We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hoveton Hall Gardens

| near St. Peter's Church, Norwich NR12 8RJ, England
+44 1603 784297
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Garden lover

Went there this week. Cafe was good but the gardens very disappointing. Was told there were three... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
angelastocks
,
Leeds
Quite pleasant

Don't be deceived by the name as you don't get to see the Hall, however the gardens and trails are... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Dave R
,
Matlock, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 77 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Hoveton Hall Gardens is part of Hoveton Hall Estate, a small privately owned business located on the edge of the Norfolk Broads. The 15 acre gardens are open to the public from April to September each year. The gardens are a mixture of wild planting and formal walled gardens. There are also two lakes, woodland and parkland for visitors to explore and enjoy. On-site is Garden Kitchen Cafe which is run separately by Alex Firman of Alex Chef Catering.
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good31%
  • Average11%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed
All hours
Hours Today: Closed
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
| near St. Peter's Church, Norwich NR12 8RJ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1603 784297
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Went there this week. Cafe was good but the gardens very disappointing. Was told there were three and a half gardeners looking after the gardens, clearly they had not been anywhere near lots of weeds, looked really unkempt. Not worth the price paid.More

Thank angelastocks
Rachel B, Owner at Hoveton Hall Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy the gardens. We have 3 staff who work part time in the gardens. We offer a variety of different areas to enjoy including very well kept walled/ formal gardens as well as woodland, water gardens and our wild...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Don't be deceived by the name as you don't get to see the Hall, however the gardens and trails are lovely and not too long, a tad overpriced for the size of the place and I got to see my first snake 🐍 in the...More

Thank Dave R
Rachel B, Owner at Hoveton Hall Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks for your comments. The Hall is open only on select days via Invitation to View.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited at the end of July and enjoyed every moment we were there. Have been staying at Wroxham for holidays for so many years and just never visited these gardens before. The grounds are very well kept - so many pathways that you can...More

Thank Karen J
Rachel B, Owner at Hoveton Hall Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your comments, very glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to us.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went there yesterday. For the price we paid to get in it certainly wasn't worth the money. I expected more sculptured gardens but there really wasn't much to see. We followed the trail to the glass house but it turned out to be a greenhouse...More

Thank SmithEngland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this place on Sunday 23 July and found ourselves in the midst of a Teddy Bears picnic. So much thought had clearly gone into organising this event. Literally Teddies hiding everywhere throughout the gardens, a story teller in the woods, Punch and Judy...More

Thank Mary R
Rachel B, Owner at Hoveton Hall Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments, it so nice to hear you had a great time at the Teddy Bear's Picnic.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a great day out for the family. Lots to see and do around the huge gardens and with a crack little cafe as well. The water features were popular with the children and the gardens were a riot of colour -best go before the...More

Thank Tarkaman01
Rachel B, Owner at Hoveton Hall Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments, we really appreciate your feedback.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Hoveton Hall Gardens last week with my family. My mum was celebrating her birthday and we had a lovely day. The gardens were beautiful. The spider garden was particularly stunning with so many varieties of flowers. The gardeners do a fabulous job of...More

Thank Hobdays
Rachel B, Owner at Hoveton Hall Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Great to hear we made your Mum's birthday a special one. Thank you for your lovely feedback.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely gardens especially the spider garden. It takes such a lot of time, money and hard work to maintain a house and gardens of this size. Its a pity some people don't appreciate this when writing derogatory comments. To have only 2 gardeners I think...More

Thank Karen S
Rachel B, Owner at Hoveton Hall Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments, as a small business we do our best to make everyone's visit to the gardens as good as it can possibly be. It is nice to be recognised for the hardwork we all put in here at Hoveton Hall Estate.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Teddy Bears Picnic event on Sunday, very friendly reception, great fun hunting for teddy bears, the story teller was brilliant, Punch and Judy/magician was super entertaining. Lots of smiling faces and even some grownups with their favourite teddies wandering around! Lovely trip...More

Thank Nakita H
Rachel B, Owner at Hoveton Hall Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments, so great to hear you had a lovely time at our Teddy Bear's Picnic.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We did not enjoy this at all. We felt the gardens were not very attractive and the area was in need of more TLC by the gardeners. The spider garden was ok, but again it needed more TLCMore

Thank Brian D
Rachel B, Owner at Hoveton Hall Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Really sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to us. As a small business we pride ourselves on making everyone's visit as enjoyable as possible but we obviously fell below your expectations yesterday. If you would like to give me more detailed feedback please feel free...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Station Smokehouse
108 reviews
1.75 km away
The Old Mill Restaurant and Cafe Bar
379 reviews
2.03 km away
The White Horse Inn
473 reviews
3.03 km away
Bure River Cottage Restaurant
307 reviews
3.63 km away
Nearby Attractions
Broads Tours River Trips
672 reviews
2.23 km away
BeWILDerwood
1,557 reviews
2.61 km away
RAF Air Defence Radar Museum
306 reviews
3.56 km away
Woodforde's
23 reviews
5.19 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
AlbeeBach
23 July 2017|
Answer
Response from RachelBuxton |
Sorry but only assistance dogs are allowed.
0
Votes
AlbeeBach
23 July 2017|
Answer
Response from RachelBuxton |
Yes a lot of it is, there are gravel paths, grass and concrete paths. Wheelchair users and their carers have a reduced entrance fee.
0
Votes