We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Akura Game Fishing Charters

Features Animals
Avatiu Harbour, Cook Islands
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Totally Disappointed!

And it's off too Rarotonga we go, after a couple of days on the island I get around to booking my... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Riaan J
The best

My third trip to Rarotonga and I have lost count of how many trips I have had with Akura, everyone... read more

Reviewed 4 March 2018
Grant5050
,
Taumarunui, New Zealand
Read all 110 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Big groups or small, families or friends, experienced anglers or first-timers - Akura has the ingredients to make your Rarotonga fishing charter the most memorable and exciting part of your whole holiday. We are one of the longest operating charters boats and fishing is our passion! With our helpful crew, you don't need to know anything about angling to land a delicious dinner - and we'll fillet the fish for you so that all you need to do is fire up the grill! Savour the spectacular views of the Cook Islands while you wait for the fish to start biting - and you won't be waiting long. With our top-quality gear, Captain George's 25 years of experience and certified crew, you're getting the best possible Rarotonga game fishing trip. Akura is a purpose-built 40-foot vessel with twin 330hp diesel inboards- perfect for wedding parties and large groups. Akura is kitted with top quality equipment in brands like Shimano and Penn. We have all the onboard facilities you need to cruise in style and fish in comfort with a fully working toilet and comfortable seating. Want to customize your fishing experience? We also have a 25 foot vessel, "Te Manga", that offers a variety of fishing methods including fishing down, drop stone fishing, reef casting, spear fishing and more. Check us out on the ITM fishing show with Matt Watson and see the action! All charters include sandwiches and waters- all you need is some sun screen and your lucky fishing hat!
  • Excellent85%
  • Very good9%
  • Average1%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“yellowfin tuna” (14 reviews)
“fish” (61 reviews)
“these guys” (18 reviews)
LOCATION
Avatiu Harbour, Cook Islands
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"yellowfin tuna"
in 14 reviews
"fish"
in 61 reviews
"these guys"
in 18 reviews
"smaller boat"
in 5 reviews
"safety gear"
in 2 reviews
"stag do"
in 2 reviews
"kg wahoo"
in 2 reviews
"great charter"
in 3 reviews
"filet"
in 4 reviews
"other customers"
in 2 reviews
"eva"
in 8 reviews
"marlin"
in 15 reviews
"skipper"
in 22 reviews
"george"
in 18 reviews
"lures"
in 10 reviews
"trolling"
in 6 reviews
"crew"
in 52 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

And it's off too Rarotonga we go, after a couple of days on the island I get around to booking my game fishing trip with Akura Game Fishing Charters, to which I choose the Akura vessel. I have waited so long for this and was...More

Thank Riaan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina K, Manager at Akura Game Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia Orana Riaan, We apologise that your experience did not meet your expectations on the day of your trip with us. You mentioned a couple of points that are not acceptable and will be discussed with the crew, for instance the flicking of cigg butts...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

My third trip to Rarotonga and I have lost count of how many trips I have had with Akura, everyone involved with Akura make sure you have a great trip. It's like you are part of their family. A must for all fishos.

Thank Grant5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina K, Manager at Akura Game Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Kia Orana Grant, Thank you for the valued feedback and lovely review. We look forward to seeing you for your 4th trip to Rarotonga! Meitaki Maata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

Went out on the Akura, weather was pretty rough but boat and crew handled it well. Captain was keen to find some fish even though conditions were quite poor. Very knowledgeable crew and captain. Good briefing at begging to go over procedures and safety points....More

Thank Sebastian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina K, Manager at Akura Game Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Kia Orana Sebastian, Thank you very much for your valued review! You did indeed have it a bit rough the day you went out! We are happy you enjoyed your trip even though the weather was a tad ordinary. Some say it adds to the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

What a great trip with family and friends started hot and dry finished wet and windy but we all had fun I know now why the call the fish WAHOO!!!!More

Thank Marlon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina K, Manager at Akura Game Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hi Marlon, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your 40th B'Day trip and caught some great Wahoo!! Yes the weather showed all its sides on that day!!! Thank you kindly for the lovely review. Hopefully you will come back and visit us again...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Had an excellent day out with the crew. They didn't wan to see us go back to shore without a fish and luckily we got onto a couple of 12 kg Wahoo. Great fun and the crew were very helpful.More

Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina K, Manager at Akura Game Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks for the review Ross. Yes, our crew does not like to come back empty handed! Unfortunately, sometimes it can't be helped but they will always try their best to hook you up with a catch :) Glad you had a great day out and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

staff on the boat were unfriendly and not helpful. i have been on many charters and this was the worstMore

1  Thank dave h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina K, Manager at Akura Game Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Kia Orana Dave, Thank you for your feed back regarding your recent trip with Akura Fishing. We pride ourselves on our professional and friendly crew, so I am disappointed to hear that this was not the case in your experience. You didn't mention which vessel...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

I came to Raro for 8 days with my wife. I am fishing mad, my wife...not so much. I researched charters from our home in sydney but decided not to book till I got here. I asked around and Akura seemed the popular choice. I...More

1  Thank Tinabert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina K, Manager at Akura Game Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thanks for the fab review Bert! It was lovely to meet you and we are very happy that you had such a good week. Captain Willy is indeed the fish whisperer! :) It's not very often that he comes back empty handed, in fact if...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

These guys were great had a fantastic day out would highly recommend them to anyone who would like to catch bigger fish they new the waters. Our captain was great and highly knowledgeable thanks again to Akura and Willie for a great day out!!

Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina K, Manager at Akura Game Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thanks for the review Ian. Its always great to hear feedback from our clients. I have passed on your praises to Captain Willie and he is now beaming with pride! Hope to see you back in Rarotonga again one day soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Awesome boat & staff. Pity about the lack of fish but that's what fishing is all about. The boys did get a 17.5kg Wahoo shared with the rest of the charter but plenty to take back to the resort for dinner. $170 for 1/2 day...More

Thank rachnz2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina K, Manager at Akura Game Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Happy to hear you enjoyed your day out with us and got to enjoy some fresh wahoo for dinner! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

This time in Rarotonga I had 3 trips with Akura, my Captain / Skipper was Willy, he was so welcoming and friendly and knew how to catch fish, we got some awesome yellow fin tuna. From my first day meeting up with George again, talking...More

Thank Grant5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina K, Manager at Akura Game Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Great to hear you had a memorable trip with us! Captain Willy and all the crew enjoyed your time hear as well. The team loves to hear from their guests and how they enjoyed their experience with us. We will try our best to keep...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Rarotonga
The Islander Hotel
233 reviews
1.12 km away
Central Motel
34 reviews
1.24 km away
Club Raro
260 reviews
3.25 km away
Kiikii Inn & Suites
66 reviews
3.50 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Waffle Shack
242 reviews
.36 km away
Le Rendez-Vous
191 reviews
1.06 km away
Hula Bar
130 reviews
1.14 km away
Cafe Salsa
653 reviews
1.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Punanga Nui
346 reviews
.38 km away
Wreck of the Matai
43 reviews
1.14 km away
Cook Islands Wildlife Centre
177 reviews
.73 km away
WaHoo Fishing Charters
61 reviews
.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Irene K
13 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Tina K | Property representative |
You can catch Mahi Mahi all year round so if you are looking to catch both best to come in Wahoo season over winter. There is just more Mahi and larger sizes in Summer, but they can be caught all year round.
0
Votes
Irene K
12 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Tina K | Property representative |
Hi Irene, Wahoo is a winter fish so June through to September/October. Our fishing gear ranges from 50's to 80's. We tend to run bigger gear to we can target a broad variety of species
0
Votes
Irene K
12 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Tina K | Property representative |
Kia Orana Irene, The best time to catch Mahi Mahi is over our summer, so November through to March :)
0
Votes
;