We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bluebridge Cook Strait Ferry

50 Waterloo Quay | Wellington Terminal, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-471 6188
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Comfortable and nice scenery

Not too much to say. It's a ferry ride. It was comfortable. The views when you enter the south... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Stuart A
via mobile
Not happy we had to forfeit $450 (the price of our two adult plus one vehicle ticket).

We booked with Bluebridge, and then had several changes because of life in general, the last one... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Deb S
Read all 458 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Bluebridge Cook Strait Ferry sails several times a day between New Zealand’s North and South Islands. The Bluebridge experience offers warm, friendly ‘Kiwi’ hospitality amidst stunning New Zealand scenery.
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good43%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“blue bridge” (17 reviews)
“wake up call” (9 reviews)
“south island” (37 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
50 Waterloo Quay | Wellington Terminal, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 4-471 6188
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Not too much to say. It's a ferry ride. It was comfortable. The views when you enter the south island are not to be missed.

Thank Stuart A
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked with Bluebridge, and then had several changes because of life in general, the last one because I got home from a busy shift at the hospital and just said to hubby that I couldn't face the whole trip thing the very next day...More

Thank Deb S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Caught the ferry back from Picton to wellington, I have a very bad back to the point i can barely walk. We arranged a shuttle and lift access onto the ferry without a problem. But getting off what a nightmare. Staff seemed to have no...More

1  Thank God O
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am currently sitting on Waterloo Quay Wellington waiting to board the Straitsman Ferry to Picton. This is without a doubt the most appalling service and one that I would not recommend. Having travelled on the Interislander many times before we decided to give the...More

1  Thank thirdage072010
BluebridgeNZ, Manager at Bluebridge Cook Strait Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for your feedback. We take customer service and on time performance very seriously and continuously provide training for our team to ensure our customers are satisfied every step of the way. It is disappointing to hear that in your case you did...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

muppets! they took my money, and didnt issue a boarding pass. after endless attempts to contacting them, they promissed i would have a boarding pass emailed within 24hours.. that proved to be a lie. now they still dont answer their phones, nor reply to messages....More

Thank spookikiwi
BluebridgeNZ, Manager at Bluebridge Cook Strait Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had trouble when booking with us. We did experience a technical issue on the 16 of November and it sounds like you were one of the passengers that were affected. We hope...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Slightly slow loading so ferry was 20 minutes late leaving. All staff at checkout and on board very pleasant and help. Ferry was not full so plenty of space. Cinema showed videos on journey, very comfortable seats. All seats throughout very comfortable, cabins are available....More

Thank Alistair S
Reviewed 4 November 2017

I took the 8am ferry from Wellington to Picton today. The whole experience was exceptional. The staff were friendly and the ride was smooth. This ferry exceeded our expectations. We wish we had taken the ferry back tonight!

Thank Flashwlb
BluebridgeNZ, Manager at Bluebridge Cook Strait Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for your review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your sailing with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on board in the near future. Kind regards Emma Garrity

Reviewed 1 November 2017

We were due to sail with Bluebridge to the South Island early on a Sunday morning but woke to find someone had crashed into our parked car. We were delayed by several, very stressful days, but Bluebridge were great. Didn't charge to change the booking...More

Thank lhyates
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Handy location over the road from the Wellington train station. The terminal and ferry staff were friendly and helpful. A little bit weird squeezing between the trucks and other vehicles to walk on or off as a foot passenger (this aspect could be improved). Good...More

Thank Douglas M
Reviewed 19 October 2017

This ferry is not as comfortable as the other inter-islander ferry (it doesn't have as many lounge chairs and the range of food available is smaller but it is really smooth...great for those that get sea sick (me) and the staff are very friendly.

Thank KiwiinOz2014
Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
The Thistle Inn
515 reviews
.31 km away
Portlander Bar & Grill
524 reviews
.29 km away
Wagamama Wellington
452 reviews
.38 km away
The Backbencher Bar and Cafe
218 reviews
.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
Old St Paul's
956 reviews
.43 km away
Parliament Buildings
1,413 reviews
.44 km away
Northern Explorer Train
387 reviews
.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Vienna S
7 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Julie M | Reviewed this property |
It is advisable to check the company website as prices vary according to the season, holiday time and special offers. We prefer this option for crossing Cook Strait. Happy travelling!
0
Votes
Manjula T
26 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BluebridgeNZ | Property representative |
Hi Manjula, thank you for your message. Unfortunatly we are not able to hold onto luggage overnight, however there is a backpackers directly across the road from the terminal called Waterloo Hotel and Backpackers which does... More
0
Votes
patricious
10 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BluebridgeNZ | Property representative |
Our bus will pick you up from the ship when it arrives and then take you back to the passenger terminal to collect your luggage, from there you hop back on our bus and this will take you to the I-site where the Intercity bus... More
1
Vote