We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tudor House and Garden

Closed Now: 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Review Highlights
Certainly very interesting

We were a party of six adults, two English, two Americans and two Australians. Visited quite early... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
RobboLancashire
,
Lancashire
Interesting house to visit

We brought our grandson to visit father Christmas, it was a lovely venue, lots of history to absorb... read more

Reviewed December 18, 2018
mary r
,
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Read all 559 reviews
274
All photos (274)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“audio guide”(33 reviews)
“herb garden”(15 reviews)
About
Tudor House gives a unique and atmospheric insight into the lives and times of both its residents through the years, and of Southampton itself. It appeals to visitors of all ages and interests, who find the family-friendly activities, interactive...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
See all hours
Contact
Bugle Street | St Michael's Square, Southampton SO14 2AD, England
Website
+44 23 8083 4242
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Southampton
from US$10.52
More Info
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveller rating
267
181
45
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
267
181
45
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide air raid shelter herb garden gardens are lovely creaky floorboards audio visual presentation gift shop main hall piece of history interesting visit step back in time entrance fee lots of history interactive displays disabled access couple of hours old city walls
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 510 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a party of six adults, two English, two Americans and two Australians. Visited quite early in the morning and found the staff to be most helpful and friendly. We started off with a coffee and mince pie in the small café which was...More

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank RobboLancashire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The attraction looks to be interesting from the outside, however during my visit the place was closed from Christmas day until New Year's day (information was not mentioned on google). The entrance fees seems to be on the high side, if I remember correctly, about...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank nldogbert
Reviewed December 18, 2018

We brought our grandson to visit father Christmas, it was a lovely venue, lots of history to absorb and it is a very quirky old building, lots of activities and the garden is amazing. The café onsite is also good value.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank mary r
Reviewed December 17, 2018 via mobile

We learned about Tudor House through Trip Advisor and thought it was a great find. The audio guide enhanced the experience and we learned about former inhabitants of the house in various time periods (Medieval, Tudor, Georgian, Victorian, 20th Century, and Modern). The toy exhibit...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank KristenS1488
Reviewed December 9, 2018

This historic museum in the lower part of the city centre of Southampton is well worth a visit to learn about its mixed use in the past. The upper level has a very creaky unlevel floor. Don't miss out on visiting the air raid shelter....More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank TeamFishUK
Reviewed December 2, 2018

The Tudor House's history is very interesting and well worth a visit. We went as part of the town walls walk and found it well worth stopping to see.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank handm29
Reviewed December 1, 2018

Set in the centre of fascinating historic Southampton (much under-publicised) The walls of this lovely old building hide a series of varied displays, café, knot garden and ramparts viewpoint worth a visit of at least 2-3 hours. You start with an imaginatively presented audio-visual introduction...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank fifytyplus
Reviewed November 11, 2018

Interesting house and story of its history and how it has evolved over time. Worth a couple of hour visit.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Bill-Bob-DC
Reviewed November 10, 2018

interesting place to visit and learn about some local history quirky introduction to start but still interesting place

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Gary D
Reviewed November 10, 2018

Very well laid out attraction. Lots to see on several floors. Restaurant serving excellent selection of food. Great introductory video. Expect to be there for about 3 hours to see it all.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank grahamfortey
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 nearby hotels
Grand Harbour Hotel
2,378 reviews
.14 km away
Travelodge Southampton Central Hotel
710 reviews
.17 km away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
1,869 reviews
.17 km away
The Star Hotel & Restaurant
557 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 968 nearby restaurants
Duke of Wellington
545 reviews
.10 km away
Coriander Lounge
1,672 reviews
.14 km away
George's Restaurant
253 reviews
.07 km away
La lupa
420 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 292 nearby attractions
Westquay
376 reviews
.35 km away
Holy Rood Church
101 reviews
.17 km away
St Michael's Church
77 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Bidsagogo
June 3, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from C3413TEjuliem | Reviewed this property |
I don't know
0
Votes
edwardwoodward147
February 11, 2017|
Answer
Response from SeaCity_Museum | Property representative |
Yes we do allow free entry at both Tudor House & Garden as well as SeaCity to our retail and catering areas. With Tudor House we have the seating area in the garden so access is allowed, if you wouldn't mind letting the... More
2
Votes
Patricia A
September 29, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Alohanuiloa | Reviewed this property |
Ticket Type Ticket Tariff Adult ticket £5.00 per ticket (2 adults,3 children) £13.75 per ticket Child 5yrs and over £4.00 per ticket Over 60s and Students £4.00 per ticket
1
Vote
Google Translation