We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Lovely course, plot your way round

Played for the first time this week. Really nicely put together course in a beautiful setting. Had... read more

Reviewed yesterday
David h
via mobile
Lovely course and fabulous clubhouse!

Have been playing Espiche for 6+years when it was a newish course and I was a beginner! Absolutely... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
susancallum
,
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Read all 232 reviews
59
All photos (59)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good25%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
About
Located within a nature reserve and just five minutes from Lagos, Espiche Golf is an eco-resort which has been perfectly integrated into the surrounding natural environment and offers a unique and authentic experience in the western Algarve.
Open Now
Hours Today: 7:30 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Sitio dos Matos Brancos, 701-N | 10 kilometres from the historic city of Lagos, Lagos 8600-114, Portugal
Website
+351 282 688 250
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Lagos
from US$35.70
More Info
from US$35.70
More Info
from US$41.70
More Info
from US$77.40
More Info
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
109
48
20
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
109
48
20
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdriving rangegreat clubin excellent conditiontake plenty of ballsfairways and greensgecko restaurantnice clubhouseblind holesgreen feesstraight shotsserving excellent foodgreat testhigh seasonroycoursesbuggygardiner
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 191 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Played for the first time this week. Really nicely put together course in a beautiful setting. Had a great game and with local member and playing partner Roy's invaluable advice, managed to get it round in 4 over! I'm not a big hitter, but I...More

Thank David h
Reviewed 4 days ago

Nice course, tough if you miss the fairway. Good facilities. Nice food served and nice atmosphere. The driving range is good.

Thank Emer D
EspicheGolf, Gestor at Espiche Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience at Espiche Golf with us. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the the Course and Clubhouse, and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have been playing Espiche for 6+years when it was a newish course and I was a beginner! Absolutely love it more every time we return! Green staff working hard to remove rough at side of fairways so I lost fewer balls this year ( but...More

Thank susancallum
EspicheGolf, Gestor at Espiche Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience at Espiche Golf with us. The unique concept behind Espiche Golf makes it one of the most challenging and exciting courses to play in the Algarve, and we are very pleased that you enjoy playing at...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The last 1st of June wine event was a little disappointing, the number of plates decreasing, the quality of food decreasing apart from the desert and cheese platesMore

Thank Yves187147
EspicheGolf, Gestor at Espiche Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent experience at the Gecko Restaurant at Espiche Golf. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations, and will ensure your comments are passed onto our management team to help us...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Met Roy in passing during a round and he kindly invited me to play in the weekly Roll-Up on Thursday morning at 8am. When I arrived it turned out that the Roll-Up was cancelled due to a big competition but to my amazement and pleasure,...More

Thank J_GMC_8
EspicheGolf, Gestor at Espiche Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience at Espiche Golf with us. The unique concept behind Espiche Golf makes it one of the most challenging and exciting courses to play in the Algarve, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your round....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So enjoyed my round of golf followed by a light lunch in the outstanding restaurant and award winning clubhouse The staff were so welcoming and friendly. Highly recommended

Thank granny233
EspicheGolf, Gestor at Espiche Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about our award-winning Clubhouse at Espiche Golf. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Clubhouse, and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have visited Espiche golf club every year since it opened but sadly today will be our last visit. We cannot believe the change in staff and atmosphere. We had intended having lunch and ordered a drink. My husband chose Beer while I opted for...More

3  Thank 796joanne
EspicheGolf, Gestor at Espiche Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent experience at the Gecko Restaurant at Espiche Golf. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations, and will ensure your comments are passed onto our management team to help us...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The course is very disappointing, the course is still young (i believe 6 years old) and therfore the fairways are not in great condition. In addition most of the fairways have a slope that punishes a good shot. Not much rough, straight into the scrubland....More

Thank Nigel G
EspicheGolf, Gestor at Espiche Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, and we are very sorry that your golfing experience at Espiche did not meet your expectations. We are currently making a number of upgrades to the course, which will significantly improve playability in...More

Reviewed May 25, 2018 via mobile

Lovely clubhouse,staff very friendly and helpful. Course though was disappointing. Nearly all the fairways slope dramatically one way or the other and are rock hard with the result it's almost impossible to stay on them. They are very narrow too with plenty of shrubbery and...More

Thank Conor B
EspicheGolf, Gestor at Espiche Golf, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, and we are very sorry that your golfing experience at Espiche did not meet your expectations. We are currently making a number of upgrades to the course, which will significantly improve playability in...More

Reviewed April 26, 2018

What a lovely setting and clubhouse, let down totally by a very poor and unfair golf course. I played this some years ago when the course was awful and there has been some improvement but not enough to place this in a 'worth a visit'...More

1  Thank Eanna57
EspicheGolf, Gestor at Espiche Golf, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, and we are very sorry that your golfing experience at Espiche did not meet your expectations. We are currently making a number of upgrades to the course, which will significantly improve playability in...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
liam c
June 25, 2018|
Answer
Response from EspicheGolf | Property representative |
Hi Liam, yes we do hire clubs. Standard and premium clubs. Do you need any additional information? Thank you, Ana Santos
0
Votes
Google Translation
roberta a
October 19, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from EspicheGolf | Property representative |
Hi Roberta, thank you for your message. Yes, the course is walkable. It's a bit hilly on a few holes but nothing major. Regarding bookings, since January it's low season, normally it is very quiet so you don't need to book... More
0
Votes
Lorna M
November 1, 2016|
Answer
Response from EspicheGolf | Property representative |
Dear Lorna, From Espiche Golf to Martinhal is a 30 minute drive. We work with a few transfer services so if you need to reserve transport just please contact our Golf Reception. Please let us know if you need anything... More
1
Vote