We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Playing the Mathern Course

We played the Mathern Course the other day and were pleasantly surprised. The greens were excellent... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Steve D
,
Caerleon, United Kingdom
great hotel not so good golf

we booked in on tuesday and having driven 150 miles with three sets of clubs was advised the course... read more

Reviewed March 9, 2018
V1256CCmartin
,
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Read all 107 reviews
57
All photos (57)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good39%
  • Average13%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
About
This popular golf course frequently hosts European professional events.
Contact
Chepstow, Wales
+44 1291 625261
Call
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
34
40
14
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
34
40
14
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities beautiful hotel lovely room beautiful wedding venue stayed here good points bar area my partner breakfast bedroom lockers menu occasion reception shower
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Played golf Sunday 7th Oct until Tuesday 9th Oct, dropping my cap off the buggy at the beginning of the last round. One of my group remembered seeing it at the start. Went back to the Golf Pro Shop twice but not handed in, they...More

Thank Tim B
MarriottStPierre, Customer Care at St. Pierre Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We were sorry that you experienced difficulties with your lost cap, however we are pleased that you found this before leaving. We do hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will be able to welcome you back to St Pierre again...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We played the Mathern Course the other day and were pleasantly surprised. The greens were excellent and the fairways good. It is a good challenge of golf. It seems to tempt you to take Driver even though a lot of holes are so so tight....More

Thank Steve D
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Fantastic setting and not as expensive as the 12 Golfers who went thought. Stayed two nights had dinner in the Restaurant on the Friday night and asked for a bar meal on the Saturday with no problems and no extra cost because we didn't want...More

Thank gerard1978
MarriottStPierre, Executive Office at St. Pierre Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

We are delighted that you all enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

Had a golf day booked with the family and whilst playing we were told on several occassions that we should not of been there because we were interupting a ladies competition. Some of the ladies were very rude & we were pressured to hurry up...More

2  Thank barringtoncheyl
MarriottStPierre, Customer Care at St. Pierre Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Dear Cheryl & Family Please do accept our apologies for your round of golf being effected by the lady golfers during your game on the Mathern Course. We do have golf marshalls on both our courses and this has been flagged with them to ensure...More

Reviewed May 17, 2018

Visited the Old Course for my friends sons 21st, I booked it as they had never played it and where travelling down from Cheshire. How embarrassed was I ??? The young lady in the Pro Shop was charming and a credit to the Hotel, as...More

3  Thank rod064
Reviewed April 25, 2018

Stayed here with a group of 14 for a golf weekend. Told only one course open and then on the Saturday we saw people playing on the closed course. Old course greens were in a bad state and we heard other groups complaining to. Terrace...More

Thank larmerd
MarriottStPierre, Customer Care at St. Pierre Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2018

Thank you for your review, we were sorry that you were disappointed with your round of golf and your feedback has been passed to our Course Manager for his review. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you and your group back...More

Reviewed March 9, 2018

we booked in on tuesday and having driven 150 miles with three sets of clubs was advised the course was shut, fair enough and would not open until friday at the earliest, the assistance in the golf shop was very poor , having explained we...More

1  Thank V1256CCmartin
Reviewed February 18, 2018 via mobile

The main building is lovely. The staff are very pleasant but there was so much that could have been better. We stayed in a room in the “village” about 3 minutes walk away from the main hotel. Lovely room, nice view but we had to...More

Thank Richard_and_S-J
Reviewed February 15, 2018

Stayed here early February for a night. Check in was fast and efficient. Lovely history to the building, love the open spaces, and choice of eateries, be it the bar area or the more formal restaurant. Open fire was very inviting over a beer. Had...More

Thank BobsterHereford
Reviewed January 23, 2018 via mobile

A beautiful Hotel in a beautiful setting. Staff are first class. Food is stunning and plentiful. The leisure facilities are very good and clean. Spa treatments are reasonable priced. Would certainly recommend this hotel for any occasion. The Bedrooms and lakeside suite’s are beautiful. All...More

Thank Kelly c
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
444Joanne
March 19, 2017|
Answer
Response from Cwilty | Property representative |
Chepstow is a 5 minute drive away.
0
Votes