We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Confessional - CLOSED

28 Milsom Street | Milsom Place, Bath BA1 1BZ, England
+44 1225 667155
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Forgive me Father

For a cheeky quiet cocktail with a few friends this is a really cool joint. Enough buzz to keep you... read more

Reviewed 10 March 2017
Dino L
via mobile
Date place

This place was awesome as a date place. The table service was great and the atmosphere in general... read more

Reviewed 3 March 2017
Tom B
via mobile
Read all 76 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
High quality wine, speciality cocktails and local craft beer for locals in the know. #NeedToTalk We do accept bookings for groups up to 12 persons. Especially in Fridays and Saturdays, to avoid any disappointment we highly suggest to book in advance.
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good26%
  • Average3%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“table service” (11 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
28 Milsom Street | Milsom Place, Bath BA1 1BZ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1225 667155
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"table service"
in 11 reviews
"underground bar"
in 3 reviews
"served quickly"
in 3 reviews
"cocktail bars"
in 3 reviews
"cocktail menu"
in 3 reviews
"a pre dinner drink"
in 2 reviews
"saturday evening"
in 2 reviews
"great cocktails"
in 3 reviews
"confessions"
in 5 reviews
"alcove"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

For a cheeky quiet cocktail with a few friends this is a really cool joint. Enough buzz to keep you going but not too much to get that table dance you know oh'so'well.. nice drinks, great service, standard prices. Perfect for a date before moving...More

Thank Dino L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

This place was awesome as a date place. The table service was great and the atmosphere in general was perfect. Successful date thanks to this place!

Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Whilst attempting to hunt for a bite to eat, myself and my partner wandered down in to the crypts to be welcomed to a cozy unexpected cocktail venue. The staff where very accommodating, though most of the tables where booked they found us a nice...More

1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Visited this bar while in bath for a couple drinks, the staff are really friendly and there is a good range of local beers. Staff were helpful when choosing what to drink and free table water. The venue is stunning also I would recommend going...More

Thank Warrick_005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We popped into the Confessional without a booking and although it was busy we were found a table immediately. We only had time for a quick drink as we were on our way to dinner. Good choice of cocktails served quickly by a cheerful waitress....More

Thank Beverley19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Went here for pre work Christmas dinner drinks. We had to book three months in advance to secure a table for an hour. I enjoyed the atmosphere and the space and the drinks were very good. It was just a shame that in the hour...More

Thank Bex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Was recommended by a friend and it didn't disappoint. Was fun just finding the place. Great cocktails / service and prices. Have to read some of the confessions......

Thank Paultaylor661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

A great bar if you want to wait over half an hour for an overpriced drink. But as my friends and I were there for celebratory drinks and our waiter was very pleasant, we didn't mind the bad service so much. But things got really...More

Thank Manthaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexb1982, Manager at The Confessional, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Hello Manthaaaaaa, when you came over was a Wednesday night and it wasn't busy. I am sorry to hear that you have been waiting long for you drinks and surely what you have been experienced wasn't our usual service. I do apologise for the behaviour...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We went here for a pre-dinner drink. The ambience and decor are great and it was a nice place to have a drink. We both had a cocktail which was very good, though I would say it did seem to take a long time to...More

Thank Lorddoglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexb1982, Manager at The Confessional, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Hello Lorddoglet, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time and drinks with us. We have few new staff members in training that's why most probably you were waiting for drinks. Our menu is predominantly focused our signature cocktail and few more classics, but...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

I booked a table here for my sisters birthday. In hindsight, even booking the table was hard work! I attempted to call a few times, 4 weeks before the booking, and no-one picked up. I then sent an email. Over a week later, I'd had...More

1  Thank FCAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexb1982, Manager at The Confessional, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Hello FCAW, I am sincerely sorry to hear that you had a so bad experience in our place. As I have mentioned on the review after yours, that we are looking daily for new high quality staff members and my focus is specifically on their...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PreviousNext
1234568
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 34 hotels in Bath
Harington's City Hotel
1,305 reviews
.11 km away
Hilton Bath City
3,008 reviews
.12 km away
Travelodge Bath Central
863 reviews
.17 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2,390 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Restaurants
CAU Bath
547 reviews
.06 km away
Cote Brasserie - Bath
1,090 reviews
.04 km away
The Ivy Bath Brasserie
251 reviews
.06 km away
Koh Thai Bath
763 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bath Postal Museum
70 reviews
.07 km away
Minerva Magic Theatre
60 reviews
.08 km away
Jolly's
42 reviews
.11 km away
St. Michael with St. Paul
15 reviews
.11 km away