Alternative Prague Tours
Alternative Prague Tours
5
City ToursBar, Club & Pub ToursLiterary, Art & Music ToursWalking ToursLessons & Workshops
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Monday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Tuesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Wednesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Thursday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Friday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Saturday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Sunday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
About
Whether you're a tourist or a local, a student group or an office team, Alternative Prague Tours will show you a different side of the city: the unusual, the innovative, and the unforgettable. We offer wide range of experiences from unusual city tours, alternative art and culture experiences, graffiti and street art workshops, bar and pub tours to escape games and treasure hunts. All experiences are provided by locals from the art scene of Prague. Join us for this unforgettable Prague experience today!
Prague, Czech Republic

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Alternative Prague Tours
Travellers talk about
(2 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles721 reviews
Excellent
669
Very good
45
Average
2
Poor
2
Terrible
3

Caroline B
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Couples
We did the private graffiti workshop with Peter and it was the highlight of our Prague trip. Peter is a super kind guy and he showed us a lot of nice tricks to make this amazing graffiti. We had a great time and are really proud of our own piece of art. We would definitely recommend doing the workshop!
Written August 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

JMNCJulie
Prague, Czech Republic25 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2014 • Friends
Although I know Prague pretty well I learned something new again. Our guide was fun and entertaining. Definitely worth the money!
Written November 10, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Mr.Wosch
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2019
Tomas is a great guide and gave us interesting informations and showed us some really nice places in prague!
Written September 9, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Gregory S
London10 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am a tour guide and graffiti artist and conduct tours of this nature myself. I also lead tours around Europe so i have been on many tours. Normally i would not leave a negative comment but i feel so strongly about it i need to vent my frustration. A lot of the reviews are good so i decided to invite one of my friends to come on the tour. I felt awful for wasting her time.

We turned up to the start point and we were a small group of as a guide i know that can be disapointing but she looked pissed off. After 10 minutes i was already bored we saw nothing..she wasn't engaging definitely poor presentation skills.

After 10 mins we were taken to a shop which was the only shop during the communist regime that sold things feom the west on the black market (interesting fact) then we stood infront of that shop for 15 mins listening to stories about her mom and looking at a folder of places of interest that we should go visit.."Here is a suggestion take us to interesting places tell interesting stories".

No i really was fuming 25 mins i had seen a shop heard about her moms glass fish collection and looked at pictures..my friend and i soldierd on.

Next stop a gallery (average at best) where she stood and took photos and let us wonder.

Almost ready to do the tour myself.

Next stop a bench where we were told to sit. She then brought out the folder the pictures in it were endless..told us a story about a place that we should go visit..i started to really lose my cool. My friend asked will you be showing us any of these places..she said N0!

She then took us to the first Graffiti Wall tje tour was now approaching an hour she stopped and got out that bloody folder again. This is where i said are you actually going to show us anything or just tell stories about pictures. Her response you have to get out of the city to see things.

I hope people read this and find it useful..
I have never experienced any tour this bad and i have been leading and going on tours and doing graff for over 12 years.

I also read the other 1 star review it says exactly the same about this girl..obviously they habe not done anything to change..they are just after your money.

Stay clear of this company..
Written September 23, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy the tour with us and that we "wasted" 50 minutes of your time. On the other hand I’m little bit afraid that you didn't want to enjoy it from the very beginning. It was really cold on that day as you pointed out right at the beginning of the tour and you didn't forget to mention it a few times during your short stay with us. As an experienced tour guide and also walking tours visitor you should know that flip flops and summer clothing is not the best choice in a weather like this. I heard from the tour guide that you had just one and only day to visit the city and that you wanted to see everything. Our tour is really different in many ways, that’s why we call it ALTERNATIVE, we are not going to the classic tourist places, our strike is to show our clients the other side of Prague, therefore we are going outside of the city centre, to explore districts where the tourists usually don't go, that gives us the opportunity to show you the real genuine culture and art here in Prague. In the first part of the tour we are explaining the recent history so the visitors are able to understand the recent culture and art afterwards. Vast majority of people are happy that we are illustrating the atmosphere with the pictures of the places where things happened. After this introduction we visit the legal graffiti wall and yes, after that we go outside of the city centre to show you the THINGS. We are visiting the independent art commune right after and ending up in the most alternative club in Prague. You are really able to see a lot during another 2 hours of our tour. Shame that you didn't stay with us till the end. The tour guide called me right after you left the group without paying anything (your friend did) which is fine, you always pay at the end of the tour and we do offer the money back guarantee so you don't have to pay anything if you are not satisfied. I joined the group at the end of the tour to ask the visitors if they were happy with the tour and the content. Both of the guys enjoyed it very much as I could see and one of the participants of that particular tour in fact wrote a nice warm review here (on the TripAdvisor) the very next day. The second one came for the tour because his friend joined Sany the day before and he reccomended to him. Thank you for the review anyway, we will definitely take it in to account. I hope that the alternative map you got from us helped you to find places you've been looking for. Good luck with your tours and travels. Best regards, Tomas
Written September 28, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Melhuang
11 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2013
After reading the review on this website I was expecting a decent tour...how disappointed I was. Our guide was a local from Prague who heralded to be the only female street artist in the city. Sounds cool on paper...but that was about the only cool thing about it. She was unengaging and the tour was painfully slow. She seemed more interested in telling us about the issues she saw as important...rather than leading an interesting tour. Out of the over 20 street art walls in Prague, she took us to two and spent the whole time saying "I recommend you going here tomorrow. I recommend you going there tomorrow". At one point, rather than telling us the information, she tried to make us watch a 10 minute youtube clip on her iPhone about "the next place we are going to visit". In the 3 hour tour, we visited about 3 sites. Despite our group very obviously trying to hurry her along so we could see more things (or at least finish the tour earlier so we could do something else), she seemed adamant on delivering the tour at her own pace, telling us things she wanted to tell us, taking us to all the places she wanted to show us. This girl shouldn't be working in the tourism business if she can't pick up on what the customer wants and how to engage them. Complete waste of my time...And at 500CZK it wasnt cheap either! Would have been less annoyed if she had let us leave early...but she insisted on finishing the tour the way she wanted. Also, she spoke poor English. It was difficult to engage in conversation with her as she either wasn't good at listening to the question, or simply couldn't understand us.
Written August 31, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Melissa, Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We really appologize for your bad experience and I am sorry that Sany did not match your expectations. It gives us a lesson and we will consider all the things you mentioned. Good customer service is one of the main qualities this company prides itself on. So I’m really shocked to read this. On the other hand this is the first complain about Sany that I received. Until now I received only excelent reviews on her on my email and also here on this page. Anyway, we realy care about our customers and that’s why we offer the money-back guarantee, please send me a confirmation email and I will send you the money back through Paypal. I checked the amount and you paid 450 CZK because you booked online and you got the „facebook fan discount“. So I will happily refund you this amount. According to your complain about the price. I have to say that this price is far below average of three hour tours price here in Prague and I realy don’t think it’s pricey. I spoke with Sany and she wrote you her own response to this review so you can read it below. Best regards, Tomas I am glad that you use the information that you got from our tour, but unfortunately it’s not exact as there are 27 legal graffiti walls here in Prague, not 20 and only one is near the city center. That's the one you saw and where we met my friends who were painting there. Everyone who was in Prague, knows that Prague is a historic city and therefore legal graffiti walls are far away from the city center. Another graffiti walls are approximately 40 minutes from the center and therefore it is not possible to visit it with the tour because we would spend most of the time on public transport. That’s why we are recommending to the visitors to go there on their own later if they are interested (many people are). On the tour we are recommending places such as the longest legal graffiti wall in central Europe, galleries, alternative local clubs and bars, because it’s not possible to visit all those places within the 3 hours, so we want to mention that it exists and how to get there and most of the people appreciate that. You mentioned that you will stay in Prague several days, so I wanted to give you some tips where you can go. I'm not the only female graffiti writer in the city, but also in the Czech and Slovak Republic . From what you write, it seems as if you doubted it. If you're interested search for information on Girl Power Movie - the first global documentary about female graffiti writers that I’m filming or the exhibition called Girls Girls Girls, I have to do tomorrow in Dusseldorf. It wasn’t really easy to engage you as you told me that you are in a hurry at the beggining of the tour and then you started to interupt my speach on most of the sites (and it is not true that there are only 3) and asking me if I can send you the info on email instead. It made me a little nervous and it was a bit harder to handle the tour like this. Usually people appreciate the fact that they are led by a guide who is well known artist from the city and not by foreigner who just learned a script and repeats it every time. Therefore our tours are more authentic. If you mind my English, I'm really sorry, yes it is not perfect, but you could tell me this at the beginning of the tour and I could have returned you the money and did not have to waste your time. I do this job because I love this subject and because I like to meet new interesting people, so I’m really sorry that you didn’t enjoy the tour at all. Even though it didn’t seem like that during the tour. You sad many times that the place or stuff that I showed you is very interesting and that you don’t have such things in your country. Another strange thing was that you’ve been mentioning all the time that you have meeting with your friends in the city center right after the tour. We finished the tour on time (5:30 PM), so you could catch up with them without any problem. We finished the tour in the club as usual and normally we are having a beer in there with the visitors and chat. There was open air party in front of the club that day and you started to dance there and then you decided to stay there with me and you remained there at least 1 hour. Now it seems a bit strange if you were so dissatisfied, why you stayed there with me? We were drinking and I marked you some interesting places in the alternative map that I gave you. Then you said that you are looking for RNB club, I told you about the most famous one Radost FX, where Rihanna filmed the video for Please don’t stop the music. Then we watched one of her clips on my iPhone and I told you that it was also filmed here in Prague and I did the graffiti in the background for her. Then we laughed together that you can see the Czech trams in there. I was with you thus much longer than three hours and completely voluntarily without being aware of how I ruined your day. Then I walked you to the subway station. The more I regret this venomous disslike comment. Probably I was not very sympathetic to you, and for that I apologize once again. However, I think that even if I was the worst guide in Prague, places that you have seen with me, belongs to the best of alternative scene in Prague and yet you claimed this tour as the worst ever. I’m really sorry that we couldn’t talk about this in person when we got the chance… Have a nice day! Sany
Written September 6, 2013
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MontyGeorge
Christchurch, New Zealand36 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me just start by saying I was looking forward to this tour all day. I believe in giving people a chance and also that sometimes you have to wait things out to get to the good parts. This was a 3 hour tour. I waited an hour. I didn't have any more time to wait to see if it would get better.

I think the job of a tour guide is two fold. To teach us things and to engage the audience. Sany definitely has a lot of knowledge but she was not engaging. This in my opinion makes her a poor guide.

What I find even more disappointing is someone else gave feedback via a terrible review last year and it doesn't appear that she has tried to improve at all. I have read the comments and replies from Sany and the Alternative Tour people. And all the other reviews.

We started by waiting 10mins past the start time for others to turn up. They didn't. Then listening for another 10mins about her back story. I was excited to have someone so knowledgeable guiding us. And being female, I loved that she was a pioneer. Girl power and all that!

But then there was more talking and more talking. Sitting and listening in random places (except once outside of the former black market communist shop which was interesting. Albeit 10mins too long) not connected to the story she was telling at all. Time was ticking along and we had only toured 2 places. She had this folder she would bring out at every stop and we hadn't made a dent in it after 45mins. My friend really wanted to leave but I encouraged him to stay on as I was so hopeful it would get better. It didn't.

I complained about how cold it was (due to all the sitting and listening) as a friendly way to try to move things along. Sany already seemed nervous and I didn't want to be rude. So we sat and listened in the sun, instead of the shade. I tried to move the pace along by chatting with her whilst walking at a more reasonable pace. But we kept stopping so that didn't work. Also when she was showing us pictures of different things I was asking "Oo that looks great - can we see that?" The answer was always - no: but I can mark it on the map for you. She was ignoring her audience (2 out of 4 of us) and continuing with her set spiels despite our suggestions. We had no choice other than to leave. We only had that day in Prague and couldn't afford to waste any more of our time - there was a chance it could have got better and we might have seen the things advertised in the flyer. But for me after a third of the tour was that way - I didn't want to risk it. I paid as I felt bad for having to leave and it was a small group. This was not a reflection that I felt the tour was worth the money, it wasn't. Had I known I didn't have to pay if I wasn't satisfied, I would not have paid.

I think had I had the luxury of a week in Prague it wouldn't have been so bad as I could've made up for the lost time. But I only had that day. So on foot my friend and I managed to see many of the things that we were told were too far away to see on the tour.

Whilst I understand that Prague is incredibly expensive and the artists live outside of the city, many things spoken about (whilst showing us the photograph) could've been accessible via public transport.

Sany I would encourage you to ask your guests to bring a metro card so you can show them the communist party building, the TV Tower, the sculptures of the babies by the river and the John Lennon wall. In a tour people want to see things, not photographs.

So for the people reading these reviews and trying to decide whether 87+ excellent reviews are correct or the 3 terrible ones are... If you like a slow pace and sitting and looking at photos for an hour before (potentially) then touring about then go on this tour. If you like to see things and not photographs of them, don't go on this tour - or turn up and ask what you will be going to in your first hour. If after 20mins it's a sit fest, leave and do not pay.

I'm actually a teacher and a big part of my job is giving feedback and seeing how children take that feedback and improve to go on to do great things. Sany this could be a great tour. I hope you take on my feedback and don't ignore it as you did in 2013, as I had an identical experience as written in that review.
Written October 8, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi MontyGeorge, Thank you for your second detailed review of the first part of our tour. I think most of the things we already explained to your friend in the reply to his review, so I'm not going to repeat myself. Never the less I would like to repeat once more, that it's a great pity you didn't have more time to spend with us to be able to understand the whole concept of our tour. It would be even more useful for us if you could write a review after finishing the whole trip. We show most of the pictures only in the first part of the tour and they are mainly historical sights that you can't visit any more. They are very important for understanding the rest of the tour as the recent history influenced the current culture and art that we are presenting later. You mentioned John Lennon's wall and the babies on Kampa Island both of these sights are right in the city centre, just off the Charles Bridge, so easily accessible without taking any public transport and most of the regular tours go there. Main goal of the Alternative Tour is to show our visitors the other side of Prague and go really off the beaten track. We use a public transport during the tour more than once as we explore sights and districts far beyond the city centre which the tourists might easily miss without us. It's a pity that you didn't tell Sany straight away you didn't have a good time with us and paid her instead. Anyway, we will be happy to offer you a refund, please contact us via email on our website. You can be sure that our main goal is not the money that your friend mentioned, these tours are more like a hobby for us, we enjoy it a lot and we like to see that our clients enjoy it as well... Thank you, Tomas
Written October 30, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mari V
Brasilia, DF5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2015 • Friends
I spent about 4 days in Prague and after taking the Prague Alternative Tours I wish I had stayed much longer! Our guide, Tomas, was a local artist and gave us precious tips to enjoy the city. He took us away from the tourist traps and showed us another side of the city: we could have a real feeling of the city instead of just spending opur days at "Disneyland Prague". We walked, took the tram, visited art galleries, cool design shops, local cafés, graffitti walls and we finished at a great club/ bar. I highly recommend the tour if you do want to have an alternative experience ;). I just wish it was the first thing I did, so I could have enjoyed Tomas recommendations on my own. I´ll definitely visit Prague again thanks to this tour.
Written July 21, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Stig B
16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2015 • Couples
Me and my girlfriend had a great time on this tour. Our tour guide Sany was just the best. Really enthusiastic and excited about showing us everything and she gave us some history lessons about graffiti and the communist society from the past.

The tour was originally going to be 3 hours but 6 hours later we were still with the group at an awesome bar just north of the river.

I would recommend this tour to anyone interested in seeing an alternative part of Prague and its culture. We probably would never have found these places without this tour and having a great guide with Sany was just the best. After the tour she gave us a map with more subculture locations pin pointed and she gave us a bunch of tips about more stuff to check out.
Written May 23, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Bonnie D
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2014 • Solo
Old Prague is cool and very beautiful. But what made my heart really bounce where the uncommon places, showed to us by our guide Sany, from Prague Alternative Tours. I had a great time spotting stunnishing streetart pieces, local restaurants and the day after our tour the fleemarket recommended by Sany. Sany was very knowlegeable so I also learned a lot of Pragues history during the communistic period. In one word: SUPER.
Written December 20, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

gwen e
Cincinnati, OH28 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2014 • Couples
My husband and I just returned from the Central Europe tour from Gate 1! It was marvelous! This was our 4th tour with Gate 1, and they offer fabulous trips. Our hotels in Budapest, Vienna and Prague were wonderful! The breakfast included was awesome, something for everyone! Our tour guide, Dean, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. There are optional tours available with enough time for your own adventures, or just do your own thing. I must say the optional tours are fantastic, the tickets and entrance to sights are taken care of and your guide gets you in right away! All the cities were easy to navigate and the people were fabulous! Gate 1 takes care of you, I don't even look at other travel companies!
Written December 17, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 607

Alternative Prague Tours - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Prague HotelsPrague Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Prague
All things to do in Prague
Day Trips in Prague
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars