We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

French Brothers

Closed Now: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
430
All photos (430)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“boat trip”(116 reviews)
“cream tea”(53 reviews)
“minute trip”(49 reviews)
About
Boat trips on the river Thames. Public trips depart from Windsor Promenade, Maidenhead Promenade and the Runnymede Boathouse (please refer to the MAPS section of our website). The address listed here refers to office and administration only.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
See all hours
Contact
Clewer Court Road | The Clewer Boathouse, Windsor SL4 5JH, England
Website
+44 1753 851900
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Windsor
from US$11.77
More Info
from US$27.74
More Info
from US$90.27
More Info
Reviews (974)
Filter reviews
964 results
Traveller rating
582
264
72
27
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
582
264
72
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat trip cream tea minute trip top deck hour cruise boveney lock lovely trip interesting commentary pre recorded commentary steam boat running commentary friendly crew recommend this trip windsor racecourse return journey magna carta hampton court
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 964 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here for my sisters 21st birthday and despite turning up on time for the last journey, we were turned away as the session had been privately booked, but we were never told this. Therefore all the money we spent getting to Windsor was for...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank m-l-mcroy2000
Mark T, Manager at French Brothers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. Readers of this review should understand that the version of events described in the review are completely different from the results of the investigation made by the Management of French Brothers involving several staff witnesses and critically CCTV footage. It...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked French brothers for our Christmas party and although we had a good night as it was a great bunch of people we shouldn’t have bothered with the boat and had it somewhere else. The food was awful, a grilled turkey breast in a slightly...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank FarAway801612
Mark T, Manager at French Brothers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We cater for the individual dietary requirements of guests on each event to ensure that their dietary needs are met. The dietary requirements were confirmed to us on the 30th November. This included dairy free and gluten free meals along...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were debating whether to take the 45 minute trip but opted for the 2 hour excursion. Glad we did! Very friendly crew with at seat drinks service. Informative commentary and so many different things to see. Rock star and ballerinas homes, former film studio,...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank John M
Reviewed December 11, 2018

We enjoyed the tranquility of being on the water. Very informative staff. It was lovely for us to see how the locks worked.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank tica56
Reviewed December 4, 2018

had a wonderful saturday dinner time ride down the Thames. Well worth the £9.00. Drinks on board not over priced and the staff were very friendly. Evan though it was raining well worth a visit.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank david t
Reviewed November 20, 2018 via mobile

There Is much Better places in Town I will not suggest It....... Cheap food cheap service...boring Place Not returning...avoid

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank argentinao2017
Mark T, Manager at French Brothers, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2018

You have appeared to review us by mistake, we are a boat company and not a restaurant.

Reviewed November 17, 2018 via mobile

Such a good price for a 40 minute boat trip. Good pre-recorded commentary telling you about what you can see.... although there was a loud group on our boat so struggled to hear it at times. Beautiful views of the castle from a distance but...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank foodiedwkp
Reviewed November 11, 2018

We would have gone on the longer trip from Windsor, but only had time for the 40 minute one. Still, it was lovely, and I appreciated the commentary, and was able to see a bit of Eaton this way, too. Boys were running cross country...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Barbara M
Reviewed November 11, 2018 via mobile

Nice little boat trip, a bit pricey for the duration of whole trip. Overall ok, like the local information about some spots.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank danish_raja
Reviewed November 10, 2018

A wonderfully relaxing experience, 'Living in the moment',with a most interesting commentary. It was a beautiful sunny day, and a peaceful trip. The crew were friendly and experienced. We would now like to take a longer trip next year, and thoroughly recommend the cruise.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Lynda B
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 nearby hotels
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2,169 reviews
.11 km away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
1,137 reviews
.27 km away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
1,762 reviews
.28 km away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
3,217 reviews
.34 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 290 nearby restaurants
The George Inn
536 reviews
.15 km away
Crown & Cushion
131 reviews
.16 km away
Flaming Cow
691 reviews
.14 km away
Watermans Arms
200 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 103 nearby attractions
St. George's Chapel
2,441 reviews
.23 km away
Tastes Delicatessen
18 reviews
.24 km away
Theatre Royal Windsor
1,495 reviews
.13 km away
Windsor Royal Station
127 reviews
.19 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jenno-10
November 10, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from mario C | Reviewed this property |
Hi, It might be best to contact them or go on their website. Phone number is 01753 851900.Have a nice trip and enjoy it
0
Votes
Jane R
July 16, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mark T | Property representative |
For departures from Maidenhead Promenade you can park across the road in the pay & display next to Jenners Cafe, or the car park at Boulters Lock which is about a 3 or 4 min walk. Babies and buggies are welcome on all our... More
0
Votes
shrutichauhan100
August 29, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from MarcFranceDublin | Reviewed this property |
You'll have to check directly with them...
0
Votes