We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oceanarium

Features Animals
Open Now: 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Share
Review Highlights
Good attraction with plenty to see

Well laid out, reasonably priced family friendly attraction. Booking tickets online in advance is... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
247bigr
,
Salisbury, United Kingdom
via mobile
Pretty nice

I was very curious to visit this place and even it is not very big, it could be interesting. You... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
aanamaria35
,
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Read all 2,678 reviews
1,147
All photos (1,147)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good38%
  • Average21%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“feeding times”(157 reviews)
“sea life”(142 reviews)
“giant turtles”(54 reviews)
About
The Oceanarium is the perfect all weather attraction - discover the mysterious beauty of our watery world in a spectacular underwater journey. From stunning sharks, curious rare green sea turtles and brightly coloured clownfish, to menacing...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
See all hours
As featured in One Day in Bournemouth
Contact
| Pier Approach, Bournemouth BH2 5AA, England
Website
+44 1202 311993
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Bournemouth
Reviews (2,678)
Filter reviews
2,613 results
Traveller rating
921
936
537
153
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
921
936
537
153
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews feeding times sea life giant turtles underwater tunnel penguin enclosure main tank rainy day gift shop couple of hours worth a visit few hours family ticket entrance fee great place to visit play area sea front otters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,613 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Suprisingly big inside and definitely worth the entrance fee! There are loads of animals here to see and it is easy to spend a few hours inside! The talks were interesting and started promptly. Great if you love learning and love sea creatures!

Thank arodger1
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

When we arrived we were informed the water tunnel was being refurbished and we could not see the sharks. They didn't offer a reduction in entrance fee. The chap serving wasn't very friendly. Maybe he was stressed but didn't seem very happy. Was it worth...More

Thank Barbara L
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I had really high hopes as have been here before, sadly very disappointed this time. The main attractions of sharks, turtle and crocodiles are not available to view at the moment due to a refurb and yes I know you are told this at the...More

Thank ClareG18
Reviewed 3 days ago

I went with my family last week and was very disappointed with my trip. As other people have stated below, the main attractions were closed and we were still charged full price. We complained about this but they did not show a care in the...More

Thank alicemaine300
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Took someone in wheelchair and was very wheelchair friendly, the place itself was good had a good array of fish. Would definitely recommend to anyway who is in a wheelchair.

Thank panglover
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Well laid out, reasonably priced family friendly attraction. Booking tickets online in advance is worth the saving. It wasn’t too busy either, despite being a wet and windy Saturday. There is space with tables and chairs for a packed lunch (although we ended up at...More

Thank 247bigr
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

The main attraction is closed until “early 2019” (no sharks; turtles etc; glass tunnel shut); plastic sheeting everywhere; not much left to see and certainly not worth bothering until they have finished the major refurbishment. The website down plays this but it is the main...More

Thank Geobo
Oceanarium, Marketing Co-ordinator at Oceanarium, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi There, Thank you for your feedback and am are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit to us. Whilst the Great Barrier Reef display is having maintenance we are offering discounted return vouchers for main gate customers meaning they can...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

I was very curious to visit this place and even it is not very big, it could be interesting. You can choose certain time to see how penguins or otters are fed, to have a tea, or coffee on terrace and to admire the beach(if...More

Thank aanamaria35
Oceanarium, Marketing Co-ordinator at Oceanarium, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi There, Thank you for your feedback, its great to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to us. We hope you are able to visit us again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to the oceanarium as a treat for my wife's birthday only to find half of the attraction closed for maintenance, still we were charged full price and not even offered any discount, only took 30 minutes to see what was left, don't think we...More

Thank Underfaker
Oceanarium, Marketing Co-ordinator at Oceanarium, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello, We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit to us. Whilst the Great Barrier Reef display is having maintenance we are offering discounted return vouchers for main gate customers meaning they can return once the maintenance is finished for...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my dad went one rainy morning...The main tank was being refurbished so for the entrance fee we was took for mugs..there wasn't a lot to see..a lot of the tanks where the otters was we couldn't see any thing..my dad enjoyed it..I thought...More

Thank idamay
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 66 nearby hotels
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
1,445 reviews
.13 km away
Park Central Hotel
1,414 reviews
.18 km away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
2,883 reviews
.24 km away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
3,369 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 836 nearby restaurants
Sushi & Roll
158 reviews
.24 km away
1812 Bar and Restaurant
775 reviews
.27 km away
Al Calamaro
211 reviews
.26 km away
NEO Restaurant
954 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 214 nearby attractions
Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum
1,894 reviews
.36 km away
Bournemouth Beach
7,923 reviews
.07 km away
Bournemouth International Centre
1,171 reviews
.21 km away
Bournemouth Pavilion Theatre
358 reviews
.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
helentraveller1976
September 11, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Madjical | Reviewed this property |
Opposite the Bournemouth International Centre. £1 an hour cash only £5 all day
0
Votes
helentraveller1976
September 11, 2018|
Answer
Response from Jo H | Reviewed this property |
Nowhere cheap in Bournemouth....but lots of choice!!
0
Votes
Maria K
June 18, 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from HAPPYASH | Reviewed this property |
Yes it is . & days a week between April and September.
0
Votes