We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anahulu Cave - The Underground Swimming Pool

Halaliku Rd, Haveluliku, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
+676 23-363
Website
Share
Save
Book In Advance
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
These are limestone caves with fresh water to swim in. Situated in the village of Haveluliku on the Eastern Side of Tonga and only about a 30 minute drive from Nuku'alofa it's a must see.A tour of the cave ( including a swim) plus drop off and pick up can be organized by email or contact Teta Office in Nuku'alofa, TongaAnahulu Beach is just infront of the entrance of the cave and is great for snorkeling and swimming.
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good31%
  • Average9%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Halaliku Rd, Haveluliku, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
CONTACT
Website
+676 23-363
Ways to Experience Anahulu Cave - The Underground Swimming Pool
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cool experience"
in 8 reviews
"mind blowing"
in 4 reviews
"unique experience"
in 4 reviews
"clear water"
in 4 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 3 reviews
"short walk"
in 4 reviews
"great spot"
in 3 reviews
"local boys"
in 8 reviews
"cool off"
in 5 reviews
"bats flying"
in 3 reviews
"torch"
in 44 reviews
"lighting"
in 20 reviews
"swim"
in 87 reviews
"stalactites"
in 13 reviews
"generator"
in 33 reviews
"dip"
in 7 reviews
"locals"
in 13 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The cave is worth a visit. If you are not on a tour it costs 15 TOP each for admission. Best have a torch as the lights are not reliable and watch your step. The swim is magical.

Thank Frances51255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teta T, Manager at Anahulu Cave - The Underground Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanking you for your positive feedback unfortunately we c as boy light up the whole cave This unique place is not be missed when in Tonga God Bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The walk through the cave is short and the water hole is beautiful. The experience is great but at $60.00 panga for a family of 4, its a bit of a con just to have a swim....More

1  Thank Kirsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teta T, Manager at Anahulu Cave - The Underground Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I guess if its a bit pricey then dont go to Anahulu Cave because thats only about $8.00 AUD pp we have to pay petrol for the generator , repairs , clean up , and so many more expenses behind the scenes that we don't...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you are scared of small spaces and the dark, probably not the best choice for you. There are lights that they turn on for you but there are still dark patches. Reward yourself with a dip in the water once you have climbed and...More

Thank HolzSkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teta T, Manager at Anahulu Cave - The Underground Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are satisfied you had a great adventure @ Anahulu Cave .... we are here to listen to what our guests want and expect when at Anahulu Cave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2018

We went here with our Tongan family. Was too expensive to see it. Pity though, it would have been nice to seeMore

Thank Leslee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teta T, Owner at Anahulu Cave - The Underground Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

I apologize that you viewed it that way its $15.00 TOP per adult and half price for the kids Email us on anahulucave@yahoo.com for next time so we can help you out . Pls note everyone that you can email us on anahulucave@yahoo.com and let...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018

very Cool attraction , nothing flash about the set up , but what is inside will really surprise you. Went for a swim , amazing how deep and fresh the water was. Worth the trip over to that side of the IslandMore

Thank MarlinBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teta T, Manager at Anahulu Cave - The Underground Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Thanks for choosing Anahulu cave to come around and thanks very much for this review there's still a lot of improvements to be done hopefully by the end of the year we would have done more to develop AnahuluCave..Hope you will tell more friends about...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

Please don't go here and get ripped off. They forced us to pay 15 pa'anga to get in.. The water is stagnant and brown, full of rubbish, the cave is sick, the stalectites and stalecmites are unwell. Im usually not one to leave negative reviews...More

Thank Sage-ness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teta T, Owner at Anahulu Cave - The Underground Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

Excuse me you weren't forced to pay , you are required to pay $15.00 which is normal at Anahulu Cave ..why didn't you just leave hello ??? The reason the water is brown because of the rain go figure , are you a scientist to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2018

Some friends and I came here by mere chance. There were locals in there swimming and having a great time! All were so friendly and included us in their day! Being here was the only place I could find in Tonga where I could actually...More

Thank 271callumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teta T, Manager at Anahulu Cave - The Underground Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2018

I'm to do something about the mere chance that u said about coming to Anahulu more adverts on social media is needed ....after a very bad review a few days ago its good to have a very good review I thank you for the positive...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2018 via mobile

My family and in laws (6 people total) took a trip out to the cave to visit for the 1st time. Excited to have this experience, turned into the worst day and we will never go back there again. It is dark and difficult to...More

2  Thank JennaP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teta T, Manager at Anahulu Cave - The Underground Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

What we will say wont change what happened before but we to get to the bottom of this and we are sorry that this had happened. We are still in investigation who was the culprit , was it our staff or boys who happened to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Worth a drive to see the sights inside the cave which were well worth seeing! The young men who operated the attraction used a generator to light up the inside of the cave but asked us if we brought our own torch as it is...More

Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Lighting very poor for short walk to swimming area. Extremely slippery, not pleasant experience in the half-light. Maybe it was because it had been raining, but the swimming area looked VERY dirty and had bits of debris floating in it. I would not have swum...More

Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teta T, Manager at Anahulu Cave - The Underground Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thanks for your feedback the only excuse I can think of is that there was alot of rain lately and the run off from the main road ends up in Anahulu Cave . The swimming pool isn't the only reason why u would visit Anahulu...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 hotels in Tongatapu Island
Oholei Beach Resort
36 reviews
3.53 km away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
200 reviews
4.35 km away
The Friendly Islander- Papiloa's Place.
49 reviews
9.96 km away
Pangaimotu Island Resort
89 reviews
10.50 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Escape
235 reviews
12.67 km away
Friends Cafe
808 reviews
12.66 km away
Waterfront Restaurant
133 reviews
11.04 km away
Little Italy Hotel & Restaurant
232 reviews
13.93 km away
Nearby Attractions
Anahulu Cave Ancient Tonga Cultural Centre
9 reviews
.70 km away
Captain Cook's Landing Place
14 reviews
3.36 km away
Fatai Kayak Adventures
33 reviews
4.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lowie H
March 4, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Teta T | Property representative |
maybe its not ok with the entrance u have to bend down sorry I dont want to coz any problems with your pregancy ...if u are travelling with other people u can take a look first but to be on the safe side u might just go to... More
0
Votes
Jill H
September 17, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Huluana |
Pls wear sturdy shoes coz it could be slippery .. Local people walk in barefoot but the are used to it also with jumping off the rocks if you're doing bombs that's ok ..leave the diving in head first to the locals they're... More
1
Vote
Donna F
January 16, 2016|
Answer
Response from agape2000 | Reviewed this property |
It was 10 Tongan pagaa a person to enter the cave, or you can book cheap tours through teta tours, contact them through Facebook for their great prices, such as 70 tp for a half day tour
0
Votes