We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Gunwharf Road, Portsmouth PO1 2LA, England
Phone Number:
+44 333 999 7333
Website
Today
05:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 05:00 - 00:00
Description:

Wightlink is the leading cross-Solent ferry operator carrying almost five...

Wightlink is the leading cross-Solent ferry operator carrying almost five million holidaymakers and Islanders to the Isle of Wight every year. Whether travelling by foot in just over 20 minutes or by car in under 45 minutes, Wightlink’s modern, comfortable fleet of eight ferries sailing on three routes (Portsmouth-Ryde, Portsmouth-Fishbourne and Lymington-Yarmouth) provide Island-wide coverage year round.

With a variety of attractions, heritage properties, endless sandy beaches, cycle paths and walking routes all set within quaint villages and towns, the Isle of Wight promises an experience like no other. And Wightlink Ferries is the way to travel, with more ferries, more routes, and more sailings than any other operator. Stepping on board a Wightlink ferry is the perfect way to start and end your Island journey.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,058 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 418
    Excellent
  • 308
    Very good
  • 126
    Average
  • 81
    Poor
  • 114
    Terrible
Overall very good

We had a good journey out to the isle of wight however the return not so good as when parked on the ferry it was so cramped that I was unable to get out of my drivers door and had... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Tracey P
Add Photo Write a Review

1,058 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,047: English reviews
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Having arrived at Portsmouth Car Ferry Services, we found ourselves in a queue behind parked lorries with no clear indication of what to do next. Having found a Wightlink employee, we were told to overtake the lorries, when safe to do so, on the wrong side of the road and were scanned in. Where once it was a pleasure to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter T
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Booking was easy, and it was easy to change our vehicle online. Despite major building works, the wait to get onto the ferry was quiet and easy. The newer style ferry is stylish and comfortable and the lift was useful for the pram. We used the baby change facility on board, and it was clean and comfortable. The ambience on... More 

Helpful?
Thank shell08_12
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this review

Thank you shell08_12 for your lovely review! I'm so glad you had a good time onboard and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday equally with many thanks from the whole team More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

WIGHTLINK FERRIES 😡What an absolute shambles. I travel several times each week to the island normally using Red Funnel who are brilliant and very reliable. This morning I decided to try Wightlink for a change and the whole experience has been a shambles, nothing short of disorganised chaos. The Portsmouth departure was an hour late as it was diverted from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phillip G
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this review

Dear Phillip We were sorry to read your experiences of our service recently and I understand our team have already arranged a full refund for your ferry trip following your complaints on our Facebook page. My apologies again that the maintenance of our loading ramp overran and your journey with us was disrupted. We have been advising customers of the... More 

1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a good journey out to the isle of wight however the return not so good as when parked on the ferry it was so cramped that I was unable to get out of my drivers door and had to clamber over the to the passenger side to get out of the car. I know they try to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this review

Hi Tracey Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to review our service, though I wasn't sorry to read there wasn't much room in how you were parked onboard! If there's a problem please let one of loading team know so they can adjust the parking of your vehicle so you can get out comfortably. In the long... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I decided to go on this trip very last minute and it was at Easter, but I still wouldn't expect all car ferries to be booked up several days in advance. I wanted to go to Ryde, then realised that the service to Ryde was only a catamaran that doesn't let cars on, but even to Fishbourne the website wouldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank EuropeanSly
Wightlink, General Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this review

Hello EuropeanSly Thank you for taking the time to review our services. Often we are able to offer customers a choice of sailing, even when booking at very short notice. However, at holiday periods I would always recommend booking as far in advance as possible to get the best choice of sailings; unfortunately there is a limit to the number... More 

Oxon
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Waited on a coach for 1 1/2 hours parked in the road waiting to board. Ferry had lift out of order and my wife with walking difficulties had to climb 3 sets of stairs and the same coming down because the lift wasn't working On holiday she started to worry about having to do it all again on the homeward... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yassos9
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this review

Dear Yassos9 I was very sorry to read of your experience on board our ferry recently and can only apologies to you and your wife that the service was not as good as it should have been on this occasion. We would welcome your coach company getting in touch with us so we can discuss further what went wrong and... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

useful port, and helped u go back on an earlier ferry, the pub at the bottom of the ferry area is superb

Helpful?
Thank diamond55755
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this review

Hello Diamond Thank you for your kind review. It sounds like you had a good time of your journey back, was it the Fishbourne Inn you visited? We look forward to welcoming you on board again soon. More 

coleshill
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We travelled on a bank holiday weekend. It was fairly busy but the staff kept things ticking away nicely. On the way home however we weren't allowed on the ferry that we'd booked as it was full.. not over booked apparently but people turning up with bikes and trailers etc made it impossible to get everyone on who had booked..... More 

Helpful?
Thank debra s
Wightlink, Public Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this review

Hello Debra Thank you for the kind review of our services - though I'm very sorry to read your return journey with us was delayed! We do our best to plan our sailings for the arriving traffic but sometimes arriving vehicles can be a little larger than we had planned for. When this happens we try and ensure that any... More 

Chichester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked to go away to the Isle of Wight to see some family's grace but to make it more fun for the kids we decided to stay for a few nights in 1 of the islands many beautiful camp sites Ferry was booked for 1 on good Friday go to the road into the ferry port for 12:20 it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steer75
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this review

Dear Mr Steer Thank you for taking the time to review our services, though I was very sorry to read you missed your outward sailing with us on Friday. It appears you arrived at around 13:55 for your 13:00 sailing and unfortunately the Friday before Easter is one of our busiest days and there was no room to rebook your... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

My first time using Wight Link not a good experience, half hour to actually get to the terminal due to traffic caused by building works. Sitting in queue and the staff are letting cars push in front of the rest of us waiting to use the ferry. Which meant we actually parked up behind them in the queue. Staff very... More 

Helpful?
Thank brianlodge14
Wightlink, Public Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this review

Hello brianlodge14 Thank you for taking the time to review our service. I'm very sorry that you had some problems on arrival and were held up in traffic. It is true that we are just completing the main stage of our £45million investment project, which includes a new double deck terminal building at Portsmouth. The main stage of this project... More 

Travellers who viewed Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?