We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Segedunum

2 Buddle Street, Wallsend NE28 6EH, England
+44 191 236 9347
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Good couple of hours for the kids

If your children are studying Romans, this is a great place to take them. Although it’s quite... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
O5carBravo
,
Sunderland, United Kingdom
via mobile
Closed

What a bummer, arrived too early in the year to visit this but we were able to walk round behind it... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Edwardo C
,
Berkeley, Ca
via mobile
Read all 202 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good43%
  • Average16%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“bath house” (40 reviews)
“viewing tower” (17 reviews)
“roman fort” (27 reviews)
LOCATION
2 Buddle Street, Wallsend NE28 6EH, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 191 236 9347
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bath house"
in 40 reviews
"viewing tower"
in 17 reviews
"roman fort"
in 27 reviews
"hadrian's wall"
in 36 reviews
"eastern end"
in 6 reviews
"roman bath"
in 2 reviews
"video showing"
in 2 reviews
"world heritage site"
in 2 reviews
"roman times"
in 4 reviews
"school children"
in 3 reviews
"great viewing"
in 2 reviews
"great museum"
in 5 reviews
"cafe serves"
in 2 reviews
"industrial revolution"
in 2 reviews
"south shields"
in 7 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 9 reviews
"three hours"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If your children are studying Romans, this is a great place to take them. Although it’s quite small, the set up is very good and the staff were great. We went in Half Term with 4 kids ranging from 3-14 and they all found something...More

Thank O5carBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a bummer, arrived too early in the year to visit this but we were able to walk round behind it (avoiding all the litter and dog turds) to see the rear of the baths, some of the wall, and the original bath house foundations...More

Thank Edwardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you were unable to visit the museum and experience everything that Segedunum has to offer, but it's good to know that you were able to see the original bath house remains. Geoff...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Interesting roman site with mockup of a roman bath housr. There is also a replica of part of the roman wall but this is situated about 100 metrs west on ghe other side of the main road

Thank MakemRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I'm glad you found your visit interesting. Kind regards Geoff Woodward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

To see the end of the wall was brilliant. Staff friendly, great viewing point to see the area and also to see what was the shipbuilding area and where the Mauritania was built. We crossed the road to see the reconstructed wall and a piece...More

Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Total waste of £30 - only ever going to have been slightly interesting for very young school kids while doing a Roman project - no reason for anyone else to bother coming here.More

1  Thank robertgarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Segedunum. I am sorry that you had such a disappointing experience. We do endeavour to engage and inspire people of all ages and have a wide-ranging offer including: • The World Heritage Site at...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This is a very special plsce to visit, because it is the End of Hadrian's Wall! It has a scenic view from a modern tower with an elevator. It has a fantastic museum of Roman and English history. It has interactive displays, such as constructing...More

Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hello Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about Segedunum; it's great to hear such feedback. Geoff Woodward Museum Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

I’ve visited many times and it’s always enjoyable. The history is great, there’s always lots to see. My nieces and nephews love going when they visit Wallsend. There is always hands on experiences, and things to do for children young and teens. The Roman bathe...More

Thank Joyceybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hello Thank you for taking the time to pass on feedback about your visits! It's great to hear that you like to come back, and inspire younger people too. Geoff Woodward Museum Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Some excellent information timelines on the video screens and well presented exhibits. Liked the overview from the tower, and the end of wall sculpture, but not so well mapped or explained as I would have liked. I felt slightly short changed by lack of facilities...More

Thank Marydon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hello Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent visit to Segedunum. I am sorry that you were a little disappointed by the facilities and some of the displays. We have recently invested in new visitor facilities such as the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Both the museum and Roman excavations were a pleasure to visit. The museum was suitable for both children and adults as it has exhibits to interest all. There was a wonderful activities room for the children which would be excellent for visiting school groups. We...More

Thank BJN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This museum is unusual as there is a main road that runs through the middle of it. At £5.95 entrance fee, it is not the cheapest of museums, but we had a reduction as part of the museum (the bath house) was closed. Our visit...More

Thank HolidayForUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PreviousNext
12345619
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Wallsend Hotels
City Apartments Newcastle - Quayside
26 reviews
3.93 km away
Rosebery Hotel Jesmond
404 reviews
3.97 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
1,070 reviews
4.22 km away
Village Hotel Newcastle
2,886 reviews
4.33 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Sopranos Italian Restaurant
213 reviews
.38 km away
The Kitchen
12 reviews
.48 km away
Bella Pizza Italian Restaurant
25 reviews
.20 km away
Gill's Golden Fish And Chips
36 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Role Play
8 reviews
1.98 km away
Gala Bingo Wallsend
28 reviews
2.77 km away
Centurion Park Golf Course
11 reviews
1.52 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
hermiony199510
8 March 2017|
Answer
Response from TyneandWearMuseums | Property representative |
Hi, No we do not have a confirmed re-opening dates for the bath house at the moment. It is still closed for essential maintenance. Best wishes - Geoff Woodward, Museum Manager.
0
Votes