We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dirty Duck

Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
+44 1789 297312
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Our favourite pub in Stratford (and dog friendly too)

We are local and have a handful of favourite dog friendly pubs and restaurants in Stratford and the... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Karen M
,
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
It's the Duck..!!

Reading the reviews, some people clearly don't get it.. The location is "Class", the staff I've... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Andy B
via mobile
Read all 247 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
This notorious tavern is still frequented by thirsty actors after an evening's performance at the Swan Theater.
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good25%
  • Average11%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“lovely pub” (12 reviews)
“lamb shank” (4 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
LOCATION
Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1789 297312
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

We are local and have a handful of favourite dog friendly pubs and restaurants in Stratford and the Dirty Duck is one of the best. There are often food promotions on and last night we took advantage of a burger deal - from £5 for...More

Thank Karen M
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for the review we are pleased you enjoyed your burgers this sunday we have a facebook offer £5.00 roasts and we love to see the Dogs also thanks again and see you very soon

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Reading the reviews, some people clearly don't get it.. The location is "Class", the staff I've always found to be "classy" and the place evolves throughout the year: in the summer it's plastic glasses and take your beer / wine down by the river and...More

Thank Andy B
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for a lovely review and the kind words and you enjoy the atmosphere and food the Actors bar is cosy and we do have a folk band playing once a month hope to see you soon again in the Duck

Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful setting and very good food. We visited and had home made pie, delicious and a fish mixed grill, so fresh tasting and not covered in batter or breadcrumbs. There is a lot of competition for eateries so good to see pubs not sticking to...More

Thank Sandra J
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review and you enjoyed the Fish mixed grill and the beef and ale pie come back for desserts in your next visit thanks Sam

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved it! Full of character, friendly bar staff, and the food looked excellent value! Pub is dog friendly and in a fantastic location for the RSC theatre. This is supposed to be the pub Shakespeare drank in (one of many since he loved a drink!)...More

Thank Tony M
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

thanks for joining us on fizz Friday and you liked the location thanks for pointing out the lighting I will look into this Sam

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a meal here before a show at the RSC. The food here was great both main meal and desert that I had. The staff were attentive and friendly. The pub itself was spacious and layed out nicely. Another great and enjoyable visit to another...More

Thank Jay B
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and you loved your visit hope you come to the pub again in the near future thanks Sam

Reviewed 15 January 2018

Had lunch here on Saturday afternoon we were staying for the weekend traveling with our miniature Dachshund and this time of year sometimes find it difficult to find restaurants that allow dogs in and it’s a bit cold to sit outside. Sat in the bar...More

Thank Leica_1965
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

thanks for the review and sorry that you had to wait for your mains

Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

We went as a family (three children - 8, 3 and 1) on a weekday evening for tea. The setting was lovely, they had a roaring fire etc. Steep steps to get to the pub, not pushchair/wheelchair friendly at all. It wasnt too busy, there...More

2  Thank Nicola N
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

thanks for the review and sorry for the wait

Reviewed 25 December 2017

A nice location and atmosphere. Ordinary food and standard drinks. It's okay - you won't be unhappy with it but it's not as good as it was in the past. Best for a drink with friends and eat only if you have no other choice.

1  Thank a_londoner_20121027
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

thanks for the review

Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

Six of us went for Christmas Day dinner today. The food was lukewarm at best, one of the meals didn't arrive. The landlord, Sam (I asked his name), stated that "we'd cancelled it" and tried to lay the blame on us. When the meal did...More

1  Thank jonesl31
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

thank you for taking the time to write your review

Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had a super Christmas day meal at the Dirty Duck today the food & service was fabulous my steak was blue as requested & melted in my mouth scrumptious. The only downside was it was a shame the family sat next...More

Thank CuthbertSJW
Sam P, Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your kind words you try to please everyone but sometimes this happens even on Christmas day but thank you for taking the time to write a review

PreviousNext
12345625
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 29 hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
The Arden Hotel
1,199 reviews
.08 km away
Thistle
4 reviews
.17 km away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
1,924 reviews
.20 km away
Stratheden Hotel
2 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Lambs Restaurant
1,938 reviews
.21 km away
Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar
3,143 reviews
.23 km away
The Opposition Bistro
1,481 reviews
.20 km away
No 9 Church St
852 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Royal Shakespeare Theatre
2,836 reviews
.13 km away
Hall's Croft
725 reviews
.25 km away
Swan Theatre
584 reviews
.09 km away
Tudor World
769 reviews
.21 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ryan B
12 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Leica_1965 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Yes the pub allows dogs in the bar areas
0
Votes
Kingy53
30 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from guinress | Reviewed this property |
A very good selection
1
Vote