that's just the cafe. There's no farm shop. And the cafe, it's very small and they've decided it would be a good idea to squeeze a load (5?) big leather sofa in there along...More

2  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Public Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Hi James, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit, we are are currently making improvements to the barn and the park on a whole. We have recently got rid of the farm shop to provide more room for the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2018 via mobile

As members it’s disappointing to post a poor review related to the recent changes with the restaurant and cafe/shop. We have been coming to the cafe/restaurant for the last few years and would generally report good times and decent food, whether you want a quick...More

2  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Public Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Hi Rob, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent visit, we are are currently making improvements to the barn and the park on a whole. We believe removing the farm shop to provide more room for the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2018 via mobile

Visited on a cold quiet day during the week. There were only a handful of people around and so we managed to get a table easily in the cafe & the children could play on all equipment without waiting for turns. Having never been before...More

Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Public Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Hi Laura, Thank you so much for your review. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. We are always trying to improve the Park and it is nice to hear which parts are popular. I'll pass your feedback on to the team....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

We went here today with my grand children. It was bitterly cold but the children enjoyed running around. It was quiet. There was also a wedding there later. There was a lot for children to do and a cafe with a log fire. Really welcoming....More

Thank sarn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Public Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Hello, Thank you for your review. I'm glad that the children had fun around the park and that you enjoyed the Cafe. I'm sorry to hear that you weren't encouraged to get involved in the Yurt activities, I will feed this back to the team....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2018

Visited Old Down Country Park on a very cold sunny day and thought it would be a quick trip out then home again. Started off with coffee and delicious brownie in the cafe whilst meeting Fred the resident Macaw. Then went for a stroll around...More

2  Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Guest Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Hi Marilyn, Thank you so much for your 5* review and gorgeously described day out! The staff take great pride in looking after the grounds and the chefs put a lot of effort in to the food so I'm sure that they'll really appreciate your...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2017

I came to Old Downs 'silent' firework night as both myself and my daughter, who has learning difficulties, do not like loud bangs. The fireworks were by no means 'silent' and it was obvious that other parents were having difficulties with their children who were...More

2  Thank dbleaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Public Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Hi, Thank you for leaving us a review. We are saddened to hear that you didn't have a good time at our Quiet Firework night. It's great to get feedback on this event as it was the first time we had run an event as...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

Fireworks were not silent, Could not all fit in the field, no staff to guide their customers to another part of the manor, so had to stop a random guy who was working there to allow us into a different part, rubbish view and quality...More

Thank gemmapalmer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Public Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Hi, Thank you for leaving us a review. We are saddened to hear that you didn't have a good time at our Quiet Firework night. It's great to get feedback on this event as it was the first time we had run an event as...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2017 via mobile

Old country down have the worst so called customer service I have ever experienced. We attended their fireworks night on Sunday and experienced the following 1- Their night was specifically advertised as silent fireworks (I assume to appeal to those with young children/autistic children who...More

1  Thank Hayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Public Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Hi, Thank you for leaving us a review. We are saddened to hear that you didn't have a good time at our Quiet Firework night. It's great to get feedback on this event as it was the first time we had run an event as...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017

I visited with my toddler on a weekday morning and it cost £2.99 for us to enter. There is a pets corner with some pens with goats, pony, pigs and chickens. The chickens are wandering about and we were pecked at and chased by a...More

Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Public Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Hi, Thank you for leaving us a review. It's great to hear that your little one enjoyed the park area and the bus! Your comments about the park and lack of animals have been noted and we are always on the looking to improve our...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 38 hotels in Bristol
Alveston House Hotel
405 reviews
2.29 km away
Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel
750 reviews
2.35 km away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
1,420 reviews
3.60 km away
Swan Hotel
290 reviews
4.09 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Fox Inn
140 reviews
.67 km away
White Hart
26 reviews
1.27 km away
Swan Inn
259 reviews
1.28 km away
Mason's Arms Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery
221 reviews
1.83 km away
Nearby Attractions
West Country Water Park
5 reviews
5.29 km away
Wild Place Project
520 reviews
6.70 km away
Little Stoke Park
5 reviews
6.73 km away
Delta Force Paintball North Bristol
112 reviews
7.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Danielle C
October 1, 2017|
Answer
Response from Steve from Bristol | Reviewed this property |
It's fairly rustic so you may teeter a bit. Still Mum's worth it!! What do i know, I'm a bloke!
1
Vote
SuziQ1057
July 28, 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Jason D | Reviewed this property |
Yes! It is very dog friendly, the waitresses offer water to dogs in the cafe. They just need to be kept on a lead.
0
Votes
;