We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 23 Tamaki Dr | Orakei, Auckland, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 9-528 0603
Website
Today
09:30 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:30 - 17:00
Description:

Kelly Tarlton’s Antarctic Encounter & Underwater World is home to New...

Kelly Tarlton’s Antarctic Encounter & Underwater World is home to New Zealand's only sub-Antarctic penguins and offers a myriad of opportunities to get up close and personal with incredible marine life from the Pacific and Southern oceans.For a truly incredible experience, take the plunge on an Animal Adventure – we offer cage-free shark dives, PADI-recognised diver training, snorkel and scuba safaris through the Oceanarium or the chance to hand-feed the giant stingrays!

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.73*
and up
Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium Entry Ticket
More Info
US$26.52*
and up
Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,956 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 676
    Excellent
  • 607
    Very good
  • 315
    Average
  • 101
    Poor
  • 32
    Terrible
As close as you'll get without getting wet

An amazing institution by a man with a vision, who unfortunately never got to see his dream come to full fruition. Get as close to penguins as you'll get short of being one of... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 March 2016
Brenda B
,
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

1,956 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,731: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2016

We had a enjoyable afternoon at the Aquarium there is quite a lot to see it is quite well spread out with great viewing areas, the Penguins are always a favourite to see and the feeding times were well spaced out.

Helpful?
Thank Brian J
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

This is a good place to take family or friends with young children but for the price you pay there isn't much to see/do. Compared to the Auckland Zoo which can take half a day to see and do everything, Kelly Tarlton's can be done from start to finish within an hour. The penguins are cute and the aquarium displays... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharne W
KTs_Phil_McG, General Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're sorry you felt your visit short. We encourage all of our guests to make the most from their visit by attending our free daily animal talks and feeds, which happen through out the day - the penguin feed in particular is very popular. We hope to see you back... More 

Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2016

You have to rent a car or take a bus. It is an ok aquarium compared to American ones. Costs around 30 USD for entry.

Helpful?
Thank Rosey P
KTs_Phil_McG, General Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. Kelly Tarlton's is located 10 minutes drive from Auckland City. We have a free shuttle bus which departs hourly from the city - recognisable as it looks like a giant shark! We hope you enjoyed your visit. More 

Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2016

If you have kids who are bored and love penquins, maybe okay. Or, if you really want to see the room of a south pole explorer. This place is quite small and if you have been to aquariums anywhere else you will be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank dorothy96734
KTs_Phil_McG, General Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review

Thanks for giving us your feedback. We're sorry you didn't think our attraction lived up to expectations. We encourage all of our guests to take advantage of our free animal talks and feeds that happen throughout the day, which are really popular with our guests. As we are underground we are limited in the space we can expand to, however... More 

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2016

An amazing institution by a man with a vision, who unfortunately never got to see his dream come to full fruition. Get as close to penguins as you'll get short of being one of the lucky few to get to Antarctica. Walk through Scotts Hut and experience the hardships the the early pioneers of the ice. Try holding your hand... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda B
KTs_Phil_McG, General Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, we're so glad you enjoyed your visit. Great to hear you saved money by booking online - we hope to see you again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2016

I had a 2-4-1 voucher to use which was why I visited. Seems to have changed for the worse since I was a child- perhaps because I am not a child I found no magic in it. The penguins were active which was good but the enclosure looked quite shabby and was noisy. The Scott exhibition was very basic really-... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cazza900
KTs_Phil_McG, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton's SEA LIFE Aquarium. I have taken your comments into account and these will be discussed in the next team meeting. We are in the process of updating our signage and this will include more details of our conservation work and sustainability. We do a vast amount of work... More 

Te Kuiti, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Its upgraded alot, since last time i came here.if you want to see our fish, this is the place to see them,and you can take pictures and selfies with your favorite fish,the kids love it,perfect for a rainy day enjoying a coffee.its something you have to do in nz

Helpful?
1 Thank ex-army-now-caveman
KTs_Phil_McG, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton's SEA LIFE Aquarium. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I have shared your positive comments with the wider team who work tirelessly to ensure our aquarium is interesting and fun. Thank you for your review and thank you for visiting More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2016

Good points were that it's inside, open on bank holidays and I enjoyed the Scott exhibition but it only took about 45 minutes to walk around and was quite expensive so I therefore felt like it wasn't good value for money. We bought our tickets online so saved a bit of money, however I noticed that some boxes of cereal... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Every_cloud2016
KTs_Phil_McG, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton's SEA LIFE Aquarium. We have various animal talks and feeds that occur throughout the day that really enhance your visit, my favourite is the Stingray and Elephant Shark talk and feed that occurs daily at 10.30am, 13.00 and 15.00. Thank you for your review and thank you for... More 

Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2016

The displays are thoughtfully done at the aquarium and we particularly enjoyed the wonderful display of many dozens of penguins. The shark tunnel is also well done. However, the aquarium is all underground and is small and a bit claustrophobic, particularly on a busy day. The free bus from downtown Auckland was much appreciated, although because there really wasn't as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
KTs_Phil_McG, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton's SEA LIFE Aquarium. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found our exhibits interesting and unique. I would definitely recommend visiting either when we open at 09.30am or after lunch to beat the crowds. We have various animal talks and feeds that occur throughout... More 

Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

Great aquarium that is on par with others that I've been to overseas. The Penguins are a highlight and worth the price of admission alone. The cafe is rubbish so bring a packed lunch if you're planning on eating while there. Book online and skip the queues.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin M
KTs_Phil_McG, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton's SEA LIFE Aquarium. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit and found our unique aquarium fun and interesting. My favourite is watching the penguin feed each day at 11.30am! Thank you for your review and thank you for visiting More 

Travellers who viewed Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium and other visitors
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?