We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Crown

188 High Street | Digbeth, Birmingham B12 0LD, England
+44 121 248 1368
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting historic building

Although the staff were friendly and helpful the food we ordered was awful. One of our party... read more

Reviewed 14 August 2017
Elaina F
,
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
let down

On the hottest day this year,. We took our dog in the courtyard, ordered beers and asked for a bowl... read more

Reviewed 29 May 2017
A TripAdvisor Member
via mobile
Read all 12 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Old Crown is Birmingham's oldest and friendliest pub est. 1368. The Old Crown has ten rooms, a cafe, a bar and a botanical themed gin garden stocking over 30 different gins. Open everyday from 8am - 1am the pub is situated in the heart of Digbeth. The pub has a busy events calendar with weekly quiz nights and award winning Peaky Tours taking place as well as being a popular nightspot with DJs playing every weekend and special events including Digbeth Oktoberfest, Digbeth Apres Ski, Digmas, outdoor cinemas and more taking place.
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good43%
  • Average0%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible16%
27 May 2017
“Great pub !! It's 700 years old ”
14 Aug 2017
“Interesting historic building”
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
LOCATION
188 High Street | Digbeth, Birmingham B12 0LD, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 121 248 1368
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Although the staff were friendly and helpful the food we ordered was awful. One of our party ordered a steak to be medium rare but it was delivered as just under well done. he rest of us had fish and chips which was cold, overcooked...More

Thank Elaina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kieran1368, Manager at The Old Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Hi Elaina Sorry to hear you weren't happy with your food. Could you please send an e-mail to trisha@theoldcrown.com so we can talk through this further. Best, Kieran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

On the hottest day this year,. We took our dog in the courtyard, ordered beers and asked for a bowl of water for the dog. Reply: Weve had the bowls nicked cant help. Fair enough, we've had good food and service in the past ....More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kieran1368, Manager at The Old Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Hi there. Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. My name is Kieran and I am the General Manager of the pub. As an independent pub we pride ourselves on customer service so are really saddened to hear about your negative experience. We...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

This place is great. Wonderful beer garden and nice atmosphere on a sunny Friday night .. nice dj too This place is 200 years older than Henry VIII .. you have go here !!More

Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kieran1368, Manager at The Old Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Hi Stuart Thanks for your positive feedback. I will be sure to pass your comments onto the rest of the team. Our summer 2017 events kick off from the 24th June so keep your eyes on our Facebook page and we hope to see you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Visited the Old Crown for a few drinks on Saturday early evening. Was met by empty wine bottle, food scraps and empty glasses on the floor at entrance door. Bar maids chose to serve those they knew before us even though we were obviously next....More

Thank 59carolann26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kieran1368, Manager at The Old Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Hi Carolann My name is Kieran and I am the General Manager of The Old Crown. As an independent pub we pride ourselves on customer service so are deeply saddened that you had such a negative experience. On the weekend in question there was a...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

I was few days in Birmingham and this was best pub. It is really old pub with good music and great beer and food!!!! :)More

Thank Matko V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kieran1368, Public Relations Manager at The Old Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Hi Matko V Thanks for your five star review. As an independent pub we pride ourselves on our customer serivce and love recieving feedback, especially when it's positive! I will pass your coments onto the rest of the team and hope to see you again...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Arrived at this place to be told my room had been cancelled. Even though I rang on Thursday to make sure everything ok which it was. They are now doing refurbishments on the place what a joke to be stranded in a city I've never...More

Thank sharonhopkins33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

This is a very unique and individual pub cum B & B steeped in history. We stayed overnight as we were attending a concert. Its about a 20 minute walk from the Bullring and all Birmingham has to offer. They were hosting an Oktobefest style...More

Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kieran1368, Public Relations Manager at The Old Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Hi Mandy, Thanks for your feedback. We are in the process of making changes to our rooms but unfrotunately due to the historic nature of the building we are limited to what we can do with the walls upstairs. I will be sure to pass...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

This is by far the best pub I found in the area (the rest are proper dumps) Served really nice pint of Hobgoblin The food was good too

Thank 20,051,961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

just loved this place....all the history in the place is so amazing, felt so relax, we enjoyed the tales from local folk....brummies are just a joy, all have a tale with a warm smile.....made our trip xxx

Thank betty w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kieran1368, Owner at The Old Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2016

HI Betty, Many thanks for your kind words. We hope to see you again very soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2015

two day's stay [sure bathroom?] good food very friendly staff more on offer if needed? nice pub as well, best breakfast ever.

Thank robert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PreviousNext
12
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 119 hotels in Birmingham
Rowton Hotel Birmingham
145 reviews
.46 km away
Aparthotel Adagio Birmingham City Centre
297 reviews
.54 km away
PREMIER SUITES Birmingham
261 reviews
.73 km away
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
486 reviews
.73 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Rico Libre
967 reviews
.31 km away
Digbeth Dining Club
99 reviews
.06 km away
The Mockingbird Cinema and Kitchen
99 reviews
.08 km away
Brekkie & Burger Co
35 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
St. Martin in the Bull Ring
436 reviews
.70 km away
Birmingham Rag Market
137 reviews
.73 km away
Brum Tours
333 reviews
.02 km away
Matrix Virtual Reality
78 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Old Crown staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit