We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Adventures Aloft Balloon Safari

Fig Tree Camp | C14, Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Not to be missed

A very expensive ... but worthwhile experience as a once in a lifetime - included a magnificent... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Chris43bh3
,
Queensland, Australia
not at all worth the money ...

We booked a flight for minimum 1 hour for $500 a person. I was lucky to fly in Marokko and in... read more

Reviewed 7 March 2018
Anygisi
,
Luzern
Read all 81 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Masai Mara Kenya's most precious jewel and there is no better way to enjoy the magic of the park than from the air ! Adventures Aloft flies daily from Fig Tree Camp and Siana Springs in the Masai Mara game reserve. Flights take off at 6.30 Each morning in time with the sunrise and allow one to experience an eagle's view of the Masai Mara and all it's beauty. To complete the celebration a champagne breakfast is served on the Mara plains after the flight , complete with butler service and an open bar. Adventures Aloft organizes pick up services from most Mara camps and lodges.
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good19%
  • Average7%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 12:00 a.m. - 11:59 p.m.
Suggested Duration: < 1 hour
LOCATION
Fig Tree Camp | C14, Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fig tree camp"
in 10 reviews
"northern serengeti"
in 5 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 11 reviews
"champagne breakfast"
in 20 reviews
"launch site"
in 6 reviews
"balloon safari"
in 10 reviews
"migration camp"
in 2 reviews
"amazing setting"
in 2 reviews
"smooth landing"
in 3 reviews
"coffee and tea"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful flight"
in 2 reviews
"watching the sunrise"
in 4 reviews
"full english breakfast"
in 3 reviews
"birds eye view"
in 2 reviews
"mara river"
in 9 reviews
"bucket list"
in 4 reviews
"great morning"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very expensive ... but worthwhile experience as a once in a lifetime - included a magnificent breakfastand outstanding game drive as well as the balloon experience. A memory for a lifetime

Thank Chris43bh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2018

We booked a flight for minimum 1 hour for $500 a person. I was lucky to fly in Marokko and in Switzerland and both flights were massively cheaper and extremely well organised. The start had to be interrupted by the captain, because of strong wind....More

1  Thank Anygisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madahotels_11, Guest Relations Manager at Adventures Aloft Balloon Safari, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Hello Anygisi, Thank you for your comment on your Balloon Safari experience. We are disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your balloon safari as the flight is often the highlight of a Kenyan safari. I hope the few points below will help clarify the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018

We had to wait for some other passengers to arrive so missed the sunrise on the balloon ride which was disappointing. I wish the pilot had dropped down a few more times for us to see the migration more closely. We were at the tail...More

Thank CndnGuider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madahotels_11, Guest Relations Manager at Adventures Aloft Balloon Safari, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Hello CnDn Guider, Thank you for your candid review. We are glad you got to experience an amazing Balloon Ride with Adventures Aloft except for the minor setbacks. We promise you an even better experience the next time you chose to fly with us. Asante...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2018 via mobile

This was one of our highlights on our Maasai Mara safari trip. Delighted to have the balloon to ourselves, with Captain Barnabas and his crew. Amazing views.. good game sightings including elephant and lion. Very gentle landing. Enjoyable champagne breakfast. So pleased we had this...More

Thank OreoKQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2018

Unfortunately it was raining the morning of our balloon ride so we were not able to go up for the sunrise. However, the staff at the hotel did their best to keep people happy and informed. Luckily the rain cleared and we were able to...More

Thank BardAdmirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madahotels_11, Guest Relations Manager at Adventures Aloft Balloon Safari, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018

Hello, We are glad you enjoyed flying with Adventures Aloft Balloon Safaris over the Masai Mara. You never get over the experience however much you fly. Its always magical. We always strive to bring out the best from every balloon ride. Hope you will choose...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile

The whole adventure was magical from getting up and on the road to the launch site at 3:30 am to the brunch along the Mara River after the flight. It began early while dark looking for and finding numerous animals as dawn broke while we...More

Thank MT54traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madahotels_11, Guest Relations Manager at Adventures Aloft Balloon Safari, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Hi, Thank you for the candid review and for choosing to stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your balloon flight with us. We take great pride in knowing that our guest enjoyed their balloon flight with Adventures Aloft. We promise an even better...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017

Today was our long-anticipated balloon ride over the Maasai Mara - a "must-do" but very overpriced. We had to be up at 4.30a.m., away at 5.00 and lifting into the sky at 6.30. It really is the most pleasant way to fly and ideal for...More

Thank NZMDProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile

We were picked up 4.30am for what was suppose to be a 3/4 ride to Fix Tree Balloon ride. The driver got lost a couple of times. He said he was new and did not know the terrain. It was dirt tracks and it was...More

1  Thank ray c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madahotels_11, Guest Relations Manager at Adventures Aloft Balloon Safari, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Hello Ray, Thank you for your comment on your Balloon Safari experience. We are disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your balloon safari as the flight is often the highlight of a Kenyan safari. I hope the few points below will help clarify the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

This has always been something I wanted to do and I might say it is not my first balloon ride so do have some perspective. The balloon was handled well and the people were nice and the breakfast afterwards was quite nice. BUT. There are...More

Thank rivermom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madahotels_11, Guest Relations Manager at Adventures Aloft Balloon Safari, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Hello Rivermom1, Thank you for choosing to fly Adventures Aloft Balloon Safaris during your recent trip. We are glad you enjoyed most of the experience we offer. Adventures Aloft fleet consists of British Cameron 415 balloons which are designed and in most countries carry 20...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2017

I read the reviews before I left. I have been on several balloon excursions over the years & I was not prepared to miss out on this one. You have to go with an open mind, yes it is expensive US$450, yes, like all ballooning...More

Thank travella2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madahotels_11, Public Relations Manager at Adventures Aloft Balloon Safari, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Hello Travella2016, Thank you for choosing to fly Adventures Aloft Balloon Safaris during your recent trip. We are glad you got to enjoy the amazing balloon experience which is most often the highlight of any Kenyan safari. We hope you come again to fly with...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mmlake
October 10, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from JuliaTheItinerant | Reviewed this property |
They did not have a weight distribution procedure. Make sure you are together when preparing to get in the basket. If you have any concerns let your balloon pilot know that you want to stay together.
1
Vote
swg321
October 17, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from swg321 | Reviewed this property |
Adventures Aloft responded by email same day and sent a download to me the next day.very happy!
0
Votes
Shirley H
September 29, 2015|
Answer
Response from Ramses II P | Reviewed this property |
As I said, the USB stick we purchased as a video didn't show any wildlife from above. For 7 minutes we could only watch the pilot and his 16 paying passengers. Very disappointing!
0
Votes
;