We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Compton Acres

Closed Now: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Wonderful gardens well worth a visit.

My partner had visited Compton Acres approximately 25 years ago so decided to revisit with me. I'm... read more

Reviewed today
TonysolihullUK
,
Solihull
Beautiful Italian garden

Spent a lovely morning here with a friend, in late August the Italian garden was absolutely... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
elaine w
via mobile
Read all 840 reviews
432
All photos (432)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good31%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“japanese garden”(146 reviews)
“garden centre”(44 reviews)
“heather garden”(33 reviews)
About
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
17°
Sep
13°
Oct
10°
Nov
Contact
164 Canford Cliffs Road, Poole BH13 7ES, England
Website
+44 1202 700778
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Poole
from US$30.00
More Info
from US$13.30
More Info
from US$16.60
More Info
Reviews (840)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
481
262
52
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
481
262
52
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese gardengarden centreheather gardenharbour viewstepping stonesthemed gardenswater gardenstunning gardenswooded valleyhalf way roundwater featuresgreat gardenrock gardengift shopplants and treesfull bloomevery corner
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 827 reviews
Reviewed today

My partner had visited Compton Acres approximately 25 years ago so decided to revisit with me. I'm so glad she decided to go back. Firstly we visited the beaufiful Italian Garden which looked beautiful in mid September with the Italian style house set in it's...More

Thank TonysolihullUK
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Spent a lovely morning here with a friend, in late August the Italian garden was absolutely beautiful, the remembrance and japenese were colourful but felt the other gardens let it down, as not much colour for late summer. We stopped at the viewpoint cafe and...More

Thank elaine w
Reviewed 2 days ago

Absolutely delighted with the beautiful gnarled olive tree sourced by the Plant Centre at Compton Acres. We are very grateful to Charlie and the team for their enthusiasm and attention to detail.

Thank hin2nwood
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We were looking for something to do on our last day and a quick Google map Search came up with this gem, great gardens with separate areas including the Italian garden, the rock and water garden, and the Japanese garden, you start and just follow...More

Thank Dave S
Reviewed 5 days ago

We saw the sign for Compton Acres and as I remembered coming as a child I really wanted to stop for old times sake. It is smaller than I remember BUT still fabulous. 10 acres of stunning gardens (LOVED the Italian and Japanese most). Its...More

Thank jane_costigan
Susan K, Manager at Compton Acres, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are so pleased that you decided to visit after remembering us from your childhood! We hope that you can come back and visit us again soon, if you are local watch out for our special offer...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is another favourite place of mine to take my dog! The meandering pathways round the spectacular displays of flora and fauna are so beautiful and fascinating any time of the year. With so many carefully planted and cultivated areas there is something stunning to...More

Thank Humphreyx8
Susan K, Manager at Compton Acres, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for your kind review we are pleased that you enjoy your visits with your dog. We have allowed dogs into the gardens for quite a few years now and this has proved to be extremely popular.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After the most wonderful wedding in the Italian Villa we decided to go back the following day and look at the gardens properly. We were not disappointed. What a hidden gem. We spent over three hours wandering around and had tea and cake at the...More

Thank Siobhan C
Susan K, Manager at Compton Acres, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are so pleased that you decided to come and visit the rest of the gardens after enjoying a wedding in the Italian. We do hope that you can come and see us again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited here for Sunday lunch as you could get a roast which is great and best of all it was a good price. Food and drinks were great and the staff were friendly. If went again would ask for extra gravy!More

Thank Nicnac23
Susan K, Manager at Compton Acres, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch, if you do return for another Sunday lunch please do ask if you would like more gravy it wouldn't be a problem. Maybe...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a guide take our group round the various gardens, he was most helpful. Some of the pathways may not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues. The Japanese garden and pond is very interesting. Great café with indoor and outdoor seating..

Thank menubuster
Susan K, Manager at Compton Acres, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for your kind review we are pleased that you enjoyed your guided tour around the gardens.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you have very limited time to spend in Bournemouth and this is on your list maybe give it a miss. It's pretty but a bit old fashioned. I wasn't particularly inspired. The Japanese garden is the best part.

Thank darrrling
Susan K, Manager at Compton Acres, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are sorry that you were not impressed with your visit. We have received so many fantastic reviews from visitors this season, sorry you were not one of them.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Poole
Poole Harbour Rental
4 reviews
.54 km away
Harbour Heights Hotel
1,079 reviews
.94 km away
Sandbanks Hotel
1,993 reviews
1.44 km away
Salterns Harbourside Hotel
347 reviews
1.59 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 389 restaurants in Poole
STOCK Dining Room & Bar
112 reviews
.43 km away
Koh Noi Lilliput
297 reviews
1.34 km away
Loch Fyne Seafood & Grill
1,222 reviews
.33 km away
The Cliff
768 reviews
.64 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 129 attractions in Poole
Branksome Chine
154 reviews
1.21 km away
Jetski Safaris
193 reviews
1.54 km away
The Watersports Academy
28 reviews
1.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
smould1
August 25, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Flitters17 | Reviewed this property |
Not sure, but would still go for the lunches!
0
Votes
Vivien A
June 4, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from LizJohnR | Reviewed this property |
Sorry but it is hilly, may not be suitable.
0
Votes
Jill h
April 4, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 952778km | Property representative |
Dogs on Leads are certainly welcome, we look forward to seeing you in the near future.:)
0
Votes