We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Andrews Aquarium

#15 of 54 things to do in St Andrews Features Animals
The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland
+44 1334 474786
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A bit disappointed

Not great to be honest...not a lot to see. We were in for around 45 mins and that was going back... read more

Reviewed 18 March 2017
Kerrymac83
via mobile
Not great

The aquarium had nice seals and meerkats, wasn't very big was only took 15mins to get in and out... read more

Reviewed 7 March 2017
Julieanne O
,
County Cork, Ireland
Read all 410 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Step through our doors and be transported into an underwater world of adventure and discovery. Come face to face with some of the most beautiful, fascinating and dangerous creatures of the watery worlds. From British sharks to spiders, lobsters to lionfish, poison dart frogs to piranhas, loveable seals...... and not to forget our fabulous meerkats. Get up close and personal with our daily interactive demonstrations which include Seal feeding at 12 noon and 3pm, Penguin feeding at 2pm, reptile and snake handling sessions at 11.20am and 2.20pm and an informative talk and feeding sessions with our family of Meerkats at 12.20pm and 3.20pm.
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good24%
  • Average24%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
Opens in 5 min
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 18:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1334 474786
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 60 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Not great to be honest...not a lot to see. We were in for around 45 mins and that was going back to see things a few times. Really don't feel it's very good value for money. Even with the option to return same day...why would...More

Thank Kerrymac83
Andrew W, Curator at St Andrews Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

I'm sorry that you were disappointed with the length of your visit. We always suggest that if you have the time available it's a great idea to see at least some of the talks and feedings. To be honest the all day ticket wasn't meant...More

Reviewed 7 March 2017

The aquarium had nice seals and meerkats, wasn't very big was only took 15mins to get in and out. Not worth the money to go and see.More

Thank Julieanne O
Andrew W, Curator at St Andrews Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

I'm glad you liked the Seals, I'm sure they are feeling a bit left out after the Penguins arrived and knocked them off their top spot of visitor's favorites. I'm sorry you had such a short visit. If you have the time it's always good...More

Reviewed 18 February 2017

We received a voucher for the aquarium as a Christmas present. We wouldn't have went otherwise as we are an hour away. Parking was a nightmare - I spent 15 minutes waiting for someone to leave so I could get that spot. Obviously going on...More

2  Thank michaeladow
Andrew W, Curator at St Andrews Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

I'm sorry that you found your visit too busy. St Andrews is a tourist town and unfortunately that means it gets very busy at holiday times. There is a 157 space car park on our doorstep at the Bruce Embankment with a further 780 car...More

Reviewed 16 February 2017

Must admit I went not expecting much but ended up thoroughly enjoying myself, the place does have its fault(that's the 4*) it is needing updating and a bit small, but the seals were fantastic characters and the relationship with the keeper was brill to see....More

Thank Karlg1970
Andrew W, Curator at St Andrews Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Thank you for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed yourselves. This is the sort of job where the animals you work with are family. I often find myself having to count to 10 before replying to reviews which suggest that we don't have their...More

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We visited for my daughters birthday. The animal enclosures seemed too small for the creatures contained within them, especially the reptiles. The whole centre was freezing cold, uncomfortably so for my wee girl and the meerkats looked cold too huddling under heat lamps. We went...More

1  Thank 652charlottej
Andrew W, Curator at St Andrews Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Please be assured that all of our enclosures are built to exacting specifications and were inspected by an external zoo licensing team earlier this month. Some animals simply don't use much room. Like our Snapping Turtle who only moves a few times a day. He's...More

Reviewed 9 February 2017

Had booked an Itson Offer and although it stated that it was suitable for wheelchairs it most certainly isn't. I understand the building is old but it should clearly not say it is suitable. We visited yesterday and first of all there was a very...More

Thank Catrina M
Andrew W, Curator at St Andrews Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

I am sorry that you had difficulties with your visit. Due to the age and location of the building our wheelchair access is never going to be great. Especially, when compared to modern purpose designed buildings which aren't built into 30m tall cliff faces. We...More

Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Came with my girlfriend for a visit. We had a great short visit to the aquarium feeling like children again despite the fact we're 23 and 20. The penguins provided great entertainment as well as the meerkats and was impressed with the sheer size of...More

Thank Cammy210793
Reviewed 3 February 2017

We came early on a weekday, and out of season, so it wasn't busy (which suited us). The staff were all very knowledgable and understanding with our 19 month daughter too. We met one of the bearded dragons, saw the seals being fed and also...More

Thank KingLouie69
Andrew W, Curator at St Andrews Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your kind words. You will be pleased to hear that we are ripping out the screens and replacing them with new lightboxes. They seemed like a good idea at the time but sadly they don't stand...More

Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Visited today with my wife and 2.5 year old. Really enjoyable visit. Yes it's small bu being able to come and go as many times as you want through the day is a great idea. Went for the seal and meerkat feeding then went for...More

Thank steggyboy
Andrew W, Curator at St Andrews Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Really glad that you enjoyed your visit. For me too the talks and feedings are the best bits and I always encourage folks to see them if they can. Yes unfortunately, Debbie will have to be re-homed. Basically, the rules say that we are not...More

Reviewed 18 January 2017

Went over the holidays with my kids, enjoyable day out with various things that will keep all ages interested.

Thank meandfamily2016
Andrew W, Curator at St Andrews Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Thank you for your review; we are glad that you all had an enjoyable day.

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Playfair's Restaurant
805 reviews
.19 km away
The Seafood Ristorante
1,057 reviews
.05 km away
Restaurant at The Russell
226 reviews
.14 km away
Golfer's Corner Lounge Bar at Dunvegan
293 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Swilcan Bridge
553 reviews
.43 km away
St Andrews West Sands Beach
508 reviews
.21 km away
University of St Andrews
168 reviews
.38 km away
British Golf Museum
268 reviews
.12 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ruthpatersonx
24 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Fraser K | Property representative |
Your entry fee is included in the price of the feeding experience...any other visitors would need to pay however.
1
Vote