We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 2-4 Winecellar Entry | 2 High Street, Belfast BT1 1QN, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
+44 28 9024 3080
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 23:00

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 154 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 68
    Excellent
  • 37
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 14
    Terrible
Hidden Gem

Lovely wee atmospheric pub with very tasty pub grub reasonably priced right in the heart of Belfast.

Reviewed 12 February 2017
DerryBelladonna
,
derry
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 146: English reviews
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

What a great find! This pub, hidden down an alleyway, was our favourite stop in Belfast. Food and service were fantastic. Try to grab the spot in front of the fireplace :)

Helpful?
Thank Teensy_teens
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

These guys do a great lunch deal! My partner and I got very decent sized meals for their lunch special with a soft drink included. The atmosphere is calm and friendly and the waitstaff are friendly and very helpful despite being busy. We will definitely visit again!

Helpful?
Thank Kokoo44
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Forget the Irish stew! I tried it in two other places in Belfast... The daube of beef I just had here was the best I had in years! The meat just melts in your mouth! And the service is friendly prompt and makes you feel like home ;-) definitely would like to recommend! Thanks to Siobhan I had full history... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hanczi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

First time in White's, and didnt disappoint,absolutely beautiful old pub,loved the atmosphere,great service and food was yum'

Helpful?
Thank Lorena L
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Really busy, but got a table. Great place to people watch, although it was so noisy we couldn't hear each other speak. Music was excellent and service was speedy. Felt very at ease and our English guests really loved the atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank pamelagF8232QX
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Many of the players in the pipe band I was in Ireland to see were from Belfast, & White's was their "go to" place. It was easy to find, & very close to our hotel. When I first went in I thought, "Oh, we'll never all fit in here!" But we did! There was amazing atmosphere, good food (best tomato... More 

Helpful?
Thank evelynhazzard
derry
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely wee atmospheric pub with very tasty pub grub reasonably priced right in the heart of Belfast.

Helpful?
Thank DerryBelladonna
Belfast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2016

I was so amazed booked this for two for Saturday 17 December. Out of the blue for me . Staff were amazing . Went in at 6 45 and thought I'm in the wrong place ?? It was bunged but when I asked about my table he called me by my name got my table and well done to everyone.... More 

Helpful?
Thank BelfastMarie
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Downstairs in this place is great. We booked for our Christmas doo. Were informed there would be live music. There wasn't. Imagine Christmas Byker Grove. That's what upstairs in this place is like. No Christmas music, no decorations, no Christmas atmosphere, no resemblance to downstairs. Big group couldn't even sit together, toilets were awful, food was fine but decent Christmas... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Andrew. Where and when were you in for your Christmas dinner? We had live music all weekend as we always do. We had live music on from 7pm until after midnight, so I'm confused by that comment. Upstairs is run as a separate business to Whites which is why it looks different to downstairs and it had a Christmas... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

I am a 57 year old man and have joined this trip site to say how much I throughly enjoy my time here. My wife and I along with 2 friends were recommended here by a friend while on holiday for the weekend. We did have to send all of our food back as it was only mildly warm however,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ian67234
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Ian, thanks for the comment and feedback. Glad you enjoyed your time at Whites. I'm sorry our food wasn't warm enough for you - I'll certainly feed this back to our Kitchen staff. Emma was indeed your server that day and I'll be sure to pass on the lovely comment. Thanks for getting in touch. More 

Travellers who viewed White's Tavern also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to White's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of White's Tavern and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from White's Tavern staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?