We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Down Country Park

Features Animals
Old Down House Foxholes Lane | Old Down Estate, Tockington, Bristol BS32 4PG, England
+44 1454 414081
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Walking

We went here today with my grand children. It was bitterly cold but the children enjoyed running... read more

Reviewed 17 March 2018
sarn1
via mobile
Great Day Out

Visited Old Down Country Park on a very cold sunny day and thought it would be a quick trip out... read more

Reviewed 27 February 2018
Marilyn S
Read all 153 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good30%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“pets corner” (14 reviews)
“bouncy pillow” (7 reviews)
“walled garden” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
LOCATION
Old Down House Foxholes Lane | Old Down Estate, Tockington, Bristol BS32 4PG, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1454 414081
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Bristol
from US$175.30
More Info
from US$134.80
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pets corner"
in 14 reviews
"bouncy pillow"
in 7 reviews
"walled garden"
in 6 reviews
"farm animals"
in 7 reviews
"animal park"
in 4 reviews
"play bus"
in 3 reviews
"play space"
in 3 reviews
"main park"
in 2 reviews
"zip wire"
in 5 reviews
"wedding venue"
in 5 reviews
"obstacle course"
in 2 reviews
"excellent play"
in 2 reviews
"various animals"
in 2 reviews
"older kids"
in 4 reviews
"loved the animals"
in 2 reviews
"father christmas"
in 2 reviews
"big kids"
in 3 reviews
Filter

11 - 20 of 153 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

We went here today with my grand children. It was bitterly cold but the children enjoyed running around. It was quiet. There was also a wedding there later. There was a lot for children to do and a cafe with a log fire. Really welcoming....More

Thank sarn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Public Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Hello, Thank you for your review. I'm glad that the children had fun around the park and that you enjoyed the Cafe. I'm sorry to hear that you weren't encouraged to get involved in the Yurt activities, I will feed this back to the team....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2018

Visited Old Down Country Park on a very cold sunny day and thought it would be a quick trip out then home again. Started off with coffee and delicious brownie in the cafe whilst meeting Fred the resident Macaw. Then went for a stroll around...More

2  Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Guest Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Hi Marilyn, Thank you so much for your 5* review and gorgeously described day out! The staff take great pride in looking after the grounds and the chefs put a lot of effort in to the food so I'm sure that they'll really appreciate your...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2017

I came to Old Downs 'silent' firework night as both myself and my daughter, who has learning difficulties, do not like loud bangs. The fireworks were by no means 'silent' and it was obvious that other parents were having difficulties with their children who were...More

2  Thank dbleaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Public Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Hi, Thank you for leaving us a review. We are saddened to hear that you didn't have a good time at our Quiet Firework night. It's great to get feedback on this event as it was the first time we had run an event as...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

Fireworks were not silent, Could not all fit in the field, no staff to guide their customers to another part of the manor, so had to stop a random guy who was working there to allow us into a different part, rubbish view and quality...More

Thank gemmapalmer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Public Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Hi, Thank you for leaving us a review. We are saddened to hear that you didn't have a good time at our Quiet Firework night. It's great to get feedback on this event as it was the first time we had run an event as...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2017 via mobile

Old country down have the worst so called customer service I have ever experienced. We attended their fireworks night on Sunday and experienced the following 1- Their night was specifically advertised as silent fireworks (I assume to appeal to those with young children/autistic children who...More

1  Thank Hayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Public Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Hi, Thank you for leaving us a review. We are saddened to hear that you didn't have a good time at our Quiet Firework night. It's great to get feedback on this event as it was the first time we had run an event as...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017

I visited with my toddler on a weekday morning and it cost £2.99 for us to enter. There is a pets corner with some pens with goats, pony, pigs and chickens. The chickens are wandering about and we were pecked at and chased by a...More

Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Public Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Hi, Thank you for leaving us a review. It's great to hear that your little one enjoyed the park area and the bus! Your comments about the park and lack of animals have been noted and we are always on the looking to improve our...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile

Visited with granddaughter who is almost 2 . Warm welcome in the farm shop . Loads to do and stayed all day . Great idea to have the play bus to have a snack . Thought it was all well thought out for all age...More

Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Public Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Hi, Thank you for leaving us a review and for your kind comments about the park and cafe. It's lovely to here that your granddaughter enjoyed herself in the park and we look forwards to welcoming you back into the park! Thanks, Old Down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile

I know all the reviews focus on the country park however that does not do this place justice. I had my daughter's birthday party here, a private Beauty and the Beast themed tea party, we didn't didn't even go to the farm. The facility and...More

Thank MackLStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Public Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Hi, Thank you for leaving a review of your daughters birthday party - it's so rewarding to hear that she had a lovely tea party in the Manor House and thank you for your recommendation. We hope you visit us again soon! Thanks, Old Down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile

Lovely carvery, bit cold but tasty. Had to wait ages for kids sandwich. Basically there was no organisation just kids running the restaurant with no adult who knows what they're doing in charge.

Thank davidY692ATgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Public Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Hi, It's such a shame to hear that you weren't happy with your recent visit to our barn cafe - your comments will be passed onto management. Thanks, Old Down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2017

This is our most local attraction, being 2 miles away. Nice situation, but can be a bit on the expensive side, regarding refeshments. There is a 2 tier annual membership higher rates in school holidays (this I overheard the gate person tellin g the family...More

Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDown E, Public Relations Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Hi, Thank you for leaving us a review - it's great to hear you had a lovely time at the park and I will pass on your comments regarding the shop only having one till and the lack of animals to management. We are always...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 38 hotels in Bristol
Alveston House Hotel
408 reviews
2.29 km away
Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel
758 reviews
2.35 km away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
1,443 reviews
3.60 km away
Swan Hotel
294 reviews
4.09 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Fox Inn
146 reviews
.67 km away
White Hart
27 reviews
1.27 km away
Swan Inn
263 reviews
1.28 km away
Mason's Arms Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery
225 reviews
1.83 km away
Nearby Attractions
West Country Water Park
5 reviews
5.29 km away
Wild Place Project
527 reviews
6.70 km away
Little Stoke Park
5 reviews
6.73 km away
Delta Force Paintball North Bristol
112 reviews
7.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Danielle C
October 1, 2017|
Answer
Response from Steve from Bristol | Reviewed this property |
It's fairly rustic so you may teeter a bit. Still Mum's worth it!! What do i know, I'm a bloke!
1
Vote
SuziQ1057
July 28, 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Jason D | Reviewed this property |
Yes! It is very dog friendly, the waitresses offer water to dogs in the cafe. They just need to be kept on a lead.
0
Votes
;