We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Academy of Arts

Burlington House Piccadilly | Piccadilly, London W1J 0BD, England
+44 20 7300 8000
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$42.98*
and up
The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off
More Info
US$16.12*
and up
Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
Founded in 1768, this thriving center of artistic excellence is the oldest fine arts institution in Britain, whose exhibitions attract over a million people each year.
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
LOCATION
Burlington House Piccadilly | Piccadilly, London W1J 0BD, England
Mayfair
CONTACT
+44 20 7300 8000
Write a Review
Reviews (1,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 370 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2016

We went to see the summer exhibition. It was most interesting with a wide variety of art available to view. Something for everyone.

Thank HeatherStowmarket
Reviewed 22 July 2016

This most prestigious academy projects the best in the artists . Any aspiring artist will have a dream of having his / her work excited here . The most famous and the best known place in world of arts will find a way here ....More

Thank kamakshi2015
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Thank you for your lovely review. I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Royal Academy. I hope you are able to visit us again soon. Many thanks, Kate

Reviewed 22 July 2016

I've grown to like this yearly event where every artist makes a chance of having his/her work selected for a temporary Summer exhibition at the Academy. It gives an enormous variation and cross section of tastes and styles. Something there for everyone!

Thank Henry d
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Dear Henry, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am really pleased you enjoyed your visit. The photos are great too! Many thanks, Kate

Reviewed 21 July 2016

now showing the 82 portraits by the artist. all of them drown in the same room sitting in the same chair. only the model varies.

Thank Tal S
Reviewed 20 July 2016

I viewed Hockney's latest project today. It was interesting to see the different people and how they were portrayed. I got the impression that he was more interested some more than others.

Thank JackyD3
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Enjoyed David Hockney exhibition. Nice venue and great central location off Piccadilly. Reasonable value as London rates go. Recommended.

Thank Anon092
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Thank you for your lovely review. Really glad you enjoyed the show. Many thanks, Kate

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Have been coming to the SE for a number of years and must say this was very poor. The staging was clinical and depressing with more of the usual money spinning exhibitors than usual. When you think that some artists have print runs which will...More

Thank Castleman073
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

An interesting idea and Hockney does capture something of the sitter. However few of the sitters were familiar to me and in the end it was only the idea I found interesting, the execution left me unmoved. Well displayed though. Took the opportunity to visit...More

Thank Stephen D
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Dear Stephen, Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy Hockney. The RA has a hugely varied exhibition programme. I hope that one of our future shows will be more to your liking. I hope you enjoyed the Summer Exhibition. Remember you...More

Reviewed 16 July 2016

We had tickets to the new Hockney exhibition and loved it but................ For the majority of other museums, art galleries etc you have to buy tickets for special exhibits which is quite right but you also get to see the entire rest of the museum...More

Thank angie63
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Angie, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your visit to the RA. I am so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience (although very pleased to hear you enjoyed the Hockney exhibition itself - it is so...More

Reviewed 16 July 2016

I have visited the summer exhibition at the Royal academy for many years and thought that this year's was very poor. I didn't like the way the exhibits were displayed. I thought there were a lot fewer than in previous years. Yes I was very...More

1  Thank WatfordWanderer2
Kate T, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Academy of Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I'm sorry to hear you didn't like the Summer Exhibition this year. I think it's a really good show but then most of the fun is the debate the exhibition inspires. I will pass on...More

Nearby
Mayfair
Set beside some of London's best parks and home to
world-class galleries, luxurious hotels, and famed
thoroughfares, the ultra upscale Mayfair is one of
London's most exclusive haunts. Here the shopping is
haute, the dining is exquisite, and the nightlife is
vibrant. A casual stroll through the area’s chic
streets will reveal that Michelin stars and
chauffeured cars are practically the norm here. Even
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Gymkhana
1,236 reviews
.13 km away
The Diamond Jubilee Tea Salon
1,345 reviews
.13 km away
Cecconis
1,060 reviews
.11 km away
Benihana
942 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Burlington Arcade
215 reviews
.08 km away
3 Savile Row
35 reviews
.13 km away
Burlington House
10 reviews
.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Timothy Y
4 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 17 answers
Response from Peter P | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can buy them at the door.
0
Votes
Hannah C
13 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Kate T | Property representative |
Hi Hannah - really glad you enjoyed the show! We have two types of audio guide offer. Universal and optional. Universal is when the audio is included in the ticket price. We can only afford to do this once every tax... More
1
Vote
Spikeyell
3 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Kate T | Property representative |
Hi, we have a free cloakroom but unfortunately space is limited. We cannot accept anything larger than 280 mm in width, 380 mm in height or 400 mm in depth. Hope this helps. Thanks, Kate
0
Votes