We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Academy of Arts

Burlington House Piccadilly | Piccadilly, London W1J 0BD, England
+44 20 7300 8000
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.64*
and up
Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London
More Info
US$41.72*
and up
The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 18:00
LOCATION
Burlington House Piccadilly | Piccadilly, London W1J 0BD, England
Mayfair
CONTACT
Website
+44 20 7300 8000
Write a Review
Reviews (1,483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We visited the café on a Saturday lunchtime before visiting America after the Fall and chose a light snack, salad and drinks. The space is quite nice with some interesting pieces of sculpture to look at while eating and the food was very good. It...More

Thank CharlieCB
Reviewed 5 days ago

We went to see America After the Fall exhibition which was a well-organised collection of top-quality and fascinating work. However, for just three rooms the ticket price was way too high and too many people were being let in at the same time - the...More

Thank uncleglyn
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to see 'America After The Fall' exhibition which I enjoyed but audio guide did not work. Went to change it and was given lengthy explanation by snotty member of staff who explained in slow and loud voice that I should only try and use...More

Thank Cynthia P
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia, thank you for writing and sharing your experience. I'm sorry to hear that a team member was patronising to you. If you would like, please contact me directly on kate.topham@royalacademy.org.uk so that we can speak further. I hope you enjoyed the America exhibition....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The Royal Academy has a secret. It is the Grand Cafe on the ground floor. You don't have to be a member to eat here and it is a much more interesting venue than the members room. There are some beautiful murals, the food is...More

Thank Peter S
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this review

Dear Peter, thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, Kate.

Reviewed 1 week ago

My companion and I both members wanted a nice and healthy lunch however we were disappointed.. We had a salad but the tender stem broccoli was nearly raw and the huge mound we were given somehow did not reduce even though we chewed and chewedMore

Thank Gillian G G
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this review

Dear Gillian, thank you for sharing your review. I'm sorry that you and your friend did not enjoy lunch. I will pass on your feedback to the catering team. Meanwhile please contact me on kate.topham@royalacademy.org.uk if I can be of any further assistance to you....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The Royal Academy of Arts at Burlington House is between Piccadilly Circus and Green Park tube stations on Piccadilly. As you walk up the courtyard, you face a grand building which house some great works of art. If you have about two to three hours...More

Thank Mazmannan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The exhibit title on the exterior of the building, together with a picture of Grant Wood's American Gothic, got our attention! We saw this exhibit and enjoyed it very much. It runs to early June, but other great shows will follow. The academy is also...More

Thank Nancy2005
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this review

Dear Nancy, thank you for your kind review. We hope you can visit us again soon. Many thanks, Kate

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to see the current exhibition of American painting. It costs £12 to enter for just three small rooms. They were uncomfortably over-crowded so you could not see the paintings well. The signage was also poor. One picture I liked had what I thought was...More

Thank Roland D
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this review

Dear Roland, thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the RA. I'm sorry to hear it was not the visit you were expecting. The America exhibition has been very busy. We do control entry with timed tickets but I am sorry...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A unique museum amongst several floors, some nice period piece art work. Learned a lot about the 1930's in USA and also the Russian exhibit was interesting. I do recommend this place if you have a few hours to spare.

Thank Hvhighexp
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to see the America after the Fall exhibition, which was first rate- had coffee and cake in the cafe - lemon drizzle cake - you have to try that! Staff really nice and as the title of this review says - should have stayed...More

Thank anth0nygriffiths
Nearby
Mayfair
Set beside some of London's best parks and home to
world-class galleries, luxurious hotels, and famed
thoroughfares, the ultra upscale Mayfair is one of
London's most exclusive haunts. Here the shopping is
haute, the dining is exquisite, and the nightlife is
vibrant. A casual stroll through the area’s chic
streets will reveal that Michelin stars and
chauffeured cars are practically the norm here. Even
...More
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Gymkhana
1,113 reviews
.13 km away
Cecconis
991 reviews
.11 km away
The Diamond Jubilee Tea Salon
1,258 reviews
.13 km away
Itsu
258 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Burlington Arcade
199 reviews
.09 km away
3 Savile Row
31 reviews
.13 km away
Snap Galleries London
6 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Hannah C
Dear Kate, Really enjoyed the exhibition and hoping to come back! Just wanted to know - what are the prices for an audio guide at the Revolution exhibition? I noticed they were free with the ticket at the Abstract Expressionism show, how come this is no longer the case? Many thanks, Hannah
13 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Kate T | Property representative |
Hi Hannah - really glad you enjoyed the show! We have two types of audio guide offer. Universal and optional. Universal is when the audio is included in the ticket price. We can only afford to do this once every tax... More
1
Vote
Spikeyell
May I leave a small shoulder bag in the cloakroom?
3 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Kate T | Property representative |
Hi, we have a free cloakroom but unfortunately space is limited. We cannot accept anything larger than 280 mm in width, 380 mm in height or 400 mm in depth. Hope this helps. Thanks, Kate
0
Votes
Spikeyell
I am travelling from my home in North Wales and need to bring a small overnight bag with me. I have timed tickets for 18.00 tomorrow, Friday night. Will I be able to leave my bag in the cloakroom?
2 March 2017|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from Kate T | Property representative |
Hi - just left you an answer on the other thread too, but just in case I will answer here too! Our cloakroom is free but is very small. Our bag limit size is 280 mm in width, 380 mm in height and 400 mm in depth. If your bag... More
0
Votes