We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 2 Buddle Street, Wallsend NE28 6EH, England
Phone Number:
+44 191 236 9347
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 162 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 45
    Excellent
  • 59
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Must visit

Segedunum is the remains of the Roman fort at Wallsend,Tyne and Wear, England, UK. The fort lay at the eastern end of Hadrian's Wall .It It is also part of the Hadrian's Wall... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
TaherAlbaghliJulian
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 149: English reviews
north east
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent Museum, well laid and lots of interactivity for younger people and not so young people. The viewing Tower was brilliant especially on a sunny day. loved the Brass rubbing too

Helpful?
Thank timetoponder
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
806 reviews
523 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 514 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Segedunum is the remains of the Roman fort at Wallsend,Tyne and Wear, England, UK. The fort lay at the eastern end of Hadrian's Wall .It It is also part of the Hadrian's Wall UNESCO World Heritage site .I Visited segedunum and founded it great the rebuilt bath. Fabulous and wellworth visit and stay long as you can to relax.

Helpful?
Thank TaherAlbaghliJulian
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2016

Well worth the slightly longer drive out of town, my hubby and I had a lovely day soaking in the winter sun and the history! Not to mention the views!!

Helpful?
Thank hoffkarman
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review! Segedunum really does look stunning in the winter sun, I have to admit though it is even better in the summer so do visit us again if you can! Best wishes, Geoff Woodward, Museum Manager. More 

Wallsend-on-Tyne, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

Visited segedunum and founded it great the rebuilt bath house is a must . Fabulous insight to life on the wall The observations tower gives you a commanding view of the fort and the Tyne

Helpful?
Thank Gary I
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed seeing the exterior of the reconstructed bath house and that this really helped you to imagine life on Hadrian’s Wall. We hope to see you again in the future, when we are able to re-open the bath house so you can see the rooms inside too. Best... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Visited here the other day. No one else was there so had the place to ourselves! Tower overlooking the site was impressive, it's a nice change to be able to see it all from above and see how it's all laid out etc. Unfortunately the Roman Bath reconstruction wasn't open and this is what I primarily went there to see.... More 

Helpful?
Thank LissBurrows
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and visiting Segedunum Roman Fort. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed the view from the tower and felt it really helped you to understand the layout of the fort site. I’m sorry that you were disappointed by the reconstructed Roman Bath house being currently closed but this is due to essential maintenance. I... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

Not clear on the website. The information about assistance dogs comes quite low down on the list, doesn't mention anything else. The member of staff was very patronising when explaining to me that no dogs were allowed on site, despite there being a dog bowl outside.

Helpful?
Thank Kath K
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are currently reviewing whether we allow dogs onto the site at Segedunum. We will endeavour to make the information on the website clearer. I am very sorry to hear you found a member of staff patronising when explaining this. All staff have been trained to our customer service standards and will be reminded of... More 

surbiton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

Disappointed to find that no dogs were allowed especially as I had just walked Hadrian's Wall with my canine companion.

Helpful?
Thank honeybees2013
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are currently reviewing whether we allow dogs onto the site at Segedunum as we know many people like yourself walk the Wall trail with their dogs. Best wishes – Geoff Woodward, Museum Manager. More 

Mere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016

This fort is at the end of the wall, unfortunately over the centuries the site has been built over, excavated for coal and then used for industrial buildings and housing. The site is now divided by the road but from the tower with the aid of video's you can assess the original site. There is nothing left of the buildings,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Saluki25
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016

Had a guided tour with Stuart here last week and it was really interesting. The museum has very good exhibits and a great viewing tour. The guide was very educational and we had a nice walk to the Roman baths. We took the metro from Newcastle and it is only about a two minute walk to the attraction. Well worth... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mairmi01
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We visited the segedunum on our way from York to Edinburgh. I'm not sure what I was expecting but I came away thinking that I'd completely wasted £6. We paid for our tickets (which took about ten minutes as there were issues with the till) and there was no explanation or anything from the staff of what to see or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Silpa101283
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Segedunum Roman Fort. I am very sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience. Upon your arrival at the Museum you should have been provided with an official guide map which details the extent of the archaeological site and the museum galleries. We recommend at least two hours to visit Segedunum Roman... More 

Travellers who viewed Segedunum also viewed

South Shields, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Segedunum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Segedunum staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?