We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Urban Underground

44 Queen Street, Exeter EX4 3SR, England
+44 1392 422999
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
This place is pathetic.

Crap cocktails Poor service Rubbish music Sticky tables Cheapo vibe Even the students I... read more

Reviewed 15 October 2017
DavidDundonald
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Quality staff, quality drinks, quality venue.

Went in and it was relatively quiet at first, the bar staff were very welcoming and helpful. They... read more

Reviewed 19 July 2017
arath0rniii
,
Exeter, United Kingdom
Read all 9 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
A quirky underground bar in the city offering superb cocktails for superb prices, friendly indie-bar vibe, and great soundtracks. All week drinks deals and staff that'll keep you entertained and merry!
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good0%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible67%
15 Oct 2017
“This place is pathetic.”
19 Jul 2017
“Quality staff, quality drinks, quality venue.”
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 6:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
LOCATION
44 Queen Street, Exeter EX4 3SR, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1392 422999
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Crap cocktails Poor service Rubbish music Sticky tables Cheapo vibe Even the students I was with though this was down market. It's just cheap, gimicky trash masquerading as a bar. Avoid!More

Thank DavidDundonald
JoshPace, Manager at Urban Underground, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi David, Sorry you didn't enjoy your time at Urban Underground. I remember your visit and I recall you ordered a double whiskey. Unfortunately, you weren't poured the house whiskey which you wanted (of course, as it's only £3) so obviously you challenged the price...More

Reviewed 19 July 2017

Went in and it was relatively quiet at first, the bar staff were very welcoming and helpful. They were trying out new drink ideas, clearly showing a love for what they do. They let us try each new concoction and asking our opinions, involved us...More

Thank arath0rniii
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Simply awful venue, terrible sound system with poor lighting. Not only was it understaffed but they were also rude and ruined the atmosphere of the night. Great potential acts playing but ruined by the venue. Wouldn't recommend going here to my worst enemy - many...More

Thank jedyer2
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

The only place to go for cocktails in teapots, always excellent service and drinks. Highly recommend 😀 Ideal for couples, friends and those wanting to celebrate in style.

1  Thank Rachael1971exeter
Reviewed 16 December 2014

I love urban underground, the staff and management are great and always accomadating. They go out of there way to make everyone feel welcome and i have never heard a bad word said about the bar. Even when it's busy they let everyone know the...More

2  Thank Amandajane89
Reviewed 12 December 2014

I recently attended a Christmas meal at urban burger, everything had been organised 2 months in advance as there was a large number (50+) and we had all paid in advance. We had been promised private use of their underground bar and a burger and...More

4  Thank hdp86
Reviewed 12 December 2014

I was part of a large group. They had double booked then room. There were not enough chairs or tables, food arrived 2 hours late, there was no cutlery. I ate mine standing with my fingers. A genuinely very bad experience. My advice is never...More

3  Thank Rowland C
Reviewed 10 December 2014

I came here as part of a group for our BOOKED Christmas party...booked two months in advance may I add, and it was just appalling. We were told, when we booked, that we would have the downstairs bar area exclusively and we didn't - there...More

3  Thank Kate K
Reviewed 8 December 2014

I visited as part of a private Xmas party booking & left disappointed from the start. Kept waiting to order drinks for nearly half an hour, then the food was close to two hours late. One of our party queried when the food was coming...More

10  Thank Sammii13
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 31 hotels in Exeter
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
275 reviews
.09 km away
Queens Court
630 reviews
.15 km away
Silversprings St Davids
260 reviews
.15 km away
The City Gate Hotel
266 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Dinosaur Cafe
309 reviews
.14 km away
Comptoir Libanais
399 reviews
.27 km away
Las Iguanas - Exeter
724 reviews
.25 km away
Zizzi - Exeter
577 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Royal Albert Memorial Museum
1,166 reviews
.23 km away
Exeter Guildhall
165 reviews
.41 km away
Exeter Phoenix
79 reviews
.26 km away
Exeter Riddle Sculpture
13 reviews
.42 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Urban Underground staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit