We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oceanarium

Features Animals
Open Now: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Review Highlights
A Christmas Holiday visit

I visited withy family having been a few times in other years. My grandson really enjoyed it but... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
pamconiam
,
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
via mobile
Great day out

Grear day out, the sea turtles and penguins were amazing. Some part of aquarium closed but we had... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
mRoshe
,
United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 2,695 reviews
1,156
All photos (1,156)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good38%
  • Average21%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“feeding times”(165 reviews)
“sea life”(147 reviews)
“giant turtles”(56 reviews)
About
The Oceanarium is the perfect all weather attraction - discover the mysterious beauty of our watery world in a spectacular underwater journey. From stunning sharks, curious rare green sea turtles and brightly coloured clownfish, to menacing...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
See all hours
As featured in One Day in Bournemouth
Contact
| Pier Approach, Bournemouth BH2 5AA, England
Website
+44 1202 311993
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Bournemouth
from US$15.77
More Info
Reviews (2,695)
Filter reviews
2,629 results
Traveller rating
925
939
541
154
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
925
939
541
154
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews feeding times sea life giant turtles underwater tunnel penguin enclosure main tank rainy day gift shop couple of hours worth a visit few hours entrance fee great place to visit sea front otters animals aquarium
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,629 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

I was very surprised how good this was. We spent a couple of hours here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The giant turtles were amazing.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Lorraine H
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

It is indeed small, cramped and a tad overpriced but it is just charming enough to get away with it.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank HymieMcBain
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I wouldn’t pay full admission for one day, but the annual membership is great value if you’ve got small kids and live relatively close by— we dropped in often when we felt stuck at home. Also, be warned— much of the aquarium is currently closed...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Grendelsmater
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Although we were told certain attractions were closed when paying we were surprised how much was closed, very poor value for money, the otter feeding was the best bit and the guy who did the talk was excellent, this was in stark contrast to the...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Rockinrobin62
Oceanarium, Marketing Co-ordinator at Oceanarium, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello, Thank you for your recent feedback, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit and felt that it was not value for money. With the feeding schedule throughout the day and 9 of our themed zones open, we still...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited withy family having been a few times in other years. My grandson really enjoyed it but was disappointed that part was closed and the turtles sting rays and sharks had “gone on holiday”. I appreciate Work is being carried out to renovate the...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank pamconiam
Oceanarium, Marketing Co-ordinator at Oceanarium, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello, Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your visit and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed visiting us. We hope that you enjoy your next visit to us when the Sharks and Carrie (our Loggerhead Turtle) are back on show in their...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

For the size of the building what they have packed in is amazing. Such an array of sea life and others to see. I’m also told its better than the bigger “ national brand”. Either way it’s a great way to spend a couple of...More

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank scujm
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Grear day out, the sea turtles and penguins were amazing. Some part of aquarium closed but we had lovely day anyway.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank mRoshe
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with my 3 year old, to be told at the desk, that the main tank containing the sharks and turtles etc had been drained, and was closed. And guess what.... still full price!!! Absolute cheek in my opinion charging full price when the main...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Grasshoppers B
Oceanarium, Marketing Co-ordinator at Oceanarium, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello, Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed when wanting to visit the Oceanarium recently and decided not to visit us. As you mentioned above, we do currently have renovations on our Great Barrier Reef display, this...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It wasn't too busy when I visited on Boxing Day which was perfect for me as I had plenty of time and excellent views to see all the animals. Highlights were the penguin feeding times and the otters playing happily in their glass cage (sounds...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Tarah2325
Oceanarium, Marketing Co-ordinator at Oceanarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Tarah, Thank you for your review and your positive feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit and that you saw the Otters playing around, as they often do. We hope you can visit us again shortly and that you can...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thought this would be a fun place to take our young family as we had 1.5 hrs to kill. The fact that we were finished in less than an hour says it all. The main attraction, the Barrier Reef, closed for construction works. This they...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Charles B
Oceanarium, Marketing Co-ordinator at Oceanarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Charles, Thank you for leaving feedback after your recent visit, and we are sorry to hear that you were left disappointed. The work regarding the current project on the Great Barrier Reef display is displayed on our website, social media and internal posters at...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 65 nearby hotels
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
1,459 reviews
.13 km away
Park Central Hotel
1,443 reviews
.18 km away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
2,926 reviews
.24 km away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
3,435 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 867 nearby restaurants
Sushi & Roll
163 reviews
.24 km away
1812 Bar and Restaurant
789 reviews
.27 km away
NEO Restaurant
996 reviews
.11 km away
The Crab at Bournemouth
2,020 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 217 nearby attractions
Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum
1,913 reviews
.36 km away
Bournemouth Beach
7,966 reviews
.07 km away
Bournemouth International Centre
1,197 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
helentraveller1976
September 11, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Madjical | Reviewed this property |
Opposite the Bournemouth International Centre. £1 an hour cash only £5 all day
0
Votes
helentraveller1976
September 11, 2018|
Answer
Response from 246joh | Reviewed this property |
Nowhere cheap in Bournemouth....but lots of choice!!
0
Votes
mariamuzammil
June 18, 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from HAPPYASH | Reviewed this property |
Yes it is . & days a week between April and September.
0
Votes