We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Hoochie Coochie afternoon/evening SOSA.

Soul on a Sunday afternoon SOSA which is on the last Sunday of every month. Great music and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Maryfinley
,
Durham, United Kingdom
Cant wait to return!

First visit to this great club and very impressed. Saw the Fatback Band who were great. I thought... read more

Reviewed August 12, 2018
Andrea C
,
Uk
Read all 184 reviews
43
All photos (43)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good11%
  • Average3%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“northern soul”(12 reviews)
“great night”(18 reviews)
About
An city centre venue dedicated to Soul & Funk music exclusively. Regularly features high quality artists in an intimate environment, both national & International. Widest selection of spirits in Newcastle. Hoochie Coochie is a "not for profit...more
Contact
54-56 Pilgrim Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6SF, England
Website
+44 191 222 0130
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Newcastle upon Tyne
from US$10.80
More Info
from US$33.60
More Info
from US$33.60
More Info
from US$21.50
More Info
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
146
21
6
0
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
146
21
6
0
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern soulgreat atmospheregreat nightdance floorbar staff aresophisticated crowdnice mix of peopleolder crowdgreat clublast sundaysaturday nightstaff were pleasantsinging and dancingvisited for the first timeintimate venueall agescant wait
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Soul on a Sunday afternoon SOSA which is on the last Sunday of every month. Great music and friendly atmosphere, fab place to hang out.

Thank Maryfinley
Warren T, Manager at Hoochie Coochie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Mary for your very kind comments

Reviewed August 12, 2018

First visit to this great club and very impressed. Saw the Fatback Band who were great. I thought the drinks were reasonably priced for a city club, everyone was very friendly and cant wait to do a return visit.

1  Thank Andrea C
Warren T, Owner at Hoochie Coochie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Andrea for your kind comments.

Reviewed August 11, 2018

Great night on Friday, went to see The Fatback Band and they were excellent, have seen a fair few Groups/Solo Singers at the Hoochie Coochie and none of them had the audience singing and dancing as much as the Fatback Band.Two encores (one thanks to...More

1  Thank Bill R
Warren T, Owner at Hoochie Coochie, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Thanks Bill , glad you enjoyed. Does my head in folks talking over the band, but is happening in EVERY venue in the UK . Just the decline in good manners :)

Reviewed June 18, 2018

Was told of this bar a while ago and it didn't disappoint.only gripe was we were served and charged for double spirits without being asked...naughty. maybe just a young keen barman but I'm sure I didn't see him put 2 measures in:( Apart from that,...More

2  Thank susiec38
Warren T, Owner at Hoochie Coochie, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Hi glad you enjoyed the music. We only sell sprits in singles unless asked, except house doubles which are £6 . Maybe this is what you were served. If so , still wrong our customers must be asked single or double. So apologies if you've...More

Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

Visited first time Friday , even though it was empty me and my husband loved it , we stayed 3 hours the dj was fantastic,played all our old tunes , we were celebrating our 36 wedding anniversary and it was so emotional, thank you hoochie...More

Thank juliebeadle
Warren T, Owner at Hoochie Coochie, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2018

Hi Julie, glad you enjoyed it. Unfortunately Fri was unusually quiet , thank you for your kind review.

Reviewed May 22, 2018

We visited this on a Saturday. There was a fair amount of people. Looked like regulars having a good dance. I would say it was a little older but that should not put off those in their 20s. I would not stay all night but...More

2  Thank danchaofan
Warren T, Owner at Hoochie Coochie, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2018

Thank you for your review . Any age welcome here, provided you are a fan of black music. Thanks for the kind words

Reviewed May 6, 2018

Just had a fantastic 80,s soul might at hoochie coochie,fantastic people fantastic music,me feet are killing today as well as me head but all worth it,loved it.

Thank Coltompa
Warren T, Owner at Hoochie Coochie, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Thank you for your kind words Coltompa , delighted that you had a good time.

Reviewed April 16, 2018 via mobile

Have been out in Newcastle a few times over the last couple of years, and had some great times but none as good as last night where we danced the night away at this classy but quirky club. Music was a great mix of soul/funk...More

Thank Maudy11
Warren T, Owner at Hoochie Coochie, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Thank you Maudy for your really kind comments. Both myself & the team appreciate it. We do have fun & try to offer good service & funky vibes with it !

Reviewed April 14, 2018

Cam here for Jazzie B. He played a wonderful set which wasnt the same old same old retro playlist that some DJ's I could name play. Great venue with really good older crowd. I would come back

Thank SpikeChambers
Warren T, Owner at Hoochie Coochie, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

Thank you Spike, glad you enjoyed your evening

Reviewed April 7, 2018

It's a Soul venue. It's not a Soul venue. We play everything, We only play vinyls. You can leave flyers in the proper place. You need permission, so I can destroy them. NO I DON'T AND NO YOU CAN'T. I've been going to Soul venues...More

Thank christinetulip
Warren T, Owner at Hoochie Coochie, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

I know who you are, sad that you resort to this sort of thing. We are a black music venue & have been since day 1 - Soul, Funk, Jazz, Disco, Hip Hop & even a little Reggae . We have no problem with anyone...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 82 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Grey Street Hotel
129 reviews
.16 km away
Motel One Newcastle
654 reviews
.17 km away
Euro Hostel Newcastle
487 reviews
.21 km away
Surtees Hotel
628 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,380 restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Pani's
958 reviews
.04 km away
Paradiso
927 reviews
.05 km away
Las Iguanas - Newcastle
2,161 reviews
.08 km away
Barluga
544 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 396 attractions in Newcastle upon Tyne
Grey Street
1,098 reviews
.12 km away
Theatre Royal
870 reviews
.08 km away
Central Arcade
18 reviews
.18 km away
Tyneside Cinema
1,055 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
JoyceSutcliffeDawson
February 22, 2018|
Answer
Response from Warren T | Property representative |
On stage 9pm. All times are advertised on our website
0
Votes
wolf48
October 26, 2017|
Answer
Response from Warren T | Property representative |
All ptices for gigs are on our website.
1
Vote