We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Cowdray Avenue, Colchester CO1 1YH, England
Phone Number:
+44 1206 282010
Website
Today
09:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 18:00
Mon - Fri 09:00 - 22:00
Sat 10:00 - 22:00

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 75 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 19
    Excellent
  • 24
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
First visit after refurb

Was told a couple of weeks ago by a regular member of the leisure centre / aqua springs that aqua springs was getting a makeover . To all regulars to aqua springs know it was in... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
essexboy46
,
essex
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 75: English reviews
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was told a couple of weeks ago by a regular member of the leisure centre / aqua springs that aqua springs was getting a makeover . To all regulars to aqua springs know it was in desperate need of it . Went in today to give it a look , was not sure what to expect but I must admit... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank essexboy46
LWColchester, Manager at Aqua Springs, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It’s great to hear you like the newly refurbished Aqua Springs so much. Your feedback has been shared with the Spa Manager. Aqua Springs as part of Leisure World is owned and managed by Colchester Borough Council. More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Loved it here, so many different experiences to undertake and the price is very reasonable considering

Helpful?
Thank Doriscupcake
LWColchester, Manager at Aqua Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your visit. More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

I had an amazing full body massage for £47. This was great value for money when you need to destress and unwind from work and family life. The masseuse was friendly and professional It was only an additional £13 to have fully use of the spa all day. Which includes a variety of steam rooms and sauna's and showers, hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Granger1982
LWColchester, Manager at Aqua Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your massage. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

The large hydro baths are very relaxing and worth staying and soaking for a while. The new sauna rooms are a great improvement. The layout of the changing areas could be improved, not much room to put your stuff while you get changed and sometimes being in the way of others. Overall a very good experience though.

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne749
LWColchester, Manager at Aqua Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your Review. More 

Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

A friend & I had a wonderful morning in the Spa & had a fab facial. The different pools were great & loved trying all of the different sauna's & steam rooms. Will definitely be returning!

Helpful?
Thank Laura B
LWColchester, Manager at Aqua Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for review. Glad you enjoyed your visit to Aqua Springs. More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

The £65 spa package is excellent value, you get entrance to the spa and a half hour manicure (file, ridge removal and polish) back massage and a facial. I went with my mum last week. The therapists were great and the nice thing about it was that they didn't stint on the treatments or rush through them; sometimes on spa... More 

Helpful?
Thank natbyte
LWColchester, Manager at Aqua Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and treatments. More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

I pay a monthly membership at Leisure world and this is mainly so I can use Aqua Springs whenever I want. Unfortunately the last few times I have visited have left me feeling less relaxed than when I arrived ! I appreciate that the two sauna's have been refurbished but they are not hot !!! The " volcano" sauna is... More 

Helpful?
Thank daisycha
LWColchester, Manager at Aqua Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. As you mention two brand new saunas have recently been installed in Aqua Springs. These are designed to complement the other features such as steam room, aromatherapy room, salt room and the variety of pools. Because the saunas are brand new, the manufacturer recommends gradually increasing the temperature to prevent the wooden interior from breaking... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We visited on a Thursday night on arriving the lady on the desk could hardly bring herself to acknowledge we were at the desk, after paying she pointed to an overflowing basket of blue shoe covers and hastily told us to "put them on" before we go in the changing room, when I got into the men's I could see... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wozzerone
LWColchester, Manager at Aqua Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Aqua Springs in August. Your comments regarding cleanliness and staff have been passed to the Spa Manager. Since your visit two brand new saunas have been installed. These alongside the Steam Room, Salt Inhalation Room, Aromatherapy Room and spa pools will improve the experience for all our visitors. More 

Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

It's bad enough arriving to find that yet again a number of saunas are not functioning, but when this happens you are still accepted to pay full price! We come some distance to enjoy these facilities, and come twice a year, and our past 3 visits have been the same. Today we turned around and came back. Doubt I'll return.

Helpful?
Thank veepeebiscuit
LWColchester, Manager at Aqua Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Two brand new saunas are currently being installed and the spa hall. These will be superior to the old saunas and improve the experience for all our visitors. The Steam Rooms, Salt Inhalation Room, Aromatherapy Room and all of the spa pools are still available while this work takes place. All customers visiting Aqua Springs... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Visited Aqua Springs at Colchester Leisure World with my partner on a Monday night for a treat after a few tough weeks at work. Arrived to a fairly cold reception from the staff on the front desk. We paid a total of £26 for the 2 of us and then went into the seperate changing rooms. I can't comment on... More 

Helpful?
Thank the-mad-hattr
LWColchester, Manager at Aqua Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We apologise for the lack of cleaning in the changing rooms at the time of your visit. This along with other points raised by you and your partner have been addressed with staff. Two brand new saunas are currently being installed and the spa hall. Changing rooms and reception area are due to be refurbished... More 

Travellers who viewed Aqua Springs also viewed

 
Thorpe le Soken, Essex
 

Been to Aqua Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Aqua Springs and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Essex, United Kingdom
10 days ago
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Aqua Springs staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?