We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Via Gustavo Modena snc, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number: +39 0584 44045
Website
Today
08:00 - 20:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 20:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

Bath house with five pools, beauty SPA

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 201 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 3
    Excellent
  • 2
    Very good
  • 3
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Dinner

This is an establishment where it's worthwhile to try to strike up a rapport with the staff. It's very local - a beautiful place, but don't expect the staff to treat you like... read more

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 July 2015
Chrissie R
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 15: English reviews
Tavares
Level Contributor
171 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

Nice ocean view, free entry for buying drinks poolside, and free appetizers with drinks at the sushi bar.

Helpful?
Thank BellaTavares
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
2,666 reviews
1,161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 485 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2016

Nice restaurant with excellent seafood on the beach, where all is to rent separately if you want, but you have the choice, there are so much beaches; excellent wine and cold beer on the terrace.

Helpful?
Thank Manuela L
Balena V, Responsabile reception at Balena, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive feedback. We are happy that you had good time . More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2016

Whilst staying at a hotel in Viareggio, one of the receptionists recommended this beach to us, as it was nearly opposite the hotel. We were charged 25 Euros for 2 deckchairs (not even sun beds) and a parasol. We were told that we could use the swimming pool but not the loungers around it. After plonking myself on the sand,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rita P
Balena V, Responsabile reception at Balena, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. The new management is working to achieve high quality. Your suggestions are important for us. The price for an umbrella and two deck is 25,00 € in low season. A surcharge may apply for replacement of sunbeds. For the same price we offer the umbrella with sun beds on the pool. July and August are predicting... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

This is an establishment where it's worthwhile to try to strike up a rapport with the staff. It's very local - a beautiful place, but don't expect the staff to treat you like royalty unless you treat them well. The fish is very good and the atmosphere is lovely, especially at sunset.

Helpful?
Thank Chrissie R
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

This place is overpriced... and then they have a daily rate of 15 E and a weekly rate of 110E. Ask why and they just say take your pick. Would not go here!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Siino
London
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hi All, I had conducted a lot of research whilst my holiday in Tuscany. we were staying in Lucca and had read alot of reviews on Balena. after visiting Viareggio and going specifically to Balena I would not recommend it. the prices are very expensive indeed, more expensive than the other beach establishments, therefore I would stick to the others... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave017
finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Why would one want to visit a place where staff is rude and unattentive, there is plenty of other places to choose from.

Helpful?
1 Thank malte
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The pools were lovely but this is a sports club so there were a lot of 'serious swimmers' there and wearing a swimming cap was compulsory. The water was freezing! The toilets were horrible! We enjoyed using the sun loungers here and the beach area is nice and well kept.

Helpful?
1 Thank Smalls1983
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We visited Balena mainly for the fitness center, which was well equipped in comparison to most other establishments in the area. If you are looking for anything " upscale" or spa- like, this is not the place. There was a decent amount of cardio equipment, weight machines, free weights and a separate area for stretching. I also noticed some aqua... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Frances W
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

During our two week stay we visited here once. Although our hotel gave a pass for this beach club we did not return. The food was not very good and when we were going on the beach they did not bother to point out where the deck chairs allocated were. The general feeling was disinterest by the staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria S

Travellers who viewed Balena also viewed

Viareggio, Province of Lucca
Viareggio, Province of Lucca
 
Viareggio, Province of Lucca
Viareggio, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Balena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Balena staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?