We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Big Sheep

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Abbotsham Rd, Bideford EX39 5AP, England
Phone Number:
+44 1237 472366
Website
Today
10:00 - 18:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 18:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Fee: Yes
Description:

Devon's Large Attraction of the Year (2013/14), The BIG Sheep is firmly...

Devon's Large Attraction of the Year (2013/14), The BIG Sheep is firmly established as one of the UK's most innovative and exciting family attractions providing wacky and unique entertainment for all the family. NEW FOR 2016: The BIG One Rollercoaster Visit the South West's biggest family roller coaster which can be ridden by everyone over 4 years old! 400m of awesome fun, over 12m high with two lift hills and guaranteed to make you smile! Hilarious and entertaining shows include the World Famous sheep racing, complete with woolly jockeys, Horse Whispering, Dog and Duck Trials. Shepherds with a wicked sense of humor will have you laughing out loud as you are introduced to 10 different breeds of sheep who will strut their stuff live on stage to music! Children AND adults can burn off excess energy and play safely on a great selection of slides and imaginative soft play climbing areas, tumble towers, mazes and obstacles in our MASSIVE indoor playarea.There are loads of fun packed outdoor activities too. For the adrenaline thrill seekers there are bookable sessions at the Adventure Centre adjacent to the park for Climbing, Low Ropes, Water Zorbing and Mountain Boarding and competitive families can battle it out using state of the art eye-safe laser guns at Battlefield Live Outdoor Combat Zone. You can also enjoy Farm Safari rides, magical lakeside train rides, pony rides, twister chair-o-planes rides, free beer tasting, outside jumping pillows, family splash zone and a chance to feed the baby lambs are just some of the treats in store. During the winter there is a toboggan and ice skating rink too. After an exhilarating day out, browse in our Sheepy Shop and Farm Shop and find local Westcountry products before relaxing with a delicious home made scones and a great big dollop of Devonshire clotted cream.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,754 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 1083
    Excellent
  • 383
    Very good
  • 153
    Average
  • 84
    Poor
  • 50
    Terrible
Fabulous!

We visited here today and had an absolutely fabulous day! Even today there was still plenty to entertain us. I'd recommend a visit!

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
Graham K
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

1,754 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,753: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited here today and had an absolutely fabulous day! Even today there was still plenty to entertain us. I'd recommend a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Graham K
thebigsheep, Head of Happiness at The Big Sheep, responded to this review

Hi Graham, thanks for your lovely review, which is quite refreshing in light of the few negative reviews we have received during half term. It's always much more helpful for visitors to talk to us on the day of their visitor as we will always do what we can to find a satisfactory resolution. I will pass your lovely comments... More 

Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited this "attraction" today and spent 40min there due to the fact that every thing other than the sheep barn and trampoline was closed. Save your money

Helpful?
Thank lukedav1
thebigsheep, Head of Happiness at The Big Sheep, responded to this review

Hi Luke, thanks for your review. Despite welcoming over 150,000 visitors we accept that we will occasionally get a visitor whose expectations we don’t meet. Most people can tell within an hour of their visit if The Big Sheep is for them and I can assure that had you raised your concerns with one of our friendly ‘flock’ we would... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited with my 4 year old autistic son who absolutely LOVED it. The map is a little difficult to understand (I'm generally a good with orientation!) but this one through me and took a little while to navigate how we were supposed to get to some areas of the park. (The train station is the sheep shed for those looking!)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kibberd
thebigsheep, Head of Happiness at The Big Sheep, responded to this review

Hello, I’m absolutely delighted to hear that your son LOVED the BIG Sheep. I have a friend who has three autistic children and she has given me lots of advice on the little things we can do to help make the visit for families with autistic children even better. We are always happy for families to come to the park... More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

After a great visit in the summer, the half term visit was very poor. The rollercoaster was not running and there was no signage at the entrance saying this. The swing ride, which the little one loves was only being run very infrequently. The indoor play was very busy ( which is understandable) but the floor was filthy with food... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
thebigsheep, Head of Happiness at The Big Sheep, responded to this review

Hello Stephen, sorry to hear that your second visit to the BIG Sheep was not as good as your visit during the summer. The Rollercoaster has extensive testing and maintenance completed in the winter ready for the 2017 main season. We do highlight on our website that the Rollercoaster is open from April until October Only and added it to... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just read some very negative reviews and wanted to say that although I haven't been here in the Winter, it was really great in Spring! I was here in April 2016 with my 2 adult daughters and my grandson. We last went here when on holiday in the 1980's when my girls were children themselves - they loved... More 

Helpful?
Thank Queri1
thebigsheep, Head of Happiness at The Big Sheep, responded to this review

Hello, many thanks for taking the time to leave such a positive review and for recommending the BIG Sheep as a five-star day out! I’m sure you’ve seen lots of changes since your first visit in the 80’s! Every year we invest in new rides, shows, attractions and events so we have something different to offer our regular visitors. It’s... More 

SUFFOLK
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Expensive half a day out ice skating was a little rink in the corner of a building the roller coaster out of action and not a lot else to do apart from feeding the sheep?

Helpful?
Thank GS1200Suffolk
thebigsheep, Head of Happiness at The Big Sheep, responded to this review

Hi, we are sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy your recent day out with us. During the winter we are unable to open all attractions due to winter maintenance and weather conditions. To reflect these closures, our prices are reduced by £2pp from the summer price of £13.95 per person to £11.95 per person. The Rollercoaster has extensive testing... More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017

We visited Big Sheep in July 2016 and we had a fantastic time the shows were amazing and the staff were really enthusiastic and helpful. Highly recommended and well worth the entrance price.

Helpful?
Thank L S
thebigsheep, Head of Happiness at The Big Sheep, responded to this review

Hello, many thanks for such a top review and for recommending the BIG Sheep to other visitors. Huge thanks from all the flock! More 

Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Visited the big sheep for the first time, kids absolutely loved it, loads to do for both adults and children

Helpful?
1 Thank scott w
thebigsheep, Head of Happiness at The Big Sheep, responded to this review

Hi Scott, so pleased you and your children enjoyed your first visit to the BIG Sheep. Hopefully see you all again at some point in the future for lashings more fun. All the best More 

Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

I know price is reduced at this time of year but very little is open so still seems rather expensive. I do think it needs to be a little cheaper especially for locals and family groups. We had food in the indoor play area and can't say it was wonderful. The chips were dry,mayonnaise was like vinegar,cheese was completely tasteless.

Helpful?
Thank denise956
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

This afternoon being Christmas Eve wanted to take my grandson out to start the holiday ,this time of year you want something special ,I'm sad to say we did not find it at the big sheep this afternoon ,it was over priced as an entrance £30 to find no animals at all not even one sheep or donkey seeing that... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Graham B
thebigsheep, Head of Happiness at The Big Sheep, responded to this review

Hello Graham, thank you for your review. It is always disappointing to receive a poor review especially in light of the many great reviews we have received during 2016. During the winter period our entry price is reduced to reflect the fact that our shows and some of our rides are not operational and because we do not have any... More 

Travellers who viewed The Big Sheep also viewed

 
Westward Ho, Bideford
Barnstaple, Devon
 

Been to The Big Sheep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Big Sheep and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Big Sheep staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?