We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
right in middle of town

we didn't do the museum, just walked around the outsides, on the walls. Nice as right in the middle... read more

Reviewed July 12, 2016
Kristell L
Well worth a visit!

We rented bicycles from Nantes and rode the ~1 hour out of town (Rent from Metropole a velo rather... read more

Reviewed September 12, 2015
Michael W
Cookeville, Tennessee
Read all 195 reviews
All photos (131)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good45%
  • Average15%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“french style”(2 reviews)
“interior”(3 reviews)
“chateau”(6 reviews)
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
East of Haut-Goulaine, Nantes, France
+33 2 40 54 91 42
Improve This Listing
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Nantes
from US$28.90
More Info
from US$16.70
More Info
from US$46.20
More Info
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french style interior chateau museum garden
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 16 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2017

Yes, it was much more than tourism. In fact it wasn't tourism at all. It beguns as a visit to the first of 4 chateaux foreseen for the afternoon. Luckily, it became the only one! Are you confuse? I explain. The castle was closed that...More

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank EduAlv
Christophe d, Propriétaire at Chateau de Goulaine, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2017

Thank you so much , and such a pleasure to recieve you as special visitors , you were so friendly that I wanted to keep you inside the the château instead of outside ! I hope you enjoyed visiting our region . I allways remember...More

Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful french style castle integrated in the city. The gardens are lovely and well cared, as well as the inside which you can visit buying an extra ticket!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank KatieDiaz
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Not much of this small to medium chateau was available to see and what there was, was fairly interesting. The LU biscuit museum was worth a visit for the artwork on display but the gardens and large empty courtyard and buildings were disappointing.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Simon P
Reviewed July 12, 2016

we didn't do the museum, just walked around the outsides, on the walls. Nice as right in the middle of the town!

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Kristell L
Reviewed October 14, 2015 via mobile

Very disappointing, after driving a long way the château wasn't even open despite supposedly opening at 2pm was still closed at 2:45. Call before you go to avoid disappointment.More

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank HETanner
Christophe d, Gérant at Chateau de Goulaine, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2015

We are sorry if you did a long way to visit us , to make sure we are open please check our web site, the openning hours are easy to read , if you do send us a mail we will answer , or please...More

Reviewed September 12, 2015

We rented bicycles from Nantes and rode the ~1 hour out of town (Rent from Metropole a velo rather than the Bicloo because it will be cheaper in the long run). The ride was extremely flat and easy as well as beautiful as it meandered...More

Date of experience: September 2015
3  Thank Michael W
Christophe d, Gérant at Chateau de Goulaine, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2015

Thank you for visiting us , it's a great idea to use the bicycle from Nantes ! It was nice meeting you.

Reviewed August 25, 2015

gorgeous architecture, on warm days, it's nice to sit down by the moat in the sun quaffing crisp, cold, white wine whilst reading a good book

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Philip N
Reviewed July 29, 2015 via mobile

On the outside the chateau looks promising but the inside is very disappointing. The guide was finishing a tour when we arrived and we expected to be next ones for the tour but she left quickly, never to return. So we explored the 4 rooms...More

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank PaulS45
Reviewed July 28, 2015

Within a 10 minute walk from the train station is this gorgeous chateau. It is free admission unless you want to see objects of art which comes with an admission fee. You get to experience visiting a chateau right in the city, that has been...More

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Meisterporsche
Reviewed June 25, 2015 via mobile

We didn't go in as we were late arriving and the place was closed. However we did walk the grounds and took some photos, we also had a game of frisbee with the kids. Look closely at the most, it is full of wildlife, the...More

Date of experience: June 2015
2  Thank Peter P
View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all 107 nearby hotels
Hotel de la Louee
58 reviews
3.61 km away
Hotel Restaurant de la Haute Foret
52 reviews
6.19 km away
Campanile Nantes Est - Saint Sebastien Sur Loire
70 reviews
6.35 km away
B&B Hotel Nantes Reze Saint-Sebastien
44 reviews
6.40 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,553 nearby restaurants
Manoir de la Boulaie
338 reviews
2.48 km away
Chez Pipette
250 reviews
2.80 km away
Restaurant Jean D'la Queue
483 reviews
2.81 km away
Le Bistrot Nantais
81 reviews
5.26 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 254 nearby attractions
Cine Pole Sud
23 reviews
5.43 km away
Nantes Wine Tour
23 reviews
5.76 km away
SKYWAY Simulation
112 reviews
6.24 km away
Ruban Vert
39 reviews
7.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chateau de Goulaine staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines