We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 291-297 Queen Street | City Centre, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
3651145
Website
Description:

Odyssey Sensory Maze is Auckland’s newest tourist attraction situated right...

Odyssey Sensory Maze is Auckland’s newest tourist attraction situated right in the heart of Auckland CBD. Odyssey will send you on a journey that will invigorate, indulge and challenge your senses as you travel through 13 different zones with special lighting effects, illusions, unusual sounds and darker challenging spaces.Odyssey is a mind-blowing journey that will leave you wondering how it is all possible and if you are perhaps in another world.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 113 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 29
    Excellent
  • 48
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
A fun adventure, but overpriced

It was a great experience, although perhaps not long enough. We took our time, but would have liked a few more rooms. Thankfully they were selling tickets on TreatMe for $11... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 days ago
ThePrettyBallerina
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 109: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It was a great experience, although perhaps not long enough. We took our time, but would have liked a few more rooms. Thankfully they were selling tickets on TreatMe for $11, would not have gone for the price they normally charge which is about $20.

Helpful?
Thank ThePrettyBallerina
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Kids saw this advertised at the Tourist Bureau and wanted to try it. We went down to check it out and the entire floor was empty, and as an adult I felt it was dirty and unappealing. The maze looked a little better maintained and the kids (age 10,12) still wanted to do it so we let them. It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank RSH68
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

It was cool, don't get me wrong! But shorter than expected and therefore a bit overpriced. Surprisingly scary too! Beware, you can't take any personal belongings in with you..

Helpful?
Thank Luucy-x H
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

We decided on a whim to do this as after playing mini golf next door, we thought we'd continue on with the fun and it looked adventurous. Got to the counter and the girl was talking to one of the guys that worked elsewhere in the complex. After he left, without so much as a glance our way she whipped... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmin835
Avinash S, Manager at Odyssey Sensory Maze, responded to this review

Dear Jasmin835, Thank you for taking time out to write your review. We are very disappointed to hear about your experience here at Odyssey. Keeping aside our product, it's even more concerning to hear about the service you received. I sincerely apologize on behalf of the Odyssey team here in Auckland. We would love to have you over soon to... More 

Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We doubted about visiting the maze but in there it was totaly worth it! You can feel like a kid all over again and eventhough I'm not big on dark places this was an awesome experience!

Helpful?
Thank EstherBrunner
Avinash S, Manager at Odyssey Sensory Maze, responded to this review

Dear EstherBrunner, Thank you for taking time out to write your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience at Odyssey. It is indeed great fun for all ages. We hope to welcome you back in the future sometime. Kind Regards, More 

Kiwi on the loose
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016

Visited this maze a few times - first with teenage sons then returned with hubby. First time through I needed rescued by staff as I climbed over something I shouldn't have when I thought I was stuck in the dark....second time a few months later with my hubby I was prepared :-). They do change the rooms regularly - expensive... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tintin4
Avinash S, Manager at Odyssey Sensory Maze, responded to this review

Dear Tintin4, Thank you for taking time out to write your review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience at Odyssey even on your return. We endevour in keeping the maze challenging by changing a room or two every now and then to keep it interesting for return guests like yourselves. Thank you very much once again. Kind Regards, More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Cost more than 19 for adults,students got couple of dollars discount. Took us lesser than 15 mins. If you really still like to go make sure you wear a dress with zippered pockets because if you lose anything it will be difficult to find because couple of rooms simply very dark. You can not take bags or backpack with you;... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dianefeng
Avinash S, Manager at Odyssey Sensory Maze, responded to this review

Dear dianefeng, Thank you for taking time out to write your review. We are sorry to hear that you found the maze not up to your expectations for the price you paid. We do encourage guests to take their time and tell them that their is no time limit to experience Odyssey. The reasons we ask guests to leave behind... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2016

Good fun to all ages... finding your way through the maze in the dark or struggling through plastic floaties . Mirrors and lights...

Helpful?
Thank Aussie4741
Avinash S, Manager at Odyssey Sensory Maze, responded to this review

Dear Aussie4741, Thank you for taking time out to write your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience here at Odyssey. We hope to welcome you back in the future sometime. Thanks once again. Kind Regards More 

Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2016

This was my favorite Auckland attraction. I had a great time in the maze getting lost in the dark. I would highly recommend this and it is a pity that it did not last for longer and that there are not more of this type of attraction around. The price as some others have commented for around 20 minutes was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ceridwen88
Avinash S, Manager at Odyssey Sensory Maze, responded to this review

Dear Ceridwen88, Thank you for taking time out to write your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience at Odyssey. We always encourage guests to take their time as the maze is designed to have fun and explore not find your way out as quickly as possible, hence the no time limit. We hope you come back and... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

We took 8 x 7 year old kids there for a birthday party. It cost $15.50 per child and four of the girls freaked out in the dark and exited within 2 mins. The staff refused to give a refund for the girls that didn't like it because they went past the second room. Ridiculous really that's $60 for 2... More 

Helpful?
Thank NZ Nigel P
Avinash S, Manager at Odyssey Sensory Maze, responded to this review

Dear NZ Nigel P, Thank you for taking time out to write your review. It's unfortunate that half your group did not go through the maze as they were scared after the first few rooms. However you were warned by staff about the recomended age and of the dark areas in the maze that tends to put off a few... More 

Travellers who viewed Odyssey Sensory Maze also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Odyssey Sensory Maze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Odyssey Sensory Maze and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Malta

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Odyssey Sensory Maze staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?