We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Historical Walking Tours of Dublin

Trinity College front gate, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
+353 87 688 9412
Call
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16.17*
and up
Dublin Historical Walking Tour
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Dublin's longest established walking tour business (1986). In just over 2 hours this award-winning and entertaining 'seminar on the street' conducted by history post-graduates explores the main features of Irish history—Dublin's development, the influence of the American and French Revolutions, the Potato Famine 1845-49, the 1916 Rising, the War of Independence, partition—and concludes with the Northern Ireland peace process and the rise and fall of the 'Celtic Tiger'.Cost: €12pp, €10 students/seniors
  • Excellent87%
  • Very good9%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“tommy graham” (42 reviews)
“trinity college” (167 reviews)
“two hours” (59 reviews)
LOCATION
Trinity College front gate, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
CONTACT
Website
+353 87 688 9412

Similar Things to Do in Dublin

Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I would absolutely recommend starting with this tour in Dublin before doing to see anything else. Sylvie has a wealth of knowledge that she happily shared and I quickly got a sense of her love for Ireland as well as its rich history. She was...More

1  Thank Elaine C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

More

1  Thank Debora_Vendramini
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

More

1  Thank David Y
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Our tour guide Sylvie was very knowledgeable about historical landmarks in central Dublin. However I felt very uncomfortable listening to her talk about how much money was wasted on dual language signage, her opinion on the executions after the Easter Rising. We also struggled to...More

Thank mariascullion
Tommy G, Owner at Historical Walking Tours of Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

First of all apologies if the pace was such that you had difficulty keeping up with Sylvie (although I do note that she spotted the problem & back-tracked). On the charge of how 'anti-Irish' she was, I was as surprised as you, having known her...More

Reviewed 6 December 2017

More

Thank SamWoodward
Reviewed 5 December 2017

The tour was fascinating but we were left on the opposite side of town from where we started. Great historical overview.More

Thank trishcoxnh
Tommy G, Owner at Historical Walking Tours of Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Trish, Thank you for your positive review. Our tours usually finish at the Mansion House, Dawson Street, c.5 minutes from the starting point @ Trinity College front gate, College Green. On this particular occasion, however, due to the very cold weather, & following consultation with...More

Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Our guide Sylvie, history lecturer at Trinity, took us on a walk through Dublin showing us the places, houses and rooms where major events in Ireland’s history took place. A two-hour tour took 2:45 hrs to complete and was engaging, fun, touching and interesting. Highly...More

Thank Helga O
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Our guide Sylvie took us on a fascinating tour of some of the main historical sites in the city centre. She managed to explain the power struggles in a concise yet non patronising way, in fact her whole delivery never descended into oversimplification. She explained...More

Thank Jane G
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Booked for 3 on the 12th Nov and tour guide didn’t turn up. Phone number just hit an answer machine and no one called back. Eventually got the message through another traveller that the tour was cancelled. Now trying to secure a refund from the...More

Thank Mikem1001
Tommy G, Owner at Historical Walking Tours of Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Sincerest apologies to all our customers who missed out on our 11am tour on Sun 12 Nov. Due to a minor traffic accident our guide was unable to make it & our usual back-up systems failed, not helped by the fact that I was out...More

Reviewed 13 November 2017

More

Thank Tturtles
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 150 hotels in Dublin
Blooms Hotel
2,406 reviews
.12 km away
The Sweeney
76 reviews
.18 km away
The Morgan
2,956 reviews
.19 km away
Temple Bar Hotel
2,392 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Red Torch Ginger
1,093 reviews
.12 km away
The Blind Pig Cocktail Club
537 reviews
.09 km away
Avoca
886 reviews
.09 km away
The Bank on College Green
2,533 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Irish Whiskey Museum
4,564 reviews
.07 km away
Dublin Visitor Centre
503 reviews
.08 km away
Bank of Ireland
141 reviews
.03 km away
TCD Zoological Museum
32 reviews
.02 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
KailuaGal
15 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Tommy G | Property representative |
Sorry, only seeing this query now. Our tour finishes @ the Mansion House, Dawson Street, c. 5 minutes from Trinity College. Tommy Graham, owner
0
Votes
AprilMalaysia
30 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from lecia210 | Reviewed this property |
I did the SANDEMANs NEW Dublin, Free Walking Tour during the week. I am 53 and thought it was fantastic. I highly recommend them.
2
Votes
DoggLVR
31 May 2016|
Answer
Response from aurorasev | Reviewed this property |
Hi, the queue for the Book of Kells can be very long so probably try to time yourself to get there earlyish. The historical tour doesn't deal with the Book. And no, there wasn't any tour of Dublin Castle state apartments... More
1
Vote