We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo

Features Animals
Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
+44 1600 890360
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Magical

We took our grand kids for the second time at the weekend. Wonderful place, well run and not... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Nick_Stewart_12
,
Gloucester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Beware of parking fine rip off

We took our Granddaughter for a treat here on the 23rd of June, on arrival we paid our parking and... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
scrowhurst2018
,
Lydney, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 458 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo provides an ideal space to experience beautiful, free-flying, tropical butterflies!Use our identification sheets to find out about our butterflies & hunt for caterpillars and chrysalis along the way!We are ideally set in the Wye Valley, next to The aMazing Hedge Puzzle, Wye Valley Miniature Golf & Wye Valley Warfare Laser Ops! Check our website for online offers!
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good32%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1600 890360
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"magnifying glass"
in 48 reviews
"beautiful butterflies"
in 32 reviews
"crazy golf"
in 52 reviews
"mini golf"
in 46 reviews
"hedge maze"
in 29 reviews
"butterflies flying"
in 13 reviews
"different species"
in 11 reviews
"life cycle"
in 6 reviews
"green house"
in 6 reviews
"other attractions"
in 12 reviews
"value for money"
in 17 reviews
"few hours"
in 15 reviews
"lovely experience"
in 8 reviews
"little gem"
in 7 reviews
"combined ticket"
in 7 reviews
"great fun"
in 19 reviews
"half price"
in 5 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We took our grand kids for the second time at the weekend. Wonderful place, well run and not expensive at all. They loved it as did the grown ups.

Thank Nick_Stewart_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We took our Granddaughter for a treat here on the 23rd of June, on arrival we paid our parking and headed for the Butterfly Zoo entrance where we were discounted £2 for the entrance fee for paying our parking. We spent about 45 mins with...More

1  Thank scrowhurst2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Overall it was good. Quite cool seeing so many different butterflies, best bits were crazy golf & hedge puzzle though. Would go for the latter two activities again

Thank RickyP2018E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Spent an afternoon here with family. Bought a ticket for all three attractions, with a £2 discount with your car park ticket. We did the Maze first, which was fun and the owner/designer was friendly and fun. At the end of the Maze is a...More

Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Small but extremely impressive butterfly "zoo" although breeding garden woud be a better description. wel worth the visit.

Thank Mariek73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a small enclosure, but the butterflies seem to love it, the staff are friendly and it's great to have it a few miles from our house. We will be back.

Thank Scott and Becca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I wanted to visit this attraction, and turned up 5 minutes before the opening time. 10 minutes later, and the attraction had not opened. I needed a bathroom so we drove off, with a grand total of 13 minutes being in the...More

4  Thank Kerry1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at a local hotel for a special occasion and ate two others in East and West Yat on the weekend of 16th June. Used the hand ferry and cycled to The Biblins and Monmouth. Walked up to Yat Rock. All the places we...More

3  Thank Martsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just been sent a £100 fine even though the parking ticket was paid for and displayed. We are appealing right now. The parking is independent to the amenities. Beware if you go there.

2  Thank DCB398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great day out with not only the butterflies but also the maze. Yes there is a parking charge (refundable in the butterfly house) and like all car parks if you go over the time you will get fined. So set an alarm on your...More

Thank bluminidriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Ross-on-Wye
The Old Court Hotel
569 reviews
.11 km away
The Paddocks Hotel
284 reviews
.77 km away
Glewstone Court
660 reviews
5.05 km away
Poolway House
3 reviews
6.80 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Potting Shed
123 reviews
.57 km away
Jo's Diner
36 reviews
.93 km away
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
353 reviews
1.05 km away
The Crown Whitchurch
12 reviews
.37 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wye Valley Cruises
16 reviews
.71 km away
Canoe the Wye
433 reviews
.73 km away
Ross on Wye Canoe Hire - Day Trips
247 reviews
.78 km away
Wye Canoes Ltd
118 reviews
.12 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Julie J
April 5, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Rubyroored | Reviewed this property |
Don’t know there are disabled spaces but I’d be careful as they scan your car plate as you go in so you need to check on the pay meter
1
Vote
heartbev
August 25, 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from wiilhunting | Reviewed this property |
DecisionSuccessful Assessor NameSophie Taylor Assessor summary of operator case The operator has issued the Parking Charge Notice (PCN) as the appellant has failed to purchase sufficient parking time to cover the period of... More
4
Votes
kazzybRedditch
April 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from HeyesBros | Property representative |
Dogs are unfortunately not allowed in any of the enclosures, the butterfly zoo included due to the zoo licensing laws, which apply to our zoo. Dogs, however, are welcome on the grounds and there is a nice riverside walk to... More
0
Votes