We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Soweto & Other Townships - Daily tours through the eyes of a photojournalist

179 reviews
About Soweto & Other Townships - Daily tours through the eyes of a photojournalist
Take a daily trip into Soweto and other Townships such as Alexandra and Diepsloot, South Africa, as a photojournalist and discover exciting happenings in the Townships. As we set out we plan a theme. It could be people staring out their shack windows, residents with umbrellas (see here) or growing food or whatever we decide. I photograph, you photograph and at the end of the trip, you will receive a CD with photos of the trip or the photos dropboxed to you. We discuss what makes great photo! Improve on photography while enjoying South African township life. Join us up to 5 people per group. Bring Cameras! A hat for the sun. Most of all, bring your creativity!
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 a.m. - 11:59 p.m.
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Travellers talk about

Soweto & Other Townships - Daily tours through the eyes of a photojournalist
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
Recommended experiences in and around Johannesburg
from US$80.04
More Info
from US$17.09
More Info
from US$145.16
More Info
from US$50.93
More Info
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Soweto & Other Townships - Daily tours through the eyes of a photojournalist
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his passion takes photos great photographer everyday lives welcomed us with open arms white man their lives unique experience the hector pieterson museum pictures taken personal trip south africa local community wonderful photos usual tourist real south fabulous tour
Updating list...
51 - 60 of 149 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2017

After the great first tour experience I had with Ilan in September 2015, when my Mom and her partner decided to visit Zimbabwe from the UK I told them to stop over in Joburg for two days. And of course I told them they had...More

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank nrussell1512
Reviewed May 18, 2017

When we planned this we thought we would be locked in a secure bus with a bunch of other tourists rubber-necking our way thru "dangerous" Soweto. Little did we realise that Ilan has such a wealth of experience and knows the area so well. It...More

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank James F
Reviewed April 9, 2017

I am 13 years-old, and I went on the tour with my 10 year-old brother and Mom from Canada. Both my brother and I found it very interesting and informative. I was a bit worried at first, but I did not feel unsafe at all...More

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank jacobsmit
Reviewed March 19, 2017

We have taken city tours in a dozen or more cities, but our tour of Soweto with Ilan stands out as our most engaging and moving experience. Ilan has an absolute passion for the character and plight of the people of Soweto. He has perfected...More

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Conradsz
Reviewed March 6, 2017

When I booked with Ilan, it was because we shared a similar background and I was interested in hearing about his personal life/experiences/views not only in South Africa but his time living in Israel as well. Not only did I appreciate every minute of the...More

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank gidget2
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and myself enjoyed our tour with Ilan very much. It was both informative and casual, the people and surroundings were wonderful and we felt emerged into the culture of Johannesburg. The historic aspect was also interesting and we would recommend this tour to...More

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Tessaziz
Reviewed February 9, 2017

I had the pleasure of a one on one tour with Ilan on a Monday. He picked me up from my hotel and drove me to Soweto via various suburbs of Joburg. Ilan's weatlh of local knowledge is truly amazing. During my hours with Ilan,...More

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank wherewhenwhat
Reviewed February 2, 2017 via mobile

Wow, this tour was truly one of the best things we experienced in South Africa. Ilan shared his personal and impressive life story with us and gave us an insight in how it is to work with the wonderful people from the township. He also...More

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Dion N
Reviewed January 30, 2017

One can't get closer to reality than this. Ilan has a contagious passion: a passion for the people of Soweto which he combines with his passion for photography. Through his historical knowledge, life experiences and his personal contacts (and through his camera lens), you will...More

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Marie G
Reviewed January 22, 2017

We chose Ilan's tour because he offered something different; we were not disappointed. Our kids are 11 and 14 and after hearing from people about the crime in Johannesburg, my wife and I were slightly nervous about Soweto. At the same time, we didn't just...More

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank swrlv
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
May 13, 2018|
Response from TourSoweto | Property representative |
Hi There FunnyDude, I would love to take you on a Soweto trip. Here are the details of the trip and other trips available: Departure time for trip I will pick you up at 09:00am from your hotel and drop you off there... More
January 5, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TourSoweto | Property representative |
Hi This is usually a private trip. But we can always ask if you can join another party. Thanks Ilan
Ibrahim S
June 20, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Conradsz | Reviewed this property |
Based on our trip in March 2017, the base charge for a 4 - 6 hour tour was R1800 or about $150. There was a surcharge for the weekends due to traffic around another $30. The cost does include pick up and drop off at your... More