We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Belleek Castle Museum

Belleek Castle | Garrankeel, Ballina, Ireland
+353 96 22400
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Eccentric, amazing interiors!

Beautiful castle with delightful surprises inside. The owner collected eccentric architectural... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Hamberann
,
Houston, Texas
Brilliant experience

We were walking in the woods and we needed a toilet for a young child. The hotel were extremely... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
William O
,
Dublin, Ireland
via mobile
Read all 162 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Open 7 days a week, our castle tours are a highlight not to be missed. The Tours include the history of the castle, going back to the Middle Ages. You will see the Medieval Banquet Hall, the Spanish Armada Bar and other romantic Rooms. The highlight of the tour will be the Marshall Doran Collection,the finest collections of medieval armour, jurassic fossils and antiques in Ireland.
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good17%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Belleek Castle | Garrankeel, Ballina, Ireland
CONTACT
Website
+353 96 22400
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful castle with delightful surprises inside. The owner collected eccentric architectural bits and pieces and remade the castle interiors which are just fantastic! Do not miss an opportunity to visit!

Thank Hamberann
Paul D, Assistant Curator at Belleek Castle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the brilliant review and we look forward to having you visit us again at Belleek Castle! We are delighted that you thought our castle was beautiful with "delightful surprises inside"! Kind regards, Stephen, Assistant Curator

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were walking in the woods and we needed a toilet for a young child. The hotel were extremely helpful. While there we asked about the tour as we had missed one and the next one was advertised as 14.00. We were pleasantly surprised to...More

Thank William O
Paul D, Assistant Curator at Belleek Castle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are delighted that you enjoyed your tour of Belleek Castle and the Marshall Doran Collection. We love to have people who are wandering around Belleek woods to come in and visit us! We are open for tours from 11 am and the last tour...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were staying at the castle and I knew the hands on portion of the tour would appeal to my 20 somethings so we stayed for the tour. Our tour guide was informative and allowed my girls to see first hand what it would have...More

1  Thank Lori S
Paul D, Assistant Curator at Belleek Castle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the tour of Belleek Castle and the Marshall Doran Collection and thank you very much for your five star review. What most visitors really enjoy the most when they come here is the hands on portion of the...More

Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

A must to get to know about the fascinating history of Belleek Castle. There are set times with a guide. We thought it was a separate museum. It is in fact the whole building. You have to go. Fascinating!!More

Thank Linda S
Paul D, Assistant Curator at Belleek Castle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thanks for the great review and we hope you enjoyed your guided tour of Belleek Castle and the Marshall Doran Collection. There are scheduled tours at 11 a.m, 2 p.m and 4 p.m. But call in anytime between 11-4 for a tour of Belleek. Sometimes...More

Reviewed 12 June 2017

This was our 2nd visit to the Castle and it didn’t disappoint. The tour was very interesting, lots of historic information. Our guide Carol, was personable and very well informed.The Marshall Doran Collection is a must see. On our next visit we will definitely try...More

Thank Kerry-100-w
Paul D, Assistant Curator at Belleek Castle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

We love to hear that on your second visit to Belleek Castle that you enjoyed yourself. Carol is a brilliant tour guide and we are very lucky to have her! Many of the people visiting are surprised by the lots of historic information in the...More

Reviewed 8 June 2017

Wow what a small intimate Castle full of interesting artifacts, a fantastic collection of armour from around the world and to top it all we had the most wonderful tour guide Carol, from the very start she had us all hanging on her every word....More

Thank Lorraine E
Paul D, Assistant Curator at Belleek Castle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our intimate tour of Belleek Castle and The Marshall Doran Collection. We are very lucky to have Carol as one of tour guides as she is very good at bringing the history of the castle to life....More

Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Such and great place to visit in Ballina! We had a tour of the castle which took us to places you don't get to see staying here. Lovely tour guide gave us amazing insight into the original owners of the house and how life in...More

Thank JessicaSuffolkEng
Paul D, Assistant Curator at Belleek Castle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

We are delighted that you enjoyed our tour of Belleek Castle and the Marshall Doran Collection! We try and give visitors all aspects of Belleek Castle's history and talk about the many people who lived there in the past! We love to show visitors our...More

Reviewed 17 May 2017

I stayed here one night . Not suitable if you wish to have a twin room . Full of History and they give a free tour of the castle and its museum Anna.More

Thank Anna D
Paul D, Assistant Curator at Belleek Castle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

We are really happy that you enjoyed your tour of Belleek Castle and the Marshall Doran Collection. Unfortunately the tour of the Belleek Castle is not free for everybody, but some of our guests get complimentary tours as part of some of our packages when...More

Reviewed 15 May 2017

We had noted on the website there were tours at 11am, 2pm and 4pm. But when we arrived, there was a sign indicating only 11am and 2pm. It was 3:30. We asked at the front desk and Stephen replied 'No problem, I will take you'....More

1  Thank 523SM523
Paul D, Assistant Curator at Belleek Castle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour of Belleek Castle and the Marshall Doran Collection. Sorry about the signs at the gate, we will be getting new signs for the gate in the near future. We are delighted that you felt...More

Reviewed 9 May 2017

Called in for a walk around the grounds and it was worth it but the real treat was indoors. nice area and indoors were just as nice to look at as the outdoors but the tea and scones were definitely the highlight for me. There...More

1  Thank Michael M
Donna M, Assistant Curator at Belleek Castle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

We are very happy that you enjoyed walking the grounds of Belleek Castle and decided to call inside Belleek and try our scones! If you do decide to visit us again why not get a guided tour of the castle between 11 a.m and 2...More

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Dillons Bar & Restaurant
444 reviews
2.04 km away
Belleek Castle Restaurant
299 reviews
.01 km away
Crockets on the Quay
344 reviews
.53 km away
The Junction
173 reviews
2.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Connacht Whiskey Company
38 reviews
1.28 km away
Rosserk Friary
53 reviews
4.24 km away
Ballina Arts Centre
12 reviews
2.61 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
henrietta145
23 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Paul D | Property representative |
Hi Henrietta, Sorry for the delay in getting back to you! I was away for a few day's. I can offer you a price of €5 per head. I just checked our availability and we are available for tours between 11 and 4. What time in the... More
0
Votes
Brian1504
8 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Arfur51 | Reviewed this property |
Best to contact the hotel and arrange a group visit. Dont forget to visit the excellent Jackie Clarke Museum in Ballina as well.
0
Votes