We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo

Features Animals
Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
+44 1600 890360
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Predatory - avoid

Visited on our trip to the UK. Our kids loved the butterflies, but we got hit for a hundred quid... read more

Reviewed today
Andy D
,
Cambridge, New Zealand
So much fun

We have been coming here for years, and it never fails to amuse both adults and kids alike. The... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jennifer M
Read all 421 reviews
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo provides an ideal space to experience beautiful, free-flying, tropical butterflies!Use our identification sheets to find out about our butterflies & hunt for caterpillars and chrysalis along the way!We are ideally set in the Wye Valley, next to The aMazing Hedge Puzzle, Wye Valley Miniature Golf & Wye Valley Warfare Laser Ops! Check our website for online offers!
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good33%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1600 890360
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"magnifying glass"
in 46 reviews
"beautiful butterflies"
in 28 reviews
"crazy golf"
in 49 reviews
"mini golf"
in 42 reviews
"hedge maze"
in 27 reviews
"butterflies flying"
in 13 reviews
"different species"
in 10 reviews
"life cycle"
in 6 reviews
"green house"
in 6 reviews
"other attractions"
in 12 reviews
"buy a ticket"
in 5 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 17 reviews
"few hours"
in 15 reviews
"all ages"
in 15 reviews
"wye valley"
in 19 reviews
"little gem"
in 7 reviews
"combined ticket"
in 7 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 420 reviews

Reviewed today

Visited on our trip to the UK. Our kids loved the butterflies, but we got hit for a hundred quid fine despite paying the correct amount and not overstaying, and having this acknowledged by the parking company (we got the hire car number plate wrong)...More

Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been coming here for years, and it never fails to amuse both adults and kids alike. The butterfly zoo is lovely, and kids are provided with magnifying glasses and useful charts to name the butterflies. Staff members are always knowledgeable and extremely friendly....More

Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

In our case the parking meter we first saw was out of order and by the time we had enquired and found one working we had received a £100 parking fine for staying 10 minutes.We phoned the Butterfly zoo to complain and they were most...More

3  Thank peteralastairdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After reading the negative reviews, we wasn’t sure what to expect. However we had a truly wonderful afternoon with our two 5 year olds, the admission was £12 for a family of 4 - such great value. In terms of the parking, you just buy...More

Thank Sammi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited on a quiet winter Sunday as an idea of something to do with the kids. Parked up in the empty car park, and noticed pay and display parking. I wondered why you would have to pay and display to park here, the "attraction" is...More

8  Thank Pauliococo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

A bit smaller than I remember and although going around several times we didn’t stay an hour. The children get magnifying glasses to study to butterflies. It was perhaps a little busier than usual as it was half term week but my children had to...More

Thank TravelingRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Lovely staff and fabulous butterflies. Well worth a visit especially with children. Can't wait to go back again!

Thank Chrissie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We were hugely shocked & disappointed at our 11 minute “experience” at the butterfly zoo. Having arrived at 3:03pm to visit with our family of 5 for half term excursion to be informed, rather bluntly that last admissions were at 3pm and we were refused...More

10  Thank Bianca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Came here for visit during feb 1/2 term, opened at 10am and not busy when arrived however did get quite busy the later it got. There are three attractions on site the butterflies are one but you can pay individually or get combined ticket. Butterfly...More

1  Thank Rubyroored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Easy, cheap parking. Nicely maintained site. Very pleasant and courteous staff. Moderate price (3 Grandchildren, me and car park for less than £10!) Lovely and warm in the butterfly house and a good variety of insects. Good for all ages, photography easy.

1  Thank Graham p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 hotels in Ross-on-Wye
The Old Court Hotel
541 reviews
.11 km away
The Paddocks Hotel
238 reviews
.77 km away
Pencraig Court Hotel
16 reviews
3.70 km away
Glewstone Court
633 reviews
5.05 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Potting Shed
99 reviews
.57 km away
Jo's Diner
33 reviews
.93 km away
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
319 reviews
1.05 km away
The Crown Whitchurch
6 reviews
.37 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wye Valley Cruises
13 reviews
.71 km away
Canoe the Wye
401 reviews
.73 km away
Ross on Wye Canoe Hire - Day Trips
227 reviews
.78 km away
Wye Canoes Ltd
111 reviews
.12 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Julie J
5 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Rubyroored | Reviewed this property |
Don’t know there are disabled spaces but I’d be careful as they scan your car plate as you go in so you need to check on the pay meter
1
Vote
heartbev
25 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from wiilhunting | Reviewed this property |
DecisionSuccessful Assessor NameSophie Taylor Assessor summary of operator case The operator has issued the Parking Charge Notice (PCN) as the appellant has failed to purchase sufficient parking time to cover the period of... More
3
Votes
kazzybRedditch
16 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from HeyesBros | Property representative |
Dogs are unfortunately not allowed in any of the enclosures, the butterfly zoo included due to the zoo licensing laws, which apply to our zoo. Dogs, however, are welcome on the grounds and there is a nice riverside walk to... More
0
Votes