We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1940s Swansea Bay

Baldwin's Crescent | Crymlyn Burrows, Swansea SA1 8PT, Wales
+44 1792 458864
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Hard to Summerise

Having driven past the Museum several times and called on a previous occasion to find it closed we... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Mordwywr
,
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Worth a visit

We visited this place on our recent trip to Wales. The museum is easy to find and well sign-posted... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Lucie K
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 104 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Our indoor street scene will take you back in time to the 1940s. Walk past the RAF Operations Room, through the Air Raid Shelter and the Wartime pub to the Warden's Post and grocer's shop. Learn about Rationing and watch newsreels. Clothes and uniforms and a quiz for the youngsters. Open daily 10am last admission 3pm - Evenings tours and paranormal investigations available by booking. A day of interactive lessons and fun for KS2+3 school trips. WI, Round Table, Probus and other groups welcome.
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good33%
  • Average9%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“swansea bay” (22 reviews)
“street scene” (4 reviews)
“world war” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Baldwin's Crescent | Crymlyn Burrows, Swansea SA1 8PT, Wales
CONTACT
Website
+44 1792 458864
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"swansea bay"
in 22 reviews
"street scene"
in 4 reviews
"world war"
in 6 reviews
"re enactors"
in 2 reviews
"follow the signs"
in 2 reviews
"small museum"
in 3 reviews
"interesting place"
in 2 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 3 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 4 reviews
"ww2"
in 11 reviews
"school"
in 14 reviews
"exhibits"
in 21 reviews
"blitz"
in 3 reviews
"warden"
in 4 reviews
"army"
in 3 reviews
"bombing"
in 4 reviews
"realistic"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Having driven past the Museum several times and called on a previous occasion to find it closed we decided to give it another shot. The entrance fee of £5.95 pp was not excessive considering the ticket could be retained and used several times. Staff were...More

Thank Mordwywr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Manager at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We've tried to explain to several customers recently that many, many thousands of schoolchildren visit from September to July. Our last school was yesterday with over 80, and we are now able to start our deep clean ready for the next season starting in barely...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this place on our recent trip to Wales. The museum is easy to find and well sign-posted and everyone was extremely welcoming. They provided water for our dog and also allowed our dog to go in (including in the shelter where she wouldn't...More

Thank Lucie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Manager at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. During this heatwave it is cooler inside our Street so we are getting visitors, and those on 4 legs are most welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

John showed us around,he was very friendly and enthusiastic. It was very interesting learning lots about world war 2 and what people had to go through. In the street,there was a pub called the 3 lamps.You can have a go on the piano and when...More

Thank william212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited the 1940s Swansea Bay Museum - Privately owned - what a great experince to step back in time to the 1940s - RAF ops room -Bombed House- Street Scene - Pub - Warden Post - dressing up clothes - Photos - Cinema -and more...More

1  Thank GertrudePerkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Manager at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks Ms Perkins for leaving your review. The Storyline Trail using the QR code links to videos has proved very popular. We're hoping to expand further this summer with new displays and exhibitions on The Great War and also the Anglo Zulu Wars of 1879,...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2017

This is a very small museum portraying wartime Swansea, which suffered bombing during the blitz on the docks and housing. Though small it is run by genuine enthusiasts, who also have special events, with uniforms etc. There is a section where you can dress in...More

1  Thank BarryNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2017

Called here when staying along Swansea Waterfront. The museum is like a Tardis , plenty to see and we particularly liked the dressing up outfits and hats. A friendly member of staff at the entrance who explained about the museum. The museum is a fascinating...More

Thank MorgyGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2017

We had driven 2 hours and came from Australia to find the CLOSED sign on the door due to a school group how very disappointed and annoyed we four we.More

Thank Barry Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Manager at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

Due to a member of staff being absent we went ahead with the pre-booked school visit but weren't able to have someone full time on reception. We did answer the telephone and emails and the two couples that 'phoned from the car park and the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2017

We visited a few years ago. I love all the history relating to ww1, ww2 and collieries etc. So much time and effort has gone into this museum. Realistic views on what happened during war time.

1  Thank deborahcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

Although a little cloudy...and the tide was out. Many possibilities...there is a good flat footpath all along the bay ...next to the beach...nice little cafe .....did not get to sample city life it was Sunday and mostly closed. .non the less a good walk and...More

2  Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2017

Thanks for your kind words about Swansea Bay, as members of the local tourist trade association I completely agree that this area is a fantastic place to visit and enjoy all year round, in all weathers. We are the 1940s Swansea Bay museum, telling the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2017

My girlfriend and I visited the 1940's museum in Swansea a couple of weeks back. On arrival, the gates were locked, even though the opening times online suggested they'd be open. The answerphone message said they were closed due to a house clearance. Really, there...More

Thank garethgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 22 hotels in Swansea
The Towers Hotel & Spa
703 reviews
1.75 km away
Ibis Swansea
870 reviews
1.92 km away
Village Hotel Swansea
2,134 reviews
2.59 km away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
1,671 reviews
3.01 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Pavilion
15 reviews
3.31 km away
Diablos SA1
270 reviews
3.17 km away
The River House
305 reviews
3.27 km away
coast cafe
167 reviews
3.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Virgin Active Glamorgan
6 reviews
3.31 km away
Swansea Museum
184 reviews
3.70 km away
Dylan Thomas Centre
108 reviews
3.54 km away
National Waterfront Museum
474 reviews
3.78 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
latix
June 4, 2018|
Answer
Response from John T | Property representative |
Hello, it's £6.95 for Adults, £5.95 for anyone in full-time education or unwaged / retired. Under 5s are Free. Family £23.00 All tickets include re-admission for 8 weeks Trip Advisor takes hours to forward messages, for a... More
0
Votes