We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harrogate Turkish Baths and Health Spa

5 Royal Baths Parliament Street, Harrogate HG1 2WH, England
+44 1423 556746
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Exhilarating

Old Turkish baths lovely to look at. Enjoyed the hot rooms steam room and plunge pool. Nice to... read more

Reviewed yesterday
JoL10
,
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
via mobile
Amazing

I didn't get chance to experience the full baths but the group of friends I attended with enjoyed... read more

Reviewed yesterday
23charlieb
,
Halifax West yorkshire
via mobile
Read all 1,033 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Set in Harrogate - the UK's most popular Spa Town, visit the Turkish Baths and Spa to unwind your mind and invigorate your body. The Harrogate Turkish Baths are a fully restored Victorian Turkish Baths providing a unique heritage site and relaxing sanctuary from the outside world. Choose from a wide variety of spa treatments or just spend time unwinding in the beautiful heat and steam rooms and feel the stresses and strains of life just melt away. With friends, loved ones or on your own, a visit to The Harrogate Turkish Baths is a small slice of heaven!
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good25%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“plunge pool” (278 reviews)
“steam room” (203 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 9:30 a.m. - 8:30 p.m.
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
5 Royal Baths Parliament Street, Harrogate HG1 2WH, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1423 556746
Write a ReviewReviews (1,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"plunge pool"
in 278 reviews
"steam room"
in 203 reviews
"relaxing experience"
in 51 reviews
"mixed session"
in 45 reviews
"hot room"
in 33 reviews
"heat rooms"
in 21 reviews
"hottest room"
in 21 reviews
"cold pool"
in 20 reviews
"changing cubicles"
in 18 reviews
"cool down"
in 18 reviews
"relaxation area"
in 17 reviews
"original features"
in 21 reviews
"full body massage"
in 21 reviews
"total relaxation"
in 11 reviews
"changing area"
in 11 reviews
"relaxing afternoon"
in 15 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 29 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Old Turkish baths lovely to look at. Enjoyed the hot rooms steam room and plunge pool. Nice to relax on beds at the end.More

Thank JoL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason556746, Manager at Harrogate Turkish Baths and Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and made the most of the beautiful surroundings. Its great to hear that you braved the plunge pool to compliment your time in the heat rooms, it really...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I didn't get chance to experience the full baths but the group of friends I attended with enjoyed the experience. I had a treatment and I was extremely happy wig the treatment. All the staff were polite professional and helpful. The food however could have...More

Thank 23charlieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason556746, Manager at Harrogate Turkish Baths and Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at The Turkish Baths. Its usual for people to have not managed to try a treatment rather than the baths on a visit but its great to hear...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We visited the Baths as part of my birthday weekend. It was amazing to see such history we were shown round by Bob he was charming and knowledgeable. We expected hot tubs and swimming pools but this was not the case but well worth a...More

Thank Mpa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason556746, Manager at Harrogate Turkish Baths and Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to The Turkish Baths and that it was a welcome part of your birthday weekend. As a traditional Victorian Turkish Baths we do not offer the same facilities you would maybe receive in...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We have been going to the baths on a regular basis during the winter months for ten years. We have noticed that they have recently changed their session schedules which doesn’t work and makes you feel rushed and overcrowded. Also, because it was my birthday...More

Thank sealmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason556746, Manager at Harrogate Turkish Baths and Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your feedback. Its disappointing to hear of your experience with us and I would appreciate the opportunity to investigate this in more detail. Unfortunately we can't do this through this platform as I don't have all your details. If you would please...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The facilities at the baths are amazing and very relaxing and the staff were all helpful and nice. When we arrived we had to wait in the reception until there was some changing cubicles free so we got into the baths a little late. Once...More

Thank Liss2258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason556746, Manager at Harrogate Turkish Baths and Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you found the facilities faultless and the staff attentive and helpful. We do hope that all our customers have the same experience of our wonderful staff team and the beauty of our surroundings. What...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We spent a great couple of hours moving between the relaxation area and the steam rooms/cold pool. Great friendly staff and followed by a very relaxing Indian head massage. A relaxing spot and not 'poncey' like hotel spa's etcMore

Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason556746, Manager at Harrogate Turkish Baths and Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves in offering a great service in a relaxed environment which lets the beauty of our building speak for itself. It's great to hear that you feel the same! We are very proud of our team and all...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you go to Harrogate you have to try the Turkish Baths! After changing into your swimming gear you are taken on a brief tour of the baths and advised on the order of what to do. Starting off with a hot shower, then the...More

Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason556746, Manager at Harrogate Turkish Baths and Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us at The Turkish Baths and that you would recommend others to come and try the experience! It sounds like you definitely spent your time well in the session and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife booked this and I didn't know what to expect. On arrival we waited in the reception area and were then taken by a member of staff to the changing area. Once changed we were taken around the baths by the member of staff...More

Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason556746, Manager at Harrogate Turkish Baths and Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your feedback. You will not be surprised to hear that you are not the only customer to not quite know what to expect when visiting us for the first time! Thankfully you have had the same experience that we hope all our...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I visited after reading reviews and it didn’t disappoint. We didn’t opt for the treatments as we felt that the prices were a little expensive but instead opted for the mixed session in the Turkish baths. This session is suitable for those...More

Thank nicnac6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason556746, Manager at Harrogate Turkish Baths and Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback! We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us at The Turkish Baths. As you quite rightly point out, all mixed sessions require our customers to wear swimwear. Should people wish to experience the baths with less clothing we...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful way to step into the past and relax all in one visit. From the original "Crapper" toilet to the Moorish decoration of the baths this is a wonderful treat and you get to relax in the hot rooms too. I had a massage along...More

Thank Jeffrey Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason556746, Manager at Harrogate Turkish Baths and Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us at and made the most of it with a treatment to compliment The Turkish Baths experience. We are very proud that you feel like you step back in time when entering...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 28 hotels in Harrogate
Travelodge Harrogate
209 reviews
.05 km away
Country Living St. George Hotel
1,151 reviews
.11 km away
The Crown Hotel
1,447 reviews
.15 km away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
773 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Restaurants
L'Albero Delle Noci
947 reviews
.12 km away
Deano's Graze & Grill
1,340 reviews
.11 km away
Major Toms Social
232 reviews
.10 km away
Tah Chang
86 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Spirit of Harrogate Ltd
195 reviews
.22 km away
The Champagne Concept
173 reviews
.22 km away
Valley Gardens
1,899 reviews
.23 km away
Royal Hall Theatre
308 reviews
.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
emelvi
16 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Mason556746 | Property representative |
Hi, As John W has said above, the minimum age to attend the Turkish Baths is 16. We don't have any facilities on site to cater for children whilst you use the facilities so you would have to make alternate... More
0
Votes
spud19722014
2 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mason556746 | Property representative |
Hi, There is a tour most Wednesday mornings. This starts at 9pm and gives you a tour of the Turkish Baths with a guide who explains the history and heritage of the site. Its a great insight into the history of the building... More
0
Votes
Hannah W
4 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Mason556746 | Property representative |
Hi, there is no parking but plenty of on street parking nearby. Alternatively, the Jubilee multi storey car park is 3 minutes walk away. It is visible on all major roads into Harrogate on the information signposts.
0
Votes