We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wyvern Theatre

Closed Now: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Share
Review Highlights
All our yesterdays The Magic of Mottown

The Magic Of Motown what a show brilliant from start to finish all our favorite songs. Special... read more

Reviewed today
Companion824759
The magic of mowtown

Absolutely brilliant, would definitely recommend seeing this show. Full of energy Staff are always... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Julie K
,
Calne, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,183 reviews
55
All photos (55)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good33%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“blood brothers”(21 reviews)
“youth project”(17 reviews)
About
We are the Wyvern Theatre in Swindon. A 635 seat venue hosting musicals, comedy, plays and gigs.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
| Theatre Square, Swindon SN1 1QN, England
Website
+44 1793 524481
Call
Most Helpful Positive Review
Reviewed December 10, 2016

Loved the panto! Hilarious thatRyan Thomas looked like he was embarrassed to be doing panto at times but a fabulous production with some great casting mentionably the wicked step sisters and Buttons. Love the intimacy of the Wyvern but really wish it would have an...More

4  Thank M-Jane72
WyvernTheatre, Guest Relations Manager at Wyvern Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2016

Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review. Ryan is loving every minute of his time in panto and with every passing performance is settling in and enjoying even more, which we think is really coming across to audiences! We're thrilled that you...More

Most Helpful Critical Review
Reviewed February 5, 2015

Stephen K Amos is amazing, saw him at the Wyvern Theatre, this was my 3rd time and he never disappoints. It was my first visit to the Wyvern Theatre, the venue was lovely, brilliant view, modern feel to the venue, well laid out and all...More

3  Thank Alison H
Reviews (1,183)
Filter reviews
1,183 results
Traveller rating
614
395
122
30
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
614
395
122
30
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blood brothers youth project great performance russell watson great night west end ladies toilets front row last night full house peter pan second half sound system tribute band comfortable seats car park panto
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,183 reviews
Reviewed today

The Magic Of Motown what a show brilliant from start to finish all our favorite songs. Special mention for one off the lady singer sorry forgot her name but you would think Diana Ross singing hit every note. Since my last visit there has been...More

Thank Companion824759
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Absolutely brilliant, would definitely recommend seeing this show. Full of energy Staff are always friendly and helpful

Thank Julie K
SwindonTheatres, Public Relations Manager at Wyvern Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thanks for the review and rating, it is very much appreciated Darren Chivers Customer Services Manager

Reviewed yesterday

easy to get there for my self staff very friendly nice place to eat and drink well the show was fantastic worth seeing the flow of he singers and costume changes just kept flowing very small place needs a bit TLC and its not very...More

Thank Sue890
SwindonTheatres, Public Relations Manager at Wyvern Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thanks for the 5 stars. I would however be really interested to hear your feedback about us not being disabled friendly as we have done a lot of work to ensure we are just that. We have access toilets on each level, dedicated wheelchair seating...More

Reviewed yesterday

Having seen Dancing in the Street, and the Motown Story found this to be a very poor production in comparison. Much of the singing was through screaming down the microphone with one singer being the exception. Disappointing.More

Thank Barry P
SwindonTheatres, Public Relations Manager at Wyvern Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded today

We are sorry to hear that on this occasion you did not enjoy the performance as much as you have previously but we hope this will not deter you from future visits. Motown Magic is a show that has visited us many times in the...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

The show was very entertaining and I really did enjoy myself. The wyvern theatre is very out dated and needs to be rebuilt to bring it up to date

Thank Roam02450690307
SwindonTheatres, Public Relations Manager at Wyvern Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for your star rating. We are doing all we can to update this much loved venue and have seen many improvements over the past year. Darren Chivers Customer Service Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to see Hal Cruttenden. We took up the 'Pie and a Pint' deal beforehand. Great value and great service. Kath in the Restaurant was fabulous - did absolutely everything to impress us. The rest of the staff are so friendly and helpful. Will...More

Thank wheelerbin54
SwindonTheatres, Public Relations Manager at Wyvern Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for the 5 stars, great to hear you had such a good first visit and I have passed praise on to Kath and the team. We hope to welcome you back for more great entertainment int he future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just been to see The Horne Section. Excellent show at an excellent venue. Sat in row BB. The sound was, at times, rather muffled.

Thank thevorpalblade69
SwindonTheatres, Public Relations Manager at Wyvern Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the rating and feedback. We will pass sound comments on to the visiting company as they operated sound using their own equipment Darren Chivers Customer Service Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is looking very tired, toilets need a good overhall. We saw the full Monty but was very unhappy with the show allowingbeing allowed to smoke cigarettes in the show. The place stunck of smoke and was a large downfall of the show. There...More

1  Thank Madelaine B
SwindonTheatres, Public Relations Manager at Wyvern Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for you feedback. The comments regarding the toilets I do find a little odd as all of our toilets have had a full refurbishment within the last 12 months, everything was replaced. The Full Monty is set within the working class environs of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Fabulous theatre, not my first visit and won’t be my last (going again in a weeks time) Nice that some of the bigger productions are coming to Swindon, I want to see “The Full Monty” and whilst I agree with another person about the sound...More

Thank Janet R
SwindonTheatres, Public Relations Manager at Wyvern Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the rating and feedback. I have passed all comments relating to sound on to the relevant people, we are not aware of any sound issues throughout the week and nothing was mentioned to any staff on the night, but it can certainly be...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

At the Wyvern, last Saturday to see The Full Monty. Fabulously funny show but speech needed to be clearer. Its a lovely compact theatre with good views wherever you sit. very clean and tidy. There are two bar/café areas with table and chair seating, serving...More

Thank Jaypgee
SwindonTheatres, Public Relations Manager at Wyvern Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the 4 stars and your feedback. In addition to the main foyer and lower bar seating areas we do often open up an overflow seating area on level 2 in The Spotlight Room to ensure people can sit and enjoy their meal. We...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 25 nearby hotels
Travelodge Swindon Central Hotel
310 reviews
.19 km away
Thistle Express - Swindon
168 reviews
.28 km away
Jurys Inn Swindon
1,918 reviews
.30 km away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
626 reviews
.59 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 484 nearby restaurants
The Trident Fish Bar
114 reviews
.20 km away
Fratello's
545 reviews
.21 km away
New Delhi
246 reviews
.20 km away
Chennai Dosa
217 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 121 nearby attractions
Museum of Computing
143 reviews
.11 km away
STEAM Museum of the Great Western Railway
1,371 reviews
1.01 km away
Lydiard Park
982 reviews
.75 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
hannahmarie32017
July 27, 2018|
Answer
Response from Paradise746734 | Reviewed this property |
You will get a great view from the stalls, very near the stage.
0
Votes
NannaSue51
April 19, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from WyvernTheatre | Property representative |
Hi Sue, Thanks for asking this question. Although Row B is not tiered, the seats are graduated in that they are not directly behind each other. You can take a look at the auditorium on our website, go to About Us > Venue... More
0
Votes
ChrisHindle
January 23, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Brian P | Reviewed this property |
I was just warning people that the front 3 rows are not tiered which may not suit everyone. Absolutely no problems with CBB at all. The seating is not within your control. Just to reiterate your show was great we enjoyed it... More
0
Votes