We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Joe Wheeler State Park

4403 McLean Dr., Rogersville, AL 35652
+1 256-247-5466
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Nice park with lots of amenities

The wide variety of amenities is nice. There's golf, disc golf, fishing, a marina, a beach, a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Klee7312
,
Rogersville, Alabama
via mobile
Sorry Joe Wheeler!!

Made our campground reservation online and it was confirmed via email. When we arrived we were... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Moly T
,
Huntsville, Alabama
Read all 126 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Joe Wheeler State Park, located on Wheeler Lake, offers something for everyone; a resort lodge, a restaurant, cabins, camping, fishing, golf, tennis, swimming, convention/banquet facilities, transient slips and a marina. Whether you're looking for a place to spend the weekend or a place to have the perfect wedding, Joe Wheeler State Park can be your dream destination. From small church groups to large conventions, our experienced staff can make your special occasion organized and stress free.
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good45%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“joe wheeler” (24 reviews)
“the cottages” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 00:00 - 00:00
LOCATION
4403 McLean Dr., Rogersville, AL 35652
CONTACT
Website
+1 256-247-5466
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The wide variety of amenities is nice. There's golf, disc golf, fishing, a marina, a beach, a campground, and a lodge with a pool. There are some tennis courts too and playgrounds.

Thank Klee7312
Haley N, Public Relations Manager at Joe Wheeler State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We also have a group lodge on Elk River and a Cabin Area by Wheeler Dam! Come see us again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Made our campground reservation online and it was confirmed via email. When we arrived we were told that we had been assigned another campsite due to a computer glitch. We were there specifically because of the site we had reserved (easy access to water so...More

Thank Moly T
Haley N, Public Relations Manager at Joe Wheeler State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I hate to hear that your experience didn't meet your expectations. Unfortunately, technology does complicate things from time to time but I appologize that you weren't notified of the change prior to your arrival. I'll make sure to bring this issue up to the campground...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the cottages to attend a wedding. Each room had its own bathroom which was awesome. Kitchens have the minimum, would take extra items if I planned to stay for longer than a weekend. Despite the rainy weather we had a fun weekend.

Thank chickahbay
Haley N, Public Relations Manager at Joe Wheeler State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit despite the weather and hope you'll be back to visit us again soon!

Reviewed 19 May 2017

This state park is a very nice place to sleep, eat, walk, boat, swim or just relax. The lake is huge, the views are peaceful and inviting and the atmosphere is friendly

Thank gourdess
Haley N, Public Relations Manager at Joe Wheeler State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I couldn't have said it better myself! Don't forget GOLF as well!

Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

My husband & I stayed 4 nights at the Lodge at Joe Wheeler State Park for our 28th wedding anniversary. It is Very well maintained for a state park. It was very nice. It has gorgeous views. It's especially nice to see the sun rise...More

Thank TammyCampbell2016
Haley N, Public Relations Manager at Joe Wheeler State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for taking time to share about your experience at Joe Wheeler State Park. I'm so glad you enjoyed our park as much as we do. The Sunset Cruises on the Nautical Wheeler are spectacular! I hope you were well rested and...More

Reviewed 27 April 2017

Easy to reserve and check in. RV sites are not crowed together and well maintained with plenty of shade. The golf course is a must for all golf abilities. There are cabins (more like modern homes with water views). This park offers much for couples...More

Thank mydognipper
Haley N, Public Relations Manager at Joe Wheeler State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you for taking time to share about your experience at Joe Wheeler State Park. I'm so glad you enjoyed our park as much as we do and hope that you will be back to visit again very soon!

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We came here to have a nice getaway ..even got a suite..everythings was great at first , we also had 2 children with us ..one of them being a 2yr old ...well needless to say we got a noise complaint at 830pm with a call...More

1  Thank Brandy N Jason D
Haley N, Manager at Joe Wheeler State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

To “Worst stay ever” I am very sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience when you stayed at Joe Wheeler State Lodge a couple of weeks ago. We have a very good staff at Joe Wheeler and they take pride in their...More

Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

I have not been since I was little. They have kept this park much updated than any of the rest of the Alabama State Parks. The trails are nice and easily walkable. Enjoyed seeing the wildlife too. Cant wait to try the cottage sometime soon.More

Thank Kevin W
Haley N, Public Relations Manager at Joe Wheeler State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

I'm so glad you were able to stop back by recently. We work very hard to keep the park updated, clean and safe for our guests. I definately recommend staying in one of our lake side cottages, but you will have to book in advance...More

Reviewed 22 March 2017

this is a good place to stay in the area, fishing, golf, food, hiking. and more. Lodge is a little old and could use some updating. shower heads about 5 1/2' so some of us have to stoop to get clean. kind of far from...More

Thank fivwood03
Haley N, Public Relations Manager at Joe Wheeler State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Thank you for sharing about your experience at Joe Wheeler State Park. I'm so glad you enjoyed all of our amenities (my personal favorite is the golf course!). Come back to visit us again soon!

Reviewed 4 March 2017

My husband and I spent an overnight here to check out the area for a nearby getaway. We stayed in the lodge on the north side of the lake that actually was on an arm of water rather than the lake proper. That was a...More

1  Thank n8urgrl2013
Haley N, Public Relations Manager at Joe Wheeler State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

I'm glad that we were able to offer you the opporunity to relax a bit. Please note that our restaurant is open 7 days a week from March-December and only Thurs-Sunday the months of Jan and Feb. I appologize that you were not made aware...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sofia's Cantina
10 reviews
3.60 km away
Stanfields Steakhouse
32 reviews
3.88 km away
Daniella's In The Park
15 reviews
.00 km away
Walton's Restaurant
30 reviews
5.93 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Shoals Golf Club - Fighting Joe Course
23 reviews
18.65 km away
Pond Spring The General Joe Wheeler Home
20 reviews
19.11 km away
Wheeler Lake Scenic Cruises
10 reviews
.74 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Atlsteve1
Do guest staying at campsites and/or cottages have access to the pool/splash pad seen in the pics?
15 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Haley N | Property representative |
The pool is available to Lodge, Lakeside Cottage, Cabin guests and Boat Slip Holders. Unfortunately, campground guests are not permitted to the pool, but do have access to the sandy beach area located in the day use area.
0
Votes
pamfor03
do you rent paddle boards and kayaks
14 June 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Haley N | Property representative |
We have a guy who rents them at our Day Use Beach Area. His company is called Fort Hampton Outfittlers, LLC and can be reached at 256-431-8988.
0
Votes
Robin P
Do the cabins have boat landings for your own personal boat?
5 August 2015|
Answer
Response from Haley N | Property representative |
There is a boat ramp located in our cabin area, however there are not boat landings at each cabin.
0
Votes