We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A must on a wet day in the area

Love these bygone museums- love the several Robertson's Golly exhibits which might annoy the... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Reg N
great

this is not normally my sort of place to visit, but it really is fantastic and a great place for... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Seaside824457
Read all 1,541 reviews
425
All photos (425)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good25%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“victorian street”(122 reviews)
“steam engine”(45 reviews)
“victorian times”(46 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Dec
Jan
Feb
Contact
Fore Street | St Marychurch, Torquay TQ1 4PR, England
Website
+44 1803 326108
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (1,541)
Filter reviews
1,527 results
Traveller rating
990
390
105
22
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
990
390
105
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victorian street steam engine victorian times world war well worth a visit amazing collection queen victoria three floors victorian era sweet shop down memory lane step back in time model railway sound effects full size rainy day on display
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,527 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Love these bygone museums- love the several Robertson's Golly exhibits which might annoy the politically correct obsessed! Hopefully not! The steam engine is a very big plus amongst the Victoriana, but the exhibits are epic in quantity and quality. The created `war trenches' are a...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Reg N
Reviewed yesterday

Went to see bygones on the 4th dec, asked the price for OAPs the girl behind the counter pointed to a board with prices on, the price for OAPs was £8.50, as it was wintertime i thought that a bit steep, as there was four...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Marlene L
Reviewed 5 days ago

this is not normally my sort of place to visit, but it really is fantastic and a great place for family. lots to do and see. good cafe and shop.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Seaside824457
Richard C, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Many thanks for your visit and feedback, we are delighted to hear it exceeded your expectations!

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Visited on Saturday with my parents & Nan as we were visiting family in Torquay for the weekend. It was pouring with rain so wanted to do something indoors... We were so glad it rained otherwise we wouldn't have gone there. What a wonderful place...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank 947stephw
Richard C, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Many thanks for your visit and lovely review, as a family business it is important to us to know our customers are happy 😊. We hope you will visit again.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had wanted to visit a couple of times but was put off because not suitable for pushchairs. Back in the area again and baby was just about walking so decided to go for it. Staff were friendly, explained we could leave the buggy in the...More

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank scubaduba62
Richard C, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We regret that you didn't find your visit as you expected. Most people spend 1 hour- 1 1/2 and some people considerably longer! It was good to hear that you found our staff friendly.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very cluttered and you really have to look hard to see the interesting things amongst all the junk. Alot of the penny arcade machines were out of order or take your money but then did not work. Overall it was a positive experience for me...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Brendan P
Richard C, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit... the shops are displayed true to the period where they would be filled to the brim with many items. We regret that not all the arcade machines were working on your visit, we do check them daily however...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I were staying in Torquay and a bus ride brought us up to Babbacombe where Bygones is sutuated on the main road close to the church. Bygones had been recommended to us by friends and we're glad went. As we are senior...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Cherylwelshgirl
Richard C, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow what a super review, as a family business it is important to us to know you have enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We all loved it here. Lots to see and heaps of history. The settings were wonderful and the costumes took us all right back in time. The shop was reasonable for prices. Well worth the trip!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Sandy W
Richard C, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your visit and kind feedback, we are delighted to know you enjoyed it and hope to see you again!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is really a second visit for me. I found a world of wonder in Bygones as a child and bought my boyfriend back to experience it now. I love the way the museum has been created and would recommend this step back in time...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Samarajaynemartin
Richard C, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your return visit and could share that with your boyfriend. We wish we could expand as we have almost run out of space! However we are always looking to adapt things and update displays. We hope to see...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Three floors of nostalgia, an excellent look at the past and well worth a visit irrespective of age, Particularly worthwhile on a rainy day

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Anthony P
Richard C, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your visit and feedback, we are glad to hear you found it a worthwhile visit.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 88 nearby hotels
Trecarn Hotel
1,472 reviews
.38 km away
Anchorage Hotel
605 reviews
.40 km away
Exmouth View Hotel
48 reviews
.41 km away
The Morningside Hotel
75 reviews
.44 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 372 nearby restaurants
Memories Bistro
295 reviews
.28 km away
Driftwood Cafe
159 reviews
.23 km away
The Bay Tree Cafe
139 reviews
.06 km away
Cliff Railway Cafe
487 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 117 nearby attractions
Babbacombe Theatre
805 reviews
.72 km away
Babbacombe Model Village
3,482 reviews
.19 km away
Babbacombe & Oddicombe - South West Coast Path
285 reviews
.87 km away
Babbacombe
1,260 reviews
.61 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
AuraUk
August 24, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Richard C | Property representative |
Hi, yes we are about a 3-4 minute walk away from each other!
0
Votes
Emma W
April 3, 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Richard C | Property representative |
Yes! We are completely dog friendly in the whole building, even in our cafe where the staff will find a seat that conforms to our health and safety. We get lots of dogs in (of course free of charge!). Hope to see you and... More
0
Votes
Craig L
January 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Richard C | Property representative |
Hi, yes we recommend 1 hour to 1.5 hours but as you can see from all the other positive comments, many people spend longer as there is so much to see across the 3 floors!
1
Vote