We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Academy of Arts

Burlington House Piccadilly | Piccadilly, London W1J 0BD, England
+44 20 7300 8000
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16.14*
and up
Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London
More Info
US$43.05*
and up
The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
Founded in 1768, this thriving center of artistic excellence is the oldest fine arts institution in Britain, whose exhibitions attract over a million people each year.
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
LOCATION
Burlington House Piccadilly | Piccadilly, London W1J 0BD, England
Mayfair
CONTACT
Website
+44 20 7300 8000
Write a Review
Reviews (1,587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,478 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited the Royal Academy to see the Dali Duchamp exhibition. Excellent selection of items, not too big and not too crowded. Very enjoyable. Stopped off for some lunch in the Peyton and Bryne cafe - delicious. Shop is good but expensive.

Thank Hannie303
Reviewed 1 week ago

A building that has been there for 200 years. Downstairs is being further extended/discovered from the past. Upstairs we went to see the Dali/Duchamp exhibition. A wonderful mixture of both artists work. Some very well known other pieces unknown to me. A succinct comparison of...More

Thank Graham B
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to visit the latest Henri Matisse exhibition with friends from Switzerland, we all enjoyed the exhibition and the price was reasonable. The down stairs café was very busy but managed to get a table . The friends restaurant and gardens look really nice...More

Thank johnandbabs
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review. I'm pleased you and your friends had an enjoyable visit and that you enjoyed the Matisse exhibition. I hope your friends had a great stay in London. We look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, Kate

Reviewed 1 week ago

The most recent exhibit displayed everyday objects from Matisse's studio and juxtaposed them with the artworks in which they appeared. This juxtaposition allowed you to see everyday objects through his eyes--absolutely fascinating.

Thank 5businesstraveler777
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very interesting and varied works of art, paintings, sculpture, architecture designs, and installations. Known and not so well known artists, also Una Stubbs the actress had a piece on show! All the rooms were packed and so a full day or a full half day...More

Thank RichardW007
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Enjoyable exhibition, Although I had hoped to see more of his Islamic work. No photography allowed but lack of advisory signage. Expensive entrance fee £15.50 and additional £3.00 for audio commentary. Nice restaurant, pleasing surroundings but overpriced, £5.00 for small fancy cakes.More

Thank Judith S
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Judith thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the Matisse exhibition.I'm sorry you didn't see the 'no photography' signage. I will feed this back to our design team to make the signage more prominent. Some of our shows allow photography and others...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to view the Matisse exhibition with a friend. We were both disappointed. Not very much in the way of paintings. Lots of large photographs and articles from the studio. Expensive for what was on display.More

Thank MargRich18
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking time time to share your thoughts. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't like the Matisse exhibition. The exhibition focuses on how objects from Matisse's personal collection informed his painting. As such there are a mixture of materials in the show...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went to jasper johns exhibits and it was £17. The exhibit was great laid out and great paintings. Don't regret going, but should be cheaper.

Thank Marius P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The exhibition was interesting but not mind blowing. We had a drink in the cafe afterwards and found the staff impolite, lackadaisical and just not interested

Thank Christine M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really enjoyed the Jasper Johns exhibition, fortunately my sister in law is a member so it was free. Amazing building housing the galleries and a great experience. If you enjoy fine art this is a bucket list place to visit.

Thank txwolfy
Nearby
Mayfair
Set beside some of London's best parks and home to
world-class galleries, luxurious hotels, and famed
thoroughfares, the ultra upscale Mayfair is one of
London's most exclusive haunts. Here the shopping is
haute, the dining is exquisite, and the nightlife is
vibrant. A casual stroll through the area’s chic
streets will reveal that Michelin stars and
chauffeured cars are practically the norm here. Even
...More
Nearby Restaurants
The Diamond Jubilee Tea Salon
1,355 reviews
.13 km away
Cecconis
1,067 reviews
.11 km away
Itsu
296 reviews
.12 km away
The Parlour
522 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Burlington Arcade
218 reviews
.08 km away
3 Savile Row
35 reviews
.13 km away
Burlington House
11 reviews
.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Timothy Y
4 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 17 answers
Response from Peter P | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can buy them at the door.
0
Votes
Hannah C
13 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Kate T | Property representative |
Hi Hannah - really glad you enjoyed the show! We have two types of audio guide offer. Universal and optional. Universal is when the audio is included in the ticket price. We can only afford to do this once every tax... More
1
Vote
Spikeyell
3 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Kate T | Property representative |
Hi, we have a free cloakroom but unfortunately space is limited. We cannot accept anything larger than 280 mm in width, 380 mm in height or 400 mm in depth. Hope this helps. Thanks, Kate
0
Votes