We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tudor House and Garden

Closed: Closed
Open today: Closed
Save
Share
Review Highlights
So much history under one roof!

We spent several hours here, visiting all the different rooms, strolling through the beautiful... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
CCAnnie66
,
Petaluma, California
Old Southampton

Excellent place to visit. An olde piece of history. Staff helpful and the café is brilliant. A... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
ricktheboy
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Read all 546 reviews
270
All photos (270)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“audio guide”(31 reviews)
“herb garden”(15 reviews)
About
Tudor House gives a unique and atmospheric insight into the lives and times of both its residents through the years, and of Southampton itself. It appeals to visitors of all ages and interests, who find the family-friendly activities, interactive...more
Closed
Hours Today: Closed
See all hours
Contact
Bugle Street | St Michael's Square, Southampton SO14 2AD, England
Website
+44 23 8083 4242
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Southampton
from US$10.70
More Info
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
262
175
43
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
262
175
43
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide air raid shelter herb garden gardens are lovely creaky floorboards audio visual presentation banquet hall gift shop main hall piece of history own pace step back in time interesting visit entrance fee interactive displays interesting history disabled access
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

We spent several hours here, visiting all the different rooms, strolling through the beautiful garden, and having lunch in the cafe. Every room is about a different era: Tudor, Victorian, Edwardian, etc. The audio tour does an excellent job of explaining the exhibits. Without it,...More

Thank CCAnnie66
Reviewed 1 week ago

First real visit to Southampton and keen to explore the history. We really enjoyed the house and learning about the refurbishment. However was quite shocked at our reception. I had to stand and wait whilst 2 employees behind the counter carried on their conversation and...More

1  Thank Wendy c
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent place to visit. An olde piece of history. Staff helpful and the café is brilliant. A hidden gem with an excellent garden to walk around. Lots of things to do in the museum.

Thank ricktheboy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The house dates back over 800 years with numerous changes through the centuries. The audio guide tour and displays do an excellent job of describing the history of the House, it’s occupants and the changing face of Southampton. There are areas where the house construction...More

Thank BearTraveler69
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a nice house museum worth checking out. We went on a Saturday and it was on the quiet side. We took our time moving from room to room. It is a large house with lots of rooms to see and a lot of...More

Thank Rizzo305
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From a WW2 air raid bunker to a Victorian kitchen, gardens, canons, plants, viwes and walls, you will find it here.

Thank 8joan
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Went here with my grandson we both enjoyed it nice to see an read about the history of the house an Southampton had a lovely cup of tea in the lovely garden

Thank cbaker301065
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

Spent a very interesting morning at the Tudor House in Southampton. The knot garden is very pretty and there is a nice cafe. Staff are pleasant and helpful. The free audio guide was informative. A great visit for all ages.

Thank barbiwales
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

I took 2 kids (age 13 and 11) and we all throughly enjoyed it. Head sets to guide us to points of interest. Kids and adult versions included in price. £13 for us (2x£4 + £5) or £15 for a family of 4. Sound and...More

Thank Annabel B
Reviewed August 28, 2018

You can join a group with a live guide or use an audio guide. Worth visiting this historic building.

Thank Ken20
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 nearby hotels
Grand Harbour Hotel
2,285 reviews
.19 km away
Holiday Inn Southampton
1,408 reviews
.25 km away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
1,806 reviews
.26 km away
Travelodge Southampton Central Hotel
670 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 951 nearby restaurants
BAYLEAF kitchen
310 reviews
.18 km away
Ennio's
837 reviews
.21 km away
Coriander Lounge
1,638 reviews
.21 km away
Duke of Wellington
528 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 285 nearby attractions
Red Funnel Ferries
1,666 reviews
.26 km away
Southampton Town Walls
370 reviews
.35 km away
Holy Rood Church
100 reviews
.23 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Bidsagogo
June 3, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Julie M | Reviewed this property |
I don't know
0
Votes
edwardwoodward147
February 11, 2017|
Answer
Response from SeaCity_Museum | Property representative |
Yes we do allow free entry at both Tudor House & Garden as well as SeaCity to our retail and catering areas. With Tudor House we have the seating area in the garden so access is allowed, if you wouldn't mind letting the... More
2
Votes
Patricia A
September 29, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Alohanuiloa | Reviewed this property |
Ticket Type Ticket Tariff Adult ticket £5.00 per ticket (2 adults,3 children) £13.75 per ticket Child 5yrs and over £4.00 per ticket Over 60s and Students £4.00 per ticket
1
Vote
Google Translation