We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Night Owl

17-18 Lower Trinity Street | Digbeth, Birmingham B9 4AG, England
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Incredible and unique venue

The Night Owl is a real hidden gem - a completely unique venue where you're welcomed with a smile... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Soph95456
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Amazing Night - Safe and Fun!

Had an amazing Saturday night with a group of friends in the newly discovered [For me] Night owl... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
martinaldridge1966
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Read all 28 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good7%
  • Average3%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“northern soul” (9 reviews)
“bar prices” (3 reviews)
“amazing night” (2 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
17-18 Lower Trinity Street | Digbeth, Birmingham B9 4AG, England
CONTACT
Website
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

The Night Owl is a real hidden gem - a completely unique venue where you're welcomed with a smile! Music is great, caters to all tastes but still keeps retro music at the core of the night. Loved every minute of it!

Thank Soph95456
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an amazing Saturday night with a group of friends in the newly discovered [For me] Night owl. Music choice was brilliant from Park Life to The Clapping Song - I really can't say I heard a dud tune all night. £6 to get in...More

Thank martinaldridge1966
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing place, great vibes, excellent music and staff were brillient. Fantastic night out! Highly recommend a visit if you are in Digbeth.

Thank James Anderson B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment we walked in. We felt very relaxed. Such a good vibe. Most every body was the for the same reason. To dance. All ages were in there. And never once did I feel any bad vibes. I'll definitely be going back for...More

Thank Paul H
MazCakes, Public Relations Manager at The Night Owl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Paul glad you enjoyed Le Freak, it's on the last Friday of every month so come back soon! Also check out our other events at nightowlbirmingham.com :)

Reviewed 3 January 2018

Having been a Birmingham clubber since the late 90's, I've been to just about every club the city has to offer. The Night Owl has been bringing something completly different to the city for a while now and I am never disappointed with the party...More

Thank Danny S
MazCakes, Public Relations Manager at The Night Owl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Danny for taking the time to write such lovely comments, come back soon! Check our upcoming events at nightowlbirmingham.com :)

Reviewed 13 December 2017

Came here with a group of friends after work, first time visiting and I must say it won't be the last. Served by a lady called Lydia, very helpful and friendly. Cool place, awesome smoking area, we will definitely be back soon for the good...More

Thank Urbansoul1
MazCakes, Public Relations Manager at The Night Owl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to write such lovely comments, come back soon! Check our upcoming events at nightowlbirmingham.com :)

Reviewed 10 December 2017

Came to the night owl for a student night and was very disappointed. Staff were very, very rude on the door and at the bar. Had to pay in cash, silly as almost all places accept card for entry. Bar staff were so so slow,...More

Thank sue678493
MazCakes, Public Relations Manager at The Night Owl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Annie, sorry you had a bad time, this was not our event, it was not our choice to have cash only etc. Drinks were very cheap with lots of £2 offers, what you describe is not accurate, the toilets were flooded by attendees (no...More

Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

Been planning on going here for a long time. Well worth a visit. Had a really good night, good music (soul train). Great atmosphere and a good crowd of people. Liked the layout of the place and the vibe. The dance off was good fun....More

Thank Krystena J
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

This is a cool and stylish northern soul venue. With the disc's spinning and the dance floor rocking its the place to be on a Friday night.

Thank KevinMadras
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We had never been before so booked and paid to see the band advertised from 7.30 -10.30. After that you can apparently stay for free!! We arrived at 7.40pm and were told at reception that the band normally start at 8.30pm. That seemed ok so...More

Thank Juliet H
PreviousNext
123
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 118 hotels in Birmingham
Rowton Hotel Birmingham
140 reviews
.56 km away
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
485 reviews
.61 km away
Aparthotel Adagio Birmingham City Centre
297 reviews
.68 km away
PREMIER SUITES Birmingham
261 reviews
.88 km away
Nearby Restaurants
MyLahore
1,794 reviews
.47 km away
Rico Libre
965 reviews
.34 km away
Digbeth Dining Club
97 reviews
.13 km away
The Mockingbird Cinema and Kitchen
98 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Custard Factory
106 reviews
.16 km away
Brum Tours
333 reviews
.19 km away
Matrix Virtual Reality
72 reviews
.21 km away
Teamworks Karting Birmingham
190 reviews
.33 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MazCakes
Hi Annie I'm sorry you had a bad experience in The Night Owl, I am the promoter of the club but this event was run by Aston Uni Brumski, they were responsible for the door, the organiser was nice and polite but many of the attendees caused us problems. Drinks prices included £2.50 for a spirit n mixer or bottle of Sol which seems reasonable to me. Attendees of the event plugged the toilets leaving the taps on, as no other attendees turned them off or reported the incident the club was flooded and this is why we had to close. The majority of attendees of the night were incredibly rude and abusive to our staff, this may have accounted for some of the delays as they were working in terrible conditions, we simply are not used to this kind of bad behaviour, we have had plenty of student nights before and never had any problems. We have CCTV footage showing how the night went down and we conducted ourselves in a friendly and professional manner. I have also private messaged you but I would encourage you to visit on another night, if you'd like to arrange this please email me on the email address I sent to you. Apologies again, we are not used to people having bad experiences in our club as we have a great reputation for friendly staff and fun atmosphere. Our drinks are also cheaper than any other club in Digbeth to my knowledge. Please feel free to drop me an email and I hope that you'll feel inclined to update your review. Thanks Mazzy
12 December 2017|
Answer
Response from MazCakes |
The water had flooded through the fuse box, if we had stayed open people could have died so we spoke to the promoter and agreed to close.
0
Votes
Gareth M
12 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Tracey P | Reviewed this property |
I'm not 100 % sure about that. They do have a website, though so you could email to ask
1
Vote
PreviousNext
12