We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stirling Ghost Walk

St John's Street, Stirling FK8 1EA, Scotland
Save
Review Highlights
A++

Had a great time, stories were fun and interesting and incredibly well acted. Would definitely come... read more

Reviewed 14 April 2018
bubsmcsqueak
via mobile
Great storyteller in a fascinating town

I went on this tour as part of a work experience with a bunch of other people from North America. I... read more

Reviewed 7 March 2018
JavisQDunkirk
,
Huntington Beach, California
Read all 283 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Stirling Ghost Walk - now nearing it's twenty-fifth year - is a guided dramatic guided tour of Stirling's historic Old Town, using comedy and drama to recount frightful tales from the history and folklore of the area. Tours run at 8.30pm, Tuesday-to-Saturday in July and August, each year, and at 8pm on Fridays and Saturdays from September-to-June - all tours meeting at the gates of the Old Town Jail / SYHA Hostel in St John Street, Stirling. Private bookings are available throughout the year - and a 10% discount offered to patrons of local hotels, hostels and B&Bs.Visit our website or Facebook for details and updates.
  • Excellent92%
  • Very good5%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“jock rankin” (18 reviews)
“david kinnaird” (12 reviews)
“story teller” (9 reviews)
LOCATION
St John's Street, Stirling FK8 1EA, Scotland
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"jock rankin"
in 18 reviews
"david kinnaird"
in 12 reviews
"story teller"
in 9 reviews
"spend an evening"
in 6 reviews
"local hotel"
in 5 reviews
"spooky fun"
in 3 reviews
"evening's entertainment"
in 3 reviews
"great character"
in 4 reviews
"whole group"
in 5 reviews
"halloween weekend"
in 3 reviews
"youth hostel"
in 5 reviews
"old jail"
in 9 reviews
"brilliant tour"
in 4 reviews
"small group"
in 6 reviews
"history tour"
in 3 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 5 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 5 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 270 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2018 via mobile

Had a great time, stories were fun and interesting and incredibly well acted. Would definitely come again, thanks for an amazing evening! - 'Stripey'

1  Thank bubsmcsqueak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Thank you, Bubs (aka 'Stripey'). Glad you enjoyed the show!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2018

I went on this tour as part of a work experience with a bunch of other people from North America. I had never been on a tour like this, but if they are all this good, I will be seeking them out. The storyteller met...More

1  Thank JavisQDunkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2018

Thanks, Javis. Glad you enjoyed the stories...and the town: the gloriously gothic graveyard and the Castle looming over it are certainly atmospheric, especially on a misty Winter night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2018

Wonderful stories, lots of History and a great Host. A must do while in Sterling not for the faint hearted 😍

1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

Many thanks, Sarah. I hope our recent snowy weather added to the athmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2018

Our guide was wonderful. He kept everyone hanging on every word with the griping tales of history and legend. He is by no means a stuffy humdrum walk around the grounds boring guide. He became the Happy Hangman right down to period dress. On the...More

Thank Gypsysdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Thank you, Gypsydragon. Thank you, articularly, for coming on the tour when the Old Town was under feet of Scottish snow - which, I hope, added to the experience. Spread the word - the best marketing a show like this can have are the comments...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2017

Having been on this ghost walk a few years back it was great to revisit and hear the new stories and take part in the fun of Stirlings best ghost walk. A must if your visiting the area or a local looking to do something...More

Thank Morag70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2017

Thank you, Morag. Hope to see you again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2017

Really good night out in the old town of Stirling. the stories keep you gripped and really get the mind racing when standing in the darkness in the local graveyard.

Thank Kenney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2017

Thank you, Kenney. I'm glad to say we have a great many patrons who come back to see us regularly - an indication, I hope, that we're doing something right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2017

Went here for something different to do on our family weekend absolutely enjoyed the craic ,the tour guide was fantastic think his name was jock dressed for the role he was his costume was from years ago really felt we were back in time from...More

Thank brenda1963xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017

Thank you, Brenda. Glad you enjoyed The Hangman's tall tales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2017

we have done this walk a few times and it just gets better , Jock ranking , your host for the evening is scary funny and satirical all a the same time. His tales are very informative and he obviously has an amazing knowledge of...More

Thank phil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Thank you, Phil. Always good to see familiar faces. It is - I hope - a sign that The Hangman is doing something right, that so many people come back time and time again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2017

Enjoyed the SGW last night on a lovely but chilly November evening with a 'supermoon', clear skies & stars out and some fireworks going off in the background. Small group, the guide was superb, very interesting and knowledgeable chap, my brother and his wife who...More

Thank harveyhalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2017

Thank you, Harvey. Glad you enjoyed the show. Off-season the GhostWalk is a one-man show - and it's rather difficult for me to jump out on myself!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2017

Have meant to go on this ghost walk for years, but finally made it on Halloween 2017, and it was most definitely worth the wait! The Hangman is fantastic - from his costume to his acting, to his wonderful way with the audience, it was...More

1  Thank Broons2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Thank you, Broons2012! A wee bit of banter from the audiences is not a bad thing, but too much can be a little distracting for the group as a whole - thankfully, as you noticed, The Hangman has a few tricks up his spectral sleeve...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 hotels in Stirling
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2,209 reviews
.17 km away
The Portcullis Hotel
194 reviews
.20 km away
Hotel Colessio
827 reviews
.21 km away
Allan's Guest House
1 review
.27 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Smithy
234 reviews
.19 km away
Darnley Coffee House
260 reviews
.06 km away
Hermann's
611 reviews
.09 km away
Henderson's Bistro
347 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Old Town Jail
314 reviews
.06 km away
Church of the Holy Rude
328 reviews
.10 km away
Stirling Smith Art Gallery & Museum
148 reviews
.27 km away
Argyll's Lodging
269 reviews
.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ashley4182
April 13, 2018|
Answer
Response from David K | Property representative |
Hello there. Yup. Just show up at the Old Town Jail gate from 7.45pm. On those occasions where scheduled shows are sold-out or at full capacity we will post details at least a week in advance on our main website and our... More
0
Votes
Melanie M
June 9, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David K | Property representative |
£6 for adults, £4 for Kids, Students or Seniors
0
Votes
allison f
August 31, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David K | Property representative |
We start at the gates of the Old Town Jail, St John Street, Stirling (next to the SYHA Youth Hostel), at 8pm on Fridays and Saturdays - tickets available from 7.45pm. Booking in advance is usually unnecessary - except for... More
2
Votes
;