We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Punting on the Avon

2 Cambridge Terrace, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
+64 3-366 0337
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.56*
and up
Punting on the Avon River with Optional Christchurch Gondola and Botanic...
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Come aboard your classic Punt at the historic Antigua Boat Sheds landing. Your Edwardian Punter will guide you quietly past trailing willows, woodlands and leafy banks as you absorb the beauty of Christchurch’s Botanic Gardens. Punting on the beautiful Avon River is an iconic Christchurch attraction not to be missed. Each Punting tour is 30 minutes duration with informative commentary, and you are returned to your point of departure.
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good24%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
LOCATION
2 Cambridge Terrace, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-366 0337

Similar Things to Do in Christchurch

Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 30 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Very accommodating for my handicapped Mom. They added a higher seat. The boat ride is 30 minutes and includes a bit of history. We were there in the winter. The restaurant at the boathouse has yummy food.More

Thank Cr1717
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Many thanks for taking a ride with us and writing a review! We are glad that you were able to enjoy a punt ride with your mother. Punts can be a little tricky getting in and out of, however, the higher seat is available on...More

Reviewed 23 June 2017

We enjoyed our Punting on the Avon River. We purchased our tickets with passes to the Gondola & City Tram, a well priced package for 2 people. It was a cool day but they give you blankets on the punts. They give you some historical...More

Thank TBM4US
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you kindly for writing a review for Punting on the Avon. The combo tickets that are available with Punting do offer some great savings if you would like to get the most out of you stay in the centre of Christchurch. The combos cover...More

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

A great way to checkout the river and surrounding parklands. Friendly guides, a nice warm blanket and beautiful scenery. One of the must do things in Christchurch.More

Thank David E
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review! We are very grateful that you consider us a 'Must do' in Christchurch, especially considering that you came out on the river with us during the colder season. Please do come and visit us...More

Reviewed 15 May 2017

Having just arrived from Tokyo in the PM, we did a 3pm punting trip - which was easily booked when we got a tram ticket - you can do a combo for a discount (like 5 NZD off). We met Doris the 60+ year old...More

Thank John A
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Many thanks for your lovely review and enjoying some time on the river with us! We are very happy that you managed to fend off the jet lag to be able to spend time with us feeding the resident eel and soaking up some of...More

Reviewed 6 May 2017

We really enjoyed this activity. The punter was cheerful and informative. The river was at its best with the autumn colours on full display. Best to do it on a sunny day. The lovely warm blanket they provided was much appreciated. Great fun!More

Thank xtine2015
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for writing your lovely review! Autumn really is in full swing and there is only a short amount of time before those wonderful colours are gone for another year. We are happy that you managed to experience them before they go. We would...More

Reviewed 6 May 2017

With gr8 weather in Autumn we were fortunate to hire and jump on the Gondola. The boatman was very pleasant and gave us a good running commentary of what was needed to be known by a tourist. We just sat back, relaxed and saw the...More

Thank arby235
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Punting on the Avon was a highlight of our time in Christchurch on a lovely sunny day. A most enjoyable and relaxing half hour or so with the lovely Harry who was very pleasant and also provided information of the surrounding area, near or around...More

Thank CMK69
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

We are very happy that you enjoyed a relaxing half hour on the river with us! Harry is indeed lovely and we are all very happy to have worked with him, as he has now moved to pastures new. Thank you again for your review...More

Reviewed 29 April 2017

It is an attractive little river in a beautiful park setting and what a lovely way to see it gently punting down the waterway. I wasn't overly pleased with the customer service of the man who you checked in with on arrival. Whilst he was...More

Thank kayeliz2016
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your experience out on the river but am sorry to hear about your experience checking in for your ride. The staff member you checked in with has spoken to...More

Reviewed 27 April 2017

The crew of staff looked after everyone, the rugs were really appreciated as a cold wind had come up despite the sunshine. Our late afternoon punt was just what we needed, providing a chance to relax, laugh & take great photos. Our US guests loved...More

Thank PauleLec
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you very much for coming punting and writing up a review! We are really happy that you chose to come punting for your Hens party; and that everybody enjoyed themselves out on the river. If you ever have a special occasion to celebrate in...More

Reviewed 23 April 2017

We really enjoyed this. It was a beautiful autumnal day, the river was full of ducks, it was warm without being hot. What could be better than a meander along the lovely Avon River. Our guide was informative and entertaining without being overbearing. We just...More

Thank Jay H
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you kindly for posting a review and coming out on the river with us! With the autumn weather in full swing, we are now getting warm days with wonderful colours changes and contrast throughout the scenery. It is a rather lovely time of year...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar
1,133 reviews
.39 km away
Zen Sushi and Dumplings
56 reviews
.35 km away
Cook'n' With Gas
333 reviews
.35 km away
Curator's House Restaurant
395 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Canterbury Museum
1,944 reviews
.35 km away
Avon River
442 reviews
.24 km away
Christchurch Art Gallery (Te Puna o Waiwhetu)
264 reviews
.44 km away
Christchurch i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
244 reviews
.33 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ruju1990
29 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from CHCHAttractions | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. Our Park branch is our main departure point and is located at the Antigua Boatsheds at 2 Cambridge Terrace. This branch is a 5 minute walk from the tram stop opposite the Canterbury Museum. Our... More
0
Votes
Donna P
17 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CHCHAttractions | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. Officially we cannot endorse alcohol on board the punts as they do travel through a liquor ban zone during the ride. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions. Kind... More
1
Vote
scallops4me
20 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CHCHAttractions | Property representative |
Hi there Thank you for your enquiry. Punting on the Avon still operates in most weather: the exceptions to this is when the river floods or when the wind is too strong to safely operate. In both these circumstances you... More
0
Votes