We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Snape Maltings

Snape Bridge | Snape, Aldeburgh IP17 1SR, England
+44 1728 688303
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great place to dream...

Lovely place to visit and have a wonder. Many shops out of our price range but nice to look at all... read more

Reviewed 2 August 2017
sarahnathxander
via mobile
Not my scene

One member of the family had been long ago and wanted a return visit to see progress, which was... read more

Reviewed 31 July 2017
B F
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
Read all 570 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Snape Maltings is a place of energy and inspiration – a visitor destination of outstanding natural beauty and one of the world’s leading centres of music, founded by Suffolk-born composer Benjamin Britten. Visit this remarkable collection of redeveloped Victorian industrial buildings for world-class concerts and events, distinctive independent shops, cafes, galleries, walks and abundant wildlife, all set against a breathtaking expanse of reeds, water and sky.
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good43%
  • Average15%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“concert hall” (110 reviews)
“food hall” (26 reviews)
“art galleries” (17 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Snape Bridge | Snape, Aldeburgh IP17 1SR, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1728 688303
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"concert hall"
in 110 reviews
"food hall"
in 26 reviews
"art galleries"
in 17 reviews
"craft shop"
in 9 reviews
"reed beds"
in 21 reviews
"shopping experience"
in 11 reviews
"great shopping"
in 6 reviews
"farmers market"
in 16 reviews
"walk along the river"
in 10 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 36 reviews
"wonderful concert"
in 8 reviews
"music venue"
in 8 reviews
"retail outlets"
in 6 reviews
"few hours"
in 25 reviews
"christmas shopping"
in 7 reviews
"river trip"
in 9 reviews
"for sale"
in 15 reviews
Filter

91 - 100 of 567 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile

Lovely place to visit and have a wonder. Many shops out of our price range but nice to look at all the nice things. We did find the toy store reasonable and brought some lovely toys, with friendly staff in the toy store. There was...More

Thank sarahnathxander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017

One member of the family had been long ago and wanted a return visit to see progress, which was fair enough. We had to park in a field because it was so busy, but at least the parking attendants were helpful in our case. Most...More

Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnapeMaltings, Retail Administrator at Snape Maltings, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review and to highlight the things you did enjoy about your visit here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

Have been here a couple of times, have enjoyed wandering around in lovely settings. Had lunch at the little cafe at the front which was very good but was disappointed not to be able to find somewhere to eat there between 5 and 6.00 ish...More

Thank Beverley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2017

Could be / probably was lovely but now an overcrowded tourist destination of craft shops and eateries - a massive swerve away from the original aim of somewhere tranquil and culturally rich, off the beaten track. Parking attendants needed to direct traffic into nearby fields...More

Thank avonside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnapeMaltings, General Manager at Snape Maltings, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Thank you for your post. We are sorry if your experience felt overcrowded. You were here at peak season! We are looking at ways to reorganise car parking on site so that even at busy times we can recapture the tranquility that we all love...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017

I was attending a choral recital in April 2017. The seats were filling up and the event was around 10 from beginning. A man sitting a couple of rows in front of me was admiring the architecture of the roof (which is rather special) and...More

1  Thank GramBook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnapeMaltings, Public Relations Manager at Snape Maltings, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

We’re sorry that you experienced this at the concert hall. We do not permit photography of performances and there are clear signs displayed to explain this. However, on this occasion it does sound like our usher could have used his discretion. We’re positive this was...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Antique shop visit ... nothing more. It has all the usual cabinets and wide variety of objects to purchase.

Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Went to Snape Maltings with my wife and 1year old daughter as a trip out. Great furniture store there, but as other reviews note, it is all very expensive. Couldn't find a cafe, but there are signs for one there. Lots of interesting shops and...More

Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnapeMaltings, Retail Administrator at Snape Maltings, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Thank you for your feedback and are glad you enjoyed most aspects of your visit. We have 3 cafes so I am very sorry you were unable to locate one. I appreciate we are a large site, however there are site maps available and our...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile

Our second year in Suffolk and the second time we have visited this place. Admittedly we didn't take in any concerts or sample the food but the outlets as usual seem pricey. There is some nice stuff for sale particularly in the furniture and furnishings...More

1  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnapeMaltings, Retail Administrator at Snape Maltings, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile

Easy parking, best know for its classical consort hall, especially during the annual Aldeburgh festival. A vast array of quirky shops, also some good food shops selling local produce and a pub. Definitely worth a a visit.

Thank D2ROK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnapeMaltings, Retail Administrator at Snape Maltings, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2017

Thought we would have a good look around as we have heared a lot about it , but a waste of time , the water was more like mud, the prices were far to much

Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnapeMaltings, Retail Administrator at Snape Maltings, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Thank you for your review and sorry you did not enjoy visiting our site at low tide. However visitors interested in wading birds might find this a particularly good time to observe them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Aldeburgh
Rosemary Cottage
3 reviews
7.30 km away
The White Lion Hotel
1,571 reviews
7.33 km away
The White Horse Hotel
43 reviews
7.33 km away
Wentworth Hotel
721 reviews
7.34 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Plough & Sail
573 reviews
.05 km away
The Crown Inn
161 reviews
.62 km away
Granary Tea Room
73 reviews
.06 km away
The Golden Key
53 reviews
.67 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aldeburgh Music
42 reviews
.09 km away
Glemham Hall
13 reviews
4.84 km away
Long Shop Museum
86 reviews
7.30 km away
The Lettering & Commemorative Arts Trust
8 reviews
.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Colin V
October 22, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from SnapeMaltings | Property representative |
Dear Colin Well behaved dogs on leads are welcome on site but not in the shops nor Cafe 1885 and the Granary Tea Shop (except assistance dogs). The Granary Tea Shop has outside seating so if you wish to stop for... More
1
Vote
Elizabeth E
January 21, 2015|
Answer
Response from SnapeMaltings | Property representative |
Dear Elizabeth Thank you for your query. Around our shops there is a paved tegular path however the carpark is fine shingle. All our shops on the ground floor are accessible, in House & Garden our Café 1885 is located... More
0
Votes