We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Madrid City Tour

1,052 reviews
#132 of 347 Tours in Madrid
About Madrid City Tour
Madrid City Tour is the touristic bus to discover the history and emblematic monuments of Madrid. Our 'Hop on & Hop off'bus service will take you to the most important places and you will be able to stop and get on again as many times as you wish. We offer you two routes because we want to assure you accomplish your sightseeing holidays.
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Contact
Madrid, Spain
Travellers talk about

Madrid City Tour
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
Reviews (1,052)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
110
105
60
59
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
110
105
60
59
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day pass historic route hop off different languages sound quality english commentary your bearings night tour big city puerta del sol audio tour prado museum plaza mayor earphones sights euros loop
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have used different hop-on-hop-off bus companies in at least 10 cities and Madrid City Tour was by far the worst. Long waits (more than 40 min) when they advertise buses stop every 15 minutes in low season. It's impossible to do it with two...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank IndianFoodie20
Antonio B, Gerente at Madrid City Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear client, Thank you for sharing your experience with Madrid City Tour, We regret to heat about your bad experience with our service. In normal conditions we offer a bus frequency of around 15 minutes but traffic conditions among other factors may delay our buses...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I always use hop on hop off city tours around the world, but this company is the worst. You have to wait more than 45 min to wait the next bus. They are selling more tickets or does not have enough buses? The bus stop...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank mariafam
Antonio B, Gerente at Madrid City Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear client, Thank you for writing a review about Madrid City Tour! We apologise for your bad experience with our service. We try to maintain a bus frequency of around 15 minutes during low season but traffic conditions may delay our buses. Regarding to the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had the perfect weather for the hop on / off tour on the double decker bus. We did both routes then went back to our favourite spots. Great value for the money. Excellent chances to take pictures along the route. Beautiful city but very...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 882staceyq
Antonio B, Gerente at Madrid City Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear client, Thank you for writing a review about Madrid City Tour. We are really glad you enjoyed the tour and you had a nice time on board. As you have said, Madrid as other big cities is very busy and special during rush hours....More

Reviewed December 11, 2018 via mobile

Horrible service, crowded, awful customer service. I feel like crying after wasting 22 Euros on this.More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank AndreaN3082
Antonio B, Gerente at Madrid City Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear client, We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with Madrid City Tour. In order to treat your case in a more specific way we would appreciate that you send us more information about your experience. Our customer service email is: customers-mad@city-tour.com. Kind...More

Reviewed December 7, 2018 via mobile

The bus finally comes. We get on and the extremely rude staff meets us. No kindness or courtesy, just instructions like we were in the army. Then you find a seat where the guide is not out of order. We get our earphones. It seems...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank thewkxar
Antonio B, Gerente at Madrid City Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear client, Thank you for writing a review about Madrid City Tour! We are sorry if our service did not meet your expectations. Regarding to the audio guide, it combines music with a short description about the points of interest in order to make the...More

Reviewed December 5, 2018

We paid 26 Euro to use the bus over 2 days and probably spent less than 2 hours on one. When we tried to use it on the second day we discovered they don’t start running until about 10 and we’d have to wait 45...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank garroch59
Antonio B, Gerente at Madrid City Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear client, Thank you for your feed-back. We are sorry for the inconveniences. Firstly, our service schedule during the winter is from 10am to 6pm with a bus frequency of around 20 minutes in normal conditions, unfortunately sometimes traffic conditions may delay our buses but...More

Reviewed November 25, 2018

Lots of roadworks in the city centre, so the tours took longer. Well worth doing both modern and historical trips, as this is a cheaper deal and it means you will see all of Madrid. This gave us a great sense of direction and enabled...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank NatalieCarnoustie
Reviewed November 21, 2018 via mobile

The buses are frequent. I never had to wait more than 10 minutes. The bus takes me to areas I otherwise wouldn't go to. It's a good way to see the whole city in just a little over an hour. The audio guide is interesting...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank justinetta
Reviewed November 17, 2018

After a couple of positive experiences on this type of tour we decided to try the Madrid version. I wish we hadn't bothered - it's actually a lacklustre copy of the professional city sightseeing tours you find in other big cities. Not enough buses, now...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Mactavish58
Antonio B, Gerente at Madrid City Tour, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2018

Dear client, Thank you for dedicating time in writing a review about Madrid City Tour, We regret that you did not get a positive experience with our tourist bus service. We do have a larger number of buses that allows us to maintain a bus...More

Reviewed November 13, 2018 via mobile

I was really looking forward to this bus tour. Booked the tickets online for a good price. So far so good. Got on the bus, headphone socket not working, moved seat to working socket. Commentary not very good with little information of sights. Got off...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Jerry S
Antonio B, Gerente at Madrid City Tour, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2018

Dear client, Firstly, thank you for dedicating time in writing a review about Madrid City Tour. We apologise if you did not get a positive experience. Regarding to the audio, our buses are frequently inspected in order to make sure that detect and repair any...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sherpa674717
December 31, 2018|
Answer
Response from Sherpa674717 |
Horrible service. Crowded buses. Ling waiting queues.
0
Votes
Alexander L
June 21, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Antonio B | Property representative |
Dear client, You can buy your tickets on the bus, without any problem. You can pay in cash or with a credit card! We wish you a nice stay in Madrid! Kind regards,
0
Votes
Google Translation
beckysM9784PB
October 6, 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from lvtraveler0389 | Reviewed this property |
we were in Madrid in june and the city is quite populated and the traffic was quite busy. although the cabs can move from lane to lane and make pretty good time from one destination to another, the hop-on/hop-off bus seemed... More
1
Vote