We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Features Animals
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Barcaldine, Oban PA37 1SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
+44 1631 720386
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
Description:

Join us for a great family day out in the stunning surroundings of Loch...

Join us for a great family day out in the stunning surroundings of Loch Creran. Visit the Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, home to a spectacular aquarium as well as Scotland's leading Seal Hospital.

Journey through over 50 marine displays and get up close to majestic sharks, graceful rays and enchanting seahorses. Meet our adorable seals and hear the touching stories behind their rescues or visit our playful otters. Look out for rare red squirrels and other local wildlife as you explore our Nutkins Nature Trail or have an adventure in our Forest Adventure Play Area. Afterwards, take a well-deserved rest in our Shoreline Coffee Shop and soak up the best views of Loch Creran.

With fun talks and feeding displays as well as so much to see and do, there's plenty for the whole family to enjoy whatever the weather!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 768 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 286
    Excellent
  • 223
    Very good
  • 116
    Average
  • 55
    Poor
  • 38
    Terrible
Good for a couple of hours

A good stop for a couple of hours, we had a voucher but think it would be overpriced otherwise. Animals were well looked after and the staff were superb. Some subtle mentions of... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
C E
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

768 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 718: English reviews
Dyce
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We spent several hours here on Easter Sunday with our two grandchildren ages 6 & 4. Staff were all polite and friendly and more than happy to answer questions. We have visited twice in previous years and have always had a good day. There is lots to see and do. Scenery is spectacular.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your lovely review of our Sanctuary, it's great to read that you're a regular visitor. It's also brilliant to read that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful as we pride ourselves on delivering great customer service. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We are so disappointed with the sea life sanctuary. It's so expensive for very little to see and do. There was a few tanks of fish and the seals were lovely but no otters to be seen and the cafe had no ambience, food not great and choice Poor ! Makes me feel sad really

Helpful?
Thank Annmaree B
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi, On a positive note it's great that you enjoyed seeing our seals. It's disappointing to read that you felt we are expensive. We have a wide variety of discounts available through both our promotional partners and our own website, which offers 30% off tickets booked online. In addition to this our tickets are valid for free return entry within... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

With 3 adults and a 5 year old granddaughter a day out at the Oban Sealife Sanctuary does not come cheap. Whilst there are a number of tanks housing indigenous species to the UK , there are far too many allocated to tropical fish, amphibians and reptiles. The only area that held our granddaughters attention for any length of time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill H
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review our Sanctuary. On a positive note it's great that your granddaughter enjoyed watching our seals being fed. We do have a wide variety of discount offers available through both our promotional partners and our own website which offers 30% off tickets booked online. In addition to this all our tickets are valid... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was a disappointing visit to what could be a great attraction for the area. Firstly, admissions prices. We'd paid £20 for an itison voucher for the four of us. If I'd turned up on the door and paid the standard entry of £45 for a family ticket I would have felt more than aggrieved. The tanks take less than... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gallusliv27
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi, Apologies you felt we were too expensive. We do have a wide variety of discounts available, including through our promotional partners like the one you purchased, and through our own website which offers 30% off tickets booked online, meaning a family of 4 ticket on the website is only £31.50. It is slightly misleading for you to claim that... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely disappointed with our visit today. We we went with our 10 week old baby in a pram and we were left dismayed that the facility is not suitable for prams. We had to lift our buggy up the stairs to see the tanks etc. In this day in age we should not of had to do this. God help... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuart K
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi, We have responded to your complaint made via email in relation to this incident. Kind regards, More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great day out kids loved it,great location(we managed to bus it from Oban) Staff are friendly and approachable

Helpful?
Thank Martin M
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your lovely review of our Sanctuary, it's great to read that you and your kids enjoyed your visit. It's also brilliant that you found our staff to be friendly and approachable as customer service is one of our top priorities. We hope you'll visit us again soon. Kind regards, More 

Middlezoy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very friendly staff who spent time explaining about the animals they have. Lovely setting down by the loch side.

Helpful?
Thank JeanC1949
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your lovely review of our Sanctuary. It's great that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope you'll visit us again soon. Kind regards, More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A good stop for a couple of hours, we had a voucher but think it would be overpriced otherwise. Animals were well looked after and the staff were superb. Some subtle mentions of Merlin (as in Warwick castle owners) which could explain the high prices.

Helpful?
Thank C E
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review our Sanctuary. It's great that you were able to take advantage of one of the many discount offers we have available. It's also great that you felt our animals were well looked after and were so impressed with our staff. Apologies you felt we were overpriced, we are priced in line with... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent a full day here enjoying the experience. The aquarium is well organised with plenty of activities for children of all ages. The staff have an excellent knowledge of their subject and communicate well at the special sessions held throughout the day. We visited on a wet day and were able to spend most of the day indoors. However... More 

Helpful?
Thank NicRay68
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review our Sanctuary. On a positive note, it's great that you enjoyed your visit and felt there were plenty of activities for children. It's also great to read that you felt our staff were friendly and knowledgeable as customer service is one of our top priorities here. Apologies that you felt the puddles... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this for the first time. It is fairly small although they are doing works to extend it. We arrived at 10:30am along with two coaches of people. Having paid online for our tickets we walked through with no queue. Firstly we saw the otter being fed, only one here at this time. Then we visited the seals, who... More 

Helpful?
Thank A C
Kathryn A, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review our Sanctuary. It's great that you enjoyed seeing our otter feed and watching our rays. Apologies there were no hotdogs available when you visited, we will pass your feedback on to our coffee shop staff. We hope you'll visit us again in future. Kind regards, More 

Travellers who viewed The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?