We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dove at Hammersmith

#54 of 1,277 Nightlife in London
Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: Chiswick
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Address: 19 Upper Mall, London W6 9TA, England
Phone Number:
+44 20 8748 9474
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
Description:

Truly one of London's best kept secret! A proper English pub, 17th century,...

Truly one of London's best kept secret! A proper English pub, 17th century, filled with old and young, consisting of small rooms, an open fire, low wooden tudor beams, and best of all - an outside wooden terrace – almost alp chalet style -overlooking the Thames right where it curls east and west (great for watching the boat race). With the sun shining on the river, people rowing past, walking dogs and pushing babies along the river, you'll feel like you are in The Wind In The Willows rather than central London.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 237 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 101
    Excellent
  • 62
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
what a surprise!

Leaving London for a couple of hours for a walk alongside the Thames banks in Hammersmith we stopped at 'The Dove'. A more typical pub is hardly to find. Very old, small and... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
gerritverhelst
,
gent
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 209: English reviews
gent
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Leaving London for a couple of hours for a walk alongside the Thames banks in Hammersmith we stopped at 'The Dove'. A more typical pub is hardly to find. Very old, small and beautiful, with a nice terrace overviewing the river. Superb! We were also extremely lucky to get a table for two (at Friday evening and without having booked... More 

Helpful?
Thank gerritverhelst
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This little bar is well worth the short walk from central Hammersmith. I have been to this bar several times on my visits to Hammersmith and I've never been disappoint except for the lack of space for people who feel the same. This speaks highly of their quality food, drinks and service. Our favourite place here is to sit on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eira J
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very busy Wednesday lunchtime - clearly popular eatery! Table booked for 12.30. Couple of other tables already occupied - the pollock was already off the menu, and by the time we came to order the pork chops had gone too (which was a shame as they smelt great). Enjoyed the bread and olives starter. All five of us chose a... More 

Helpful?
Thank sschaaf28
Labatut S, General Manager at The Dove at Hammersmith, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am sorry 2 dishes were not available on your visit. We received daily fresh deliveries which can arrive a little to close to the start of service - delaying the preparation and service of a dish. I am glad you enjoyed your meal and I hope you will be visiting again... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This has to be one of the best riverside pubs in London. Gorgeous views of Hammersmith Bridge from the terrace, and a decent range of drinks. Friendly service (especially from Sam). I'll be returning.

Helpful?
Thank GirthMoon
Labatut S, General Manager at The Dove at Hammersmith, responded to this review

Thank you very much! Sam was very happy to see his name mentioned! You've made his day! We are all grateful for your lovely review and I hop to see you again very soon! Kindest regards, Sonia More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cod must have been still frozen when they deep fried it - skin and flesh stuck together and couldn't be separated - worst pub meal i have ever had..........

Helpful?
Thank colin m
Labatut S, General Manager at The Dove at Hammersmith, responded to this review

Hi Colin, I am terribly sorry you had such a disappointing dinner with us. I can assure you we have a daily fresh fish delivery and our kitchen team takes great care of the products they use and dishes they create. I would love for you to come back so we can give you the meal you were expecting and... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having been introduced to the Dove by a friend a couple of years ago, the service and atmosphere has gone down on each visit. The icing on the cake so to speak occurred this evening when I called the Dove to book a table, arrived on time with my girlfriend sat down and ordered. The fish arrived with far too... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian C
Labatut S, General Manager at The Dove at Hammersmith, responded to this review

Hi Ian, I have responded to your other review on our other page as well as on Design my night. Please get in touch at dove@fullers.co.uk Many thanks, Sonia More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
415 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We booked into this waterfront pub based on the great reviews and history. The pub is small but very cosy with a very small outdoor balcony over looking the Thames. We had tried to eat here before on several occasions but it is always busy so we booked a table in advance this time. The food was OK but a... More 

Helpful?
Thank zitaaussiemum
Labatut S, General Manager at The Dove at Hammersmith, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am sorry you felt our food was bland. The menu is changing this week so please pop in again and try some of our new dishes! As we are so closed to Fuller's Brewery we have most of their beers - they could not be fresher! We have... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Lovely little pub with truly delicious food, which varies often. We have, for example, tasted rabbit and pidgeon, which were delicious. Service is great and prices are average to this area (4 for a pint and 10ish for a dish). Would recommend booking, but it is possible to get a table without as well.

Helpful?
Thank Eszter B
Labatut S, General Manager at The Dove at Hammersmith, responded to this review

Hi Eszter, Thank you so much for such a lovely review! I am thrilled you enjoyed your time with us! Hoping to see you again soon, Kindest regards More 

Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Fantastic riverside pub - full of character and characters. Great Fullers beer and food. Cosy snug for those colder evenings, or riverside terrace for sunnier days. Brings back great memories of over 35 years ago!

Helpful?
Thank kevinbjones
Labatut S, General Manager at The Dove at Hammersmith, responded to this review

Dear Kevin! Thank you very much for sharing your review! It feels so special to have such great patrons, even after all these years :-) Many thanks again! Kindest regards More 

London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

This is my local and have visited it on many occasions. But today I only ordered a cold starter. Forty minutes later nothing, as I watched others who arrived after me being served. I finally went inside and found a waitress and asked where my order was. Five minutes later it arrived., with very little explanation or apology. It is... More 

Helpful?
Thank alexander76london
Labatut S, General Manager at The Dove at Hammersmith, responded to this review

Dear Alexander, I am so sorry to hear about your disappointing visit. There is no excuses for such a long wait for a cold starter! The kitchen team has be spoken to. Please get in touch at dove@fullers.co.uk so we can do something for you to apologise properly! Kind regards Sonia More 

Travellers who viewed The Dove at Hammersmith also viewed

 

Been to The Dove at Hammersmith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Dove at Hammersmith and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
bucks
10 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Dove at Hammersmith staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?