We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
This place is pathetic.

Crap cocktails Poor service Rubbish music Sticky tables Cheapo vibe Even the students I... read more

Reviewed October 15, 2017
DavidDundonald
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Awful - would rather have a night out on the streets

Simply awful venue, terrible sound system with poor lighting. Not only was it understaffed but they... read more

Reviewed January 21, 2017
jedyer2
,
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 9 reviews
Enhance this page - Upload photos! Add a photo
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good0%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible67%
15 Oct 2017
“This place is pathetic.”
19 Jul 2017
“Quality staff, quality drinks, quality venue.”
About
A quirky underground bar in the city offering superb cocktails for superb prices, friendly indie-bar vibe, and great soundtracks. All week drinks deals and staff that'll keep you entertained and merry!
Closed Now
Hours Today: 6:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
See all hours
Contact
44 Queen Street, Exeter EX4 3SR, England
Website
+44 1392 422999
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
3
0
0
0
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
3
0
0
0
6
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 15, 2017

Crap cocktails Poor service Rubbish music Sticky tables Cheapo vibe Even the students I was with though this was down market. It's just cheap, gimicky trash masquerading as a bar. Avoid!More

Thank DavidDundonald
JoshPace, Manager at Urban Underground, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Hi David, Sorry you didn't enjoy your time at Urban Underground. I remember your visit and I recall you ordered a double whiskey. Unfortunately, you weren't poured the house whiskey which you wanted (of course, as it's only £3) so obviously you challenged the price...More

Reviewed July 19, 2017

Went in and it was relatively quiet at first, the bar staff were very welcoming and helpful. They were trying out new drink ideas, clearly showing a love for what they do. They let us try each new concoction and asking our opinions, involved us...More

Thank arath0rniii
Reviewed January 21, 2017 via mobile

Simply awful venue, terrible sound system with poor lighting. Not only was it understaffed but they were also rude and ruined the atmosphere of the night. Great potential acts playing but ruined by the venue. Wouldn't recommend going here to my worst enemy - many...More

Thank jedyer2
Reviewed July 4, 2015 via mobile

The only place to go for cocktails in teapots, always excellent service and drinks. Highly recommend 😀 Ideal for couples, friends and those wanting to celebrate in style.

1  Thank Rachael1971exeter
Reviewed December 16, 2014

I love urban underground, the staff and management are great and always accomadating. They go out of there way to make everyone feel welcome and i have never heard a bad word said about the bar. Even when it's busy they let everyone know the...More

2  Thank Amandajane89
Reviewed December 12, 2014

I recently attended a Christmas meal at urban burger, everything had been organised 2 months in advance as there was a large number (50+) and we had all paid in advance. We had been promised private use of their underground bar and a burger and...More

4  Thank hdp86
Reviewed December 12, 2014

I was part of a large group. They had double booked then room. There were not enough chairs or tables, food arrived 2 hours late, there was no cutlery. I ate mine standing with my fingers. A genuinely very bad experience. My advice is never...More

3  Thank Rowland C
Reviewed December 10, 2014

I came here as part of a group for our BOOKED Christmas party...booked two months in advance may I add, and it was just appalling. We were told, when we booked, that we would have the downstairs bar area exclusively and we didn't - there...More

3  Thank Kate K
Reviewed December 8, 2014

I visited as part of a private Xmas party booking & left disappointed from the start. Kept waiting to order drinks for nearly half an hour, then the food was close to two hours late. One of our party queried when the food was coming...More

10  Thank Sammii13
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Urban Underground staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines