We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1TB, England
Phone Number:
+44 871 423 2110
Today
10:00 - 18:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 18:00
Description:

Two years running 2014 and 2015 winner of 'The Best Place to Visit in...

Two years running 2014 and 2015 winner of 'The Best Place to Visit in Brighton & Hove' - Brighton and Hove Business Awards 2014 & 2015 Visit the world's oldest operating aquarium, right here in Brighton! Based opposite the iconic pier, SEA LIFE Brighton was built in 1872 and features 3,500 memorising creatures including turtles and sharks. For an additional cost you can admire our resident giant Sea Turtles Gulliver and Lulu, sharks, turtles, rays and tropical fish as they swim under your feet on the UK's first indoor glass-bottom boat. Take a look at our Behind The Scenes on an interactive experience which will immerse you into our working world. See first-hand how we care for over 3,500 sea creatures. With over 40 other world class displays we can ensure you will have an amazing discovery throughout your underwater dive. Don't forget to keep an eye out on our website for events throughout the year. We are open daily from 10am, with last admission from 4pm depending on time of year.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$24.19*
and up
Cycling Tour of Brighton City
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,365 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 408
    Excellent
  • 441
    Very good
  • 252
    Average
  • 105
    Poor
  • 78
    Terrible
Regular visitors but staff interactions not always good

We are season pass holders and come here often. Our daughter is three, she loves it and still seems to be amazed every time we come here despite having been so many times! Only... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
Sophie B
,
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

1,365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,284: English reviews
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The marina isn't bad but it's a little small for the price you pay. The sea creatures are varied and there's a good mix which is a positive about the place. The shame is that it's too small for the animals and you get the feeling that they are cramped together when there's the channel metres away. I'm not trying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ryan612
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Walked through within 30 minutes and skipped the behind the scenes tour and glass bottom boat we paid for. Was interesting to see the turtles, rays, and sharks, but mostly it's just boring fish! Cost us about £35 - over £1 a minute.

Helpful?
Thank Bethanie1606
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Anywhere that cares so much is worth a visit! You can get really close but rest assured the centre are doing all they can to make sure their wonderful beings are going to have the best life! 🌹

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca E
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this review

Hello Rebecca, thanks for recognising all of the amazingly hard work the team passionately puts into caring for the creatures and conservation environment. More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

always worth a visit nevertheless. I am not sure it has changed much in all the years that I have been going there - but maybe that's part of it's charm?

Helpful?
Thank eft292
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this review

thanks for your repeat visit More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

So the entrance fee for an adult is £18.50. I understand this is Brighton and everything is a bit dearer but this place is so lame that I can't believe they expect people to think they get any sort of value paying that high price for such a pathetic experience. The underground tunnel is about 5 feet long, the rain... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kensington
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review, I am sorry you felt that you did not receive value for money. Our entrance price is only £10.50 if you book online which for a full day in an aquarium most would say is excellent value for money. with over 70 displays and 4,500 creatures most visits last over 2 hours More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

we have visited the sea life centre many times and love it lots to see and great if you have kid's with you no problem with wheelchair access too.

Helpful?
Thank Tony S
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this review

Hi Tony, I am so pleased you and your family enjoyed your visit, and all of the access met your additional needs. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Seeing the turtles and stingrays was amazing but the whole place feels old, tired and rather dirty. Purchased online so. It that expensive to get in but not great value for money nonetheless.

Helpful?
Thank Sam P
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this review

Hello Sam, I am proud of the Victorian History of the attraction and having spent £7m restoring the stonework am pleased the oldest aquarium in the world is still operating. it is a shame that you associate old as being dirty and tired, because the truth is we work hard to keep it modern and innovative. More 

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are season pass holders and come here often. Our daughter is three, she loves it and still seems to be amazed every time we come here despite having been so many times! Only thing I would say ( and I sort of hope they read this) is the staff interactions with the children aren't always that great. They could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this review

Hello Sophie, we have read this and we will certainly use them during our training sessions with staff going forward, so thank you for your feedback. I am pleased your daughter is fascinated by fish, possibly a marine biologist for the future! More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very good sea life centre set in a very old building, the staff were very friendly and helped our 2 year old touch the star fish in the touch tank. We paid the £2 extra for the glass bottom boat which when you 1st see it you think Mmmm, but with the staff on board and taking you across the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Terry H
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this review

Hi Terry, thanks for taking the time to review your visit and the Glass Bottom Boat experience. Great advice to everyone about benefitting from the online discounts. More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We live fairly locally but enjoy a yearly trip to the centre as my children both still really enjoy the experience. It was very expensive (nearly £70 for four of us) so we always make two rounds broken up by lunch in the Laines nearby making it last all day! The centre is amazing, modern displays but great history in... More 

Helpful?
Thank SallyG_11
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this review

Hi Sally, thanks for your continued loyalty and for taking the time to review. This is great advice about achieving the best Value For Money, as the ticket is for a FULL day, so make the most of all the feeds and talks throughout the day. More 

Travellers who viewed Sea Life Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Sea Life Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sea Life Brighton and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sea Life Brighton staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?